AYANEO NEXT 2 vs GPD Win 5: $650 Gap, Same Chip [2026]

Last updated: 20 September 2026

Added AYANEO NEXT 2 (officially unveiled Nov 29, 2025; shipping June 2026) and GPD Win 5 (retail from Oct 17, 2025, globally available by mid-2026) as fully launched, widely reviewed handhelds that now define this $650-gap, same-chip comparison.

Two handheld gaming PCs built on the same AMD Ryzen AI Max silicon just landed within months of each other, and they could not look more different. The AYANEO NEXT 2 ships as a 9-inch OLED tablet-style slab with a 116Wh battery the size of a laptop’s. The GPD Win 5 keeps GPD’s compact 7-inch footprint and undercuts AYANEO’s price by hundreds of dollars at matched chip specs. Both run the Ryzen AI Max+ 395 “Strix Halo” chip, both target the same buyer, and both arrived in 2026 chasing the same goal: prove a handheld can replace a desktop gaming rig.

This comparison breaks down the AYANEO NEXT 2 vs GPD Win 5 matchup across chips, displays, battery, controls, pricing, and real-world use cases, using only specs confirmed by AYANEO, GPD, and outlets that have covered both launches as of late August 2026. Where a spec has not been independently verified – Win 5 weight and exact port count, for instance – that gap is flagged rather than guessed at. A September 2026 cross-device look at Steam Deck, GPD Win 5, and AYANEO NEXT 2 pricing – detailed in Tech-Insider’s Zotac Zone vs GPD Win 5 vs AYANEO NEXT 2 comparison – puts fresh numbers on exactly how wide that gap has grown since this matchup first launched.

Google · Preferred Sources

Don't miss new tech stories on Google

Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.

Add Now

AYANEO NEXT 2 vs GPD Win 5: Quick Verdict

If the deciding factor is screen size and battery runway, the AYANEO NEXT 2 wins outright: a 9.06-inch 165Hz OLED panel and a 116Wh cell dwarf anything else on the handheld market in 2026. If the deciding factor is portability and price-per-performance, the GPD Win 5 wins, since it packs the identical Ryzen AI Max+ 395 APU into a 7-inch chassis starting nearly $650 below AYANEO’s cheapest configuration with the same chip. Neither device is a casual purchase – both start above $1,600 and climb past $3,000 at max spec – but they solve different problems for the same core buyer: someone who wants desktop-class gaming performance without a desktop. Since this comparison first went live, AYANEO’s mid-2026 repricing has only widened that gap further – some channels now list NEXT 2 configurations as high as $2,999 to $5,299 – a trend that tracks alongside the component-cost pressures covered in Tech-Insider’s handheld RAM crisis reporting.

Full Specs Comparison Table: AYANEO NEXT 2 vs GPD Win 5

The table below lines up every confirmed spec from AYANEO’s official product page, GPD’s global release documentation, and independent coverage from Notebookcheck, Tom’s Hardware, and PCWorld.

SpecAYANEO NEXT 2GPD Win 5
APU (top tier)AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 (16C/32T, Zen 5, 4nm)AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 (16C/32T, Zen 5, 4nm)
APU (base tier)AMD Ryzen AI Max 385 (8C/16T)Not offered – Max+ 395 only
iGPURadeon 8060S, 40 RDNA 3.5 CUs, up to 2.9GHzRadeon 8060S, 40 RDNA 3.5 CUs, up to 2.9GHz
RAM32GB / 64GB / 128GB LPDDR5X (up to 8,533 MT/s)32GB / 64GB LPDDR5X
Storage1TB or 2TB NVMe, dual M.2 slotsNot fully disclosed; ships with SSD paired to RAM tier
Display9.06″ OLED, 2400×1504, up to 165Hz, ~1,100-1,155 nits, 100% DCI-P37″ H-IPS, 1920×1080, 120Hz, FreeSync Premium
Battery116WhNot disclosed in official specs
Dimensions341.69 × 146.24 × 26.15mmNot disclosed
ControlsTMR joysticks, Hall-sensor triggers, dual touchpads, 6-axis gyroGamepad layout; sensor type not confirmed in official materials
Ports2x USB4 (40Gb/s, DP1.4, PD3.0), 3.5mm jack, microSDUSB-C confirmed; full port list not published
CoolingDual-fan active cooling, up to 85W sustainedActive cooling (fan count unconfirmed)
OSWindows 11 HomeWindows 11
Entry price$1,799 (Ryzen AI Max 385, 32GB, 1TB)~$1,650 (Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 32GB)
Top-tier price$3,499 official / $4,299 max config~$2,120 (64GB)
Shipping startJune 2026 (announced Feb 2026)Globally released, widely available by mid-2026

