iPad mini Gets 8.5-Inch OLED, A20 Pro Chip [2026]

Apple took the wraps off a redesigned small tablet on October 26, 2026. According to 9to5Mac’s launch coverage, the new iPad mini brings an OLED display, a thinner design and a list of other upgrades. Apple itself calls the device the iPad mini’s “biggest update ever.”

The headline spec is the iPad mini OLED panel, an 8.5-inch Super Retina XDR display that sits inside a body no bigger than before. Around it, Apple packed the A20 Pro chip, an IP67 rating, a landscape Center Stage camera and the company’s own N1 wireless chip. This analysis walks through what is confirmed, what is not, and what the launch means for the small-tablet market.

The timing is worth a look. The reveal comes ahead of the date our Oct. 28 Apple rumor roundup covered, so Apple’s busy week may not be over. Price and ship dates were not part of the confirmed details we could verify, and we flag that gap clearly below.

Google · Preferred Sources

Don't miss new tech stories on Google

Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.

Add Now

What Apple Announced on October 26

The new iPad mini is a ground-up refresh rather than a spec bump. MacRumors framed the launch around an 8.5-inch OLED display and the A20 Pro chip, and PetaPixel picked up the same “biggest update ever” line from Apple’s own announcement. Three changes define the product: the screen technology, the body, and the silicon.

The body comes in two finishes, midnight and starlight. It measures 5.4 mm thick. Apple pairs that slim frame with an IP67 water and dust resistance rating, a pairing that stands out on a device this small. The front camera moves to the landscape edge, which tells you where Apple expects people to hold this thing: sideways, for video calls, games and video.

Inside, the A20 Pro handles compute, the Apple N1 chip handles wireless, and cellular models carry the Apple C2 modem. Apple-branded silicon covers compute, wireless and cellular. That in-house approach is the thread running through the whole launch, and it shapes the market analysis later in this piece.

The iPad mini OLED Display: 8.5 Inches in the Same Footprint

Apple fits an 8.5-inch OLED Super Retina XDR display into the new iPad mini. The previous iPad mini screen measured 8.3 inches, so the jump is 0.2 inches on the diagonal. That sounds small on paper. On a device you hold in one hand, the technology change matters more than the size change, because OLED lights each pixel individually and can turn pixels fully off.

The larger panel does not enlarge the tablet. PCMag, citing Apple’s own description, reports that the screen is slightly larger than the older 8.3-inch display but keeps the same footprint as the previous mini, thanks to 24% thinner bezels. That is the engineering trick of this launch: Apple took the space from the edges rather than the pocket.

Why the 24% Thinner Bezels Matter

Bezels on a small tablet do real work. They give your thumb a place to rest without touching the screen, and they house the front camera. Cutting them by 24% risks accidental touches, so palm rejection and software handling have to improve alongside the hardware. Apple has not published details on that tuning in the material we verified, so treat it as an open question for reviewers.

The shift to OLED also raises a care question for anyone who keeps one screen image on display for hours. Our guide to preventing OLED burn-in on monitors covers the habits that apply to any self-lit panel. Apple has not said anything in the cited announcement about burn-in protections on the mini, so we will not guess.

A20 Pro: What the New Chip Brings

The new iPad mini runs on the A20 Pro chip. Apple’s announcement and the MacRumors write-up both name it as the processor. We do not have verified benchmark numbers, core counts or clock speeds, so any claim of a specific percentage speedup would be invention. What we can say is that the “Pro” branding signals Apple is putting its higher-end silicon tier into its smallest tablet.

Apple’s hardware engineering chief leaned on that message. Dave Pakula, Apple’s vice president of Hardware Engineering, described the device in the announcement as combining a thinner and lighter design, an OLED display, the A20 Pro and water and dust resistance (the full quote appears in the expert section below). For developers, the practical meaning is a bigger performance ceiling on a screen size that has long been a niche target for games and note-taking apps.

Gamers get named in Apple’s own pitch. Pakula’s statement lists gamers alongside creators, small business owners, doctors and field service workers as users who love the line. A faster chip plus a high-contrast OLED screen is the right combination for that audience, though real-world frame rates will have to come from independent testing.

Cameras: Center Stage Moves to the Landscape Edge

The front camera is a 12MP Center Stage unit placed on the landscape edge of the tablet. That placement fixes a long-running annoyance. On older tablets the selfie camera sits on the short edge, so when you prop the device sideways for a video call, you look slightly off-center to everyone else. Landscape placement puts your eyes where the lens is.

On the back, a 12MP Wide camera supports Smart HDR 4 and records 4K video at up to 60 frames per second. Those are solid numbers for document scanning, quick video clips and field work. Nobody buys a small tablet as a primary camera, but doctors and field service workers (two groups Apple names) do use tablets to capture photos of equipment, charts and job sites.