The single most important row in that table is the third one. Both devices use the exact same Radeon 8060S graphics block at the same clock ceiling, which means raw gaming throughput at matched wattage should land within a few percent of each other. One row worth a second look, though: AYANEO’s dual M.2 slots on the NEXT 2 are PCIe 4.0, mixing the 2280 and 2230 form factors according to TBreak’s hands-on coverage of the February 2026 announcement – useful to know for anyone planning to add a second drive later. Everything else – screen, battery, chassis, controls – is where the two diverge and where the buying decision actually gets made.

Chip and GPU: Identical Silicon, Different Power Budgets

Both handhelds are built on AMD’s Strix Halo platform, marketed as Ryzen AI Max. The flagship Ryzen AI Max+ 395 packs 16 Zen 5 cores and 32 threads with boost clocks to 5.1GHz, paired with a Radeon 8060S integrated GPU running 40 RDNA 3.5 compute units at up to 2.9GHz. That is, on paper, enough graphics horsepower to approach a laptop-class RTX 4060 in well-optimized titles, according to The Gadgeteer’s breakdown of AYANEO’s NEXT 2 launch.

AYANEO splits its lineup between the Max+ 395 and a cheaper Ryzen AI Max 385 variant (8 cores, 16 threads, paired with a 32-CU Radeon 8050S), with RAM configurable at 32GB, 64GB, or 128GB across the range – tiers TBreak confirmed in its review of AYANEO’s February 2026 announcement. That gives shoppers a genuine budget-to-flagship spread within one chassis design. GPD actually tried a similar split first: GadgetScout dates GPD’s Win 5 Indiegogo campaign to 25 September 2025, with the device reaching global retail around 25 November 2025, and Notebookcheck confirmed an entry-level Ryzen AI Max 385 configuration (32GB RAM, 1TB SSD) priced at just $1,448 – a starting price FinalBoss still recorded as current on 29 June 2026. GPD has since consolidated the lineup around the full Max+ 395 chip only, so today’s cheapest configuration already has AYANEO’s most expensive chip inside it – a decision that shapes the pricing story two sections down.

AYANEO’s official spec sheet targets a sustained power draw of up to 85W on the NEXT 2, a genuinely desktop-adjacent power budget for a handheld. GPD has not published an equivalent sustained-wattage figure for the Win 5 in its public materials, which makes a direct thermal-throttling comparison hard to make without third-party lab testing. Given the identical APU, expect similar peak performance between the two, with the deciding factor being how much of that 85W-class ceiling each chassis can actually sustain before throttling.

Display: 9-Inch OLED vs 7-Inch IPS

This is the most visible difference between the two devices, and it is not subtle. AYANEO’s NEXT 2 – including the Polar Black Edition trim AYANEO lists on its official product page – carries a 9.06-inch OLED panel at 2,400×1,504 resolution, a spec AYANEO itself confirmed at the device’s February 2026 announcement alongside its $1,799 starting price. Rather than a simple continuous scale, the panel cycles through four discrete refresh-rate modes – 60Hz, 120Hz, 144Hz, and 165Hz – with peak brightness around 1,100 to 1,155 nits; TechSpot independently verified those same 9-inch, 165Hz, 2,400×1,504, 1,100-nit figures in its January 2026 coverage. Color coverage hits 100% DCI-P3, and AYANEO specs a roughly 5,280Hz PWM dimming frequency to reduce flicker at lower brightness – a detail that matters to anyone sensitive to OLED flicker on smaller devices.