The sheet we have does not list a flash, lidar or any extra sensors, so we will not claim them. If those details appear on Apple’s tech specs page, they will be easy to verify at preorder time.

N1, C2 and the Wireless Stack: Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, Thread

Connectivity gets a full rebuild. The Apple N1 chip brings Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6 and Thread support. Wi-Fi 7 matters most if you own a compatible router, since it targets higher throughput and lower latency, which helps cloud gaming and large file transfers. Bluetooth 6 improves the accessory side, from controllers to earbuds. Thread support lets the tablet act as a smart-home participant rather than just a remote.

Cellular models use the Apple C2 modem. That is an Apple-designed part on a product where cellular is an option. We have no verified carrier-band lists, 5G speeds or battery-life impact figures, so we will leave those for reviews. The key point is strategic: Apple now controls the wireless chip and the modem on the same product.

IP67 and the 5.4 mm Body

An IP67 rating means the tablet is rated against dust ingress and temporary submersion in shallow water. For a device that lives in bags, kitchens, clinics and workshops, that is a practical upgrade rather than a marketing line. A spilled drink or a rain shower no longer ends the day. Apple lists the rating alongside the 5.4 mm thickness, and the two together are the story of the hardware.

Keep one caution in mind. Water and dust ratings cover specific lab conditions, not every real-world accident. The verified material says nothing about warranty treatment of liquid damage, so buyers should read the fine print at purchase.

Confirmed Specs at a Glance

The table below collects every specification we could verify from Apple’s announcement and the outlets covering it. Anything missing from the table is missing because we could not confirm it.

CategoryConfirmed detail
Announcement dateOctober 26, 2026
Display8.5-inch OLED Super Retina XDR
Bezels24% thinner than the previous iPad mini
Thickness5.4 mm
FinishesMidnight and starlight
ChipA20 Pro
DurabilityIP67 water and dust resistance
Front camera12MP Center Stage, landscape edge
Rear camera12MP Wide, Smart HDR 4, 4K video up to 60 fps
WirelessApple N1: Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, Thread
CellularApple C2 modem on cellular models

What Apple and the Press Are Saying

Apple’s own framing focuses on versatility. In the company’s announcement of the update, Dave Pakula, Apple vice president of Hardware Engineering, said: “iPad mini is beloved for its fantastic portability, performance, and display by a wide range of users, from creators and small business owners to doctors, field service workers, and gamers.”

Pakula also summed up the redesign in one sentence: “With a remarkably thinner and lighter design, a stunning new OLED display, the incredibly powerful A20 Pro, and water and dust resistance, the new iPad mini is a huge leap forward for users who love having the full iPad experience in the palm of their hand.”

On the engineering side, PCMag’s reporting captures the bezel story: “The screen is also slightly larger than the older 8.3-inch display, but maintains the same footprint as the previous mini, thanks to 24% thinner bezels.” The outlet’s headline on the new iPad mini also describes a “sizable price hike,” which brings us to the biggest open question.

Price and Availability: What Is Still Unconfirmed

PCMag’s headline points to a significant price increase over the prior model. We could not verify an exact starting price, storage tiers or an on-sale date from the sources cleared for this story, so we are not printing numbers. Check Apple’s online store for the official figures at preorder time. A price hike of the size PCMag describes would push the mini closer to other tablet tiers and change who it competes with.

Open questionStatusWhy it matters
Starting priceUnconfirmed here, PCMag headline cites a sizable hikeDecides whether the mini stays a value pick
Release dateUnconfirmedSets the holiday-shopping window
Storage optionsUnconfirmedDrives the real cost for game and media users
Nano-texture optionUnconfirmed globallyMatters for outdoor and glare-heavy use
Speaker designNot specified in the cited announcementAffects gaming and video quality

Competitive Context: Where the New Mini Sits

The small-tablet segment is a narrow one. We have not verified rival specs for this story, so we stay general here, but an 8.5-inch OLED screen, a Pro-tier chip and IP67 protection in one compact body is an unusual mix. If that scarcity holds up in testing, it is Apple’s advantage, and PCMag’s price-hike headline hints that Apple knows it. Our ranking of the best tablets shows how crowded the 10-inch-plus tier is, and how few models target the one-hand crowd.

The other rival is not a tablet. Handheld gaming PCs and consoles chase the same bag space. Hardware shoppers weighing portability and play time will compare the mini against devices covered in our hardware coverage, from handhelds to portable storage. A mini with a flagship chip and an OLED panel blurs the line between tablet and game machine, and it forces buyers to decide whether they want a touchscreen-first or a controller-first device.

Historical Context: From Small Screen to Biggest Update

The older iPad mini used an 8.3-inch display, and PCMag’s reporting confirms the new model grows that size only slightly. What changed this time is scope. Apple chose to call this the biggest update ever, which signals a rethink rather than a refresh.

The mini also built a gaming following. We examined that crowd earlier in our look at the iPad mini 6 against the Nintendo Switch as a portable game machine. The new model’s A20 Pro and OLED display give that audience a stronger argument, and Apple’s decision to name gamers in its launch statement shows it noticed.

Market Impact for Apple, Accessory Makers and Developers

For Apple, the mini is a showcase for in-house silicon. The A20 Pro, N1 and C2 all come from Apple’s own design teams. Each part Apple designs itself is a part it does not buy from a supplier, which improves margin control and gives the company more freedom on pricing. A higher price on a more vertically integrated device is consistent with that strategy.

Accessory makers face a reset. A new body with thinner bezels and a landscape front camera means new cases, screen protectors and stands. Case makers that guessed the dimensions early will have the edge in the first weeks. Developers should expect a larger audience for apps tuned to a compact OLED screen, especially games and note-taking tools.

The launch also lands amid heavy Apple news flow. Our report on iPhone Duo production orders showed how much supply-chain attention sits on Apple’s display plans. OLED supply is a shared constraint across those products, and how well Apple manages it will shape availability.

Who Should Wait, and Who Should Preorder

The decision depends on what you do with a small tablet. If you read, sketch, play games or take notes on the road, the OLED panel, the A20 Pro and the IP67 rating all address real daily friction. If you mostly stream video at home, an older model with a lower price may serve you just as well, and the price hike PCMag flags makes that trade-off sharper.

Professional users sit in a different spot. Apple names doctors and field service workers in its launch statement, and both groups value durability and a compact form. For those buyers, the water and dust rating may justify the cost on its own. Business buyers ordering in volume should wait for the official price list and storage tiers before committing a budget.

Early adopters carry one clear risk: first-generation designs sometimes surface quirks that independent teardowns and long-term tests catch later. With a new panel type, a new camera position and a new wireless chip all arriving at once, waiting for the first round of hands-on reviews is a reasonable move if you can spare a few weeks.

Five Predictions for the iPad mini OLED

These are our analysis, not reported facts. Treat them as informed bets.

  • Reviewers will focus on price. PCMag already leads with the hike, so value-for-money will frame most verdicts.
  • Independent tests will probe the thin bezels. Accidental touches on a 24% narrower border will be the first usability complaint to check.
  • Gaming content will lead the marketing. Apple named gamers in its launch quote, and the A20 Pro gives it the hardware to back that up.
  • Case makers will ship within weeks. A fixed footprint with a new camera position is an easy redesign.
  • Wi-Fi 7 will become a buying argument. Owners of newer routers will cite the N1 chip as a reason to upgrade.

FAQ

What is new on the iPad mini announced October 26, 2026?

Apple confirmed an 8.5-inch OLED Super Retina XDR display, a 5.4 mm body, the A20 Pro chip, IP67 water and dust resistance, a landscape 12MP Center Stage camera, and an Apple N1 wireless chip with Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6 and Thread.

How big is the new iPad mini screen?

The OLED display measures 8.5 inches, slightly larger than the older 8.3-inch screen. The overall footprint stays the same because the bezels are 24% thinner, according to PCMag’s report.

What colors does the new iPad mini come in?

Apple lists two finishes, midnight and starlight.

How much does the new iPad mini cost?

We could not verify an official price. PCMag’s headline refers to a sizable price hike over the previous model. Check Apple’s store for exact figures.

When can you buy it?

The release date was not confirmed in the sources we cleared for this story. Apple’s website will list preorder and delivery dates.

Is the new iPad mini waterproof?

It carries an IP67 rating for water and dust resistance. That covers specific lab conditions and does not make the tablet waterproof in every situation.

Does the cellular model use an Apple modem?

Yes. Cellular models use the Apple C2 modem, while the Apple N1 chip handles Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6 and Thread on all models.

Sofia Lindström

Sofia Lindström

Editor-in-Chief

Sofia Lindström is the Editor-in-Chief at Tech Insider, where she leads editorial strategy and oversees coverage across AI, cybersecurity, and enterprise technology. With over a decade in Swedish tech journalism, she previously served as technology editor at Dagens Industri and covered the Nordic startup ecosystem for Breakit. Sofia holds an MSc in Media Technology from KTH Royal Institute of Technology and is a frequent speaker at Web Summit and Slush. She is passionate about making complex technology accessible to business leaders.

View all articles