GPD’s Win 5 sticks with the company’s traditional 7-inch footprint, using an H-IPS panel at 1920×1080 with a 120Hz refresh rate and FreeSync Premium adaptive sync. It’s a perfectly capable gaming display, and IPS still holds an edge in outdoor visibility and long-term burn-in resistance over OLED. But next to AYANEO’s screen, it reads as the more conservative, more pocketable choice rather than the showpiece.

The practical trade-off: AYANEO’s larger, higher-resolution OLED will look dramatically better for media consumption and visual-novel or strategy games where screen real estate matters, but it also demands more from the GPU to render at native resolution, and it makes the NEXT 2 a two-handed, tablet-sized device rather than something you slip into a jacket pocket.

Long-Term Display Considerations: OLED Burn-In vs IPS Durability

Screen technology choice isn’t just about specs at unboxing – it affects how each device ages. OLED panels like the one in the AYANEO NEXT 2 deliver deeper blacks, wider color gamut, and higher contrast than IPS, but they carry a long-term burn-in risk when static UI elements (a taskbar, a HUD element, a game’s minimap) stay on screen for extended periods across months of use. AYANEO’s 5,280Hz PWM dimming implementation helps reduce eye strain versus older, lower-frequency OLED dimming methods, but it doesn’t eliminate the underlying burn-in risk inherent to OLED chemistry.

GPD’s H-IPS panel on the Win 5 doesn’t carry that same burn-in risk, and IPS panels are generally more resistant to organic degradation over years of daily use, though they can’t match OLED’s per-pixel black levels or contrast ratio. For buyers planning to keep either device for three-plus years and use it heavily for productivity apps or games with persistent on-screen UI, that’s a real factor weighing in the Win 5’s favor. For buyers focused purely on visual quality for gaming and media in the near term, AYANEO’s OLED remains the more impressive screen day one.

Battery Life and Power Delivery

AYANEO’s 116Wh battery is enormous by handheld standards – more than double the 50Wh cell in a Steam Deck OLED, and large enough that it likely brushes against airline carry-on lithium battery limits (100Wh is the common airline threshold before requiring special approval, so travelers should check their airline’s policy before flying with a NEXT 2). That capacity exists specifically to feed an 85W-class sustained power budget without gutting runtime.

GPD has not published an official Wh figure for the Win 5 in its release materials reviewed for this comparison, which is itself notable – GPD historically ships smaller batteries than AYANEO across comparable form factors, a pattern seen in past Win-series devices. Buyers prioritizing multi-hour untethered sessions at high wattage should treat the NEXT 2’s battery spec as a known quantity and the Win 5’s as one to verify against an independent review before buying.

Cooling, Thermal Design, and Noise

Cooling matters more on these two devices than on a typical handheld, because a Ryzen AI Max+ 395 running near its 85W ceiling produces genuine laptop-class heat inside a chassis with far less airflow than a 15-inch laptop chassis. AYANEO specs the NEXT 2 with a dual-fan active cooling setup, sized to work with that 85W sustained target and the device’s larger 341mm-wide shell, which gives engineers more physical room for heat pipes and vapor chamber surface area than a compact handheld would allow.

GPD has not published fan count, heat pipe configuration, or acoustic (dBA) figures for the Win 5 in the materials reviewed for this comparison. Given the smaller 7-inch chassis, the Win 5 has meaningfully less internal volume to dissipate the same 16-core, 40-CU chip, which raises a reasonable question about whether it can sustain the same wattage as the larger NEXT 2 without throttling or running noticeably louder. This is one of the areas where independent lab reviews with thermal camera testing and decibel readings will matter more than either brand’s spec sheet – until that data exists, treat sustained-performance claims from either company as best-case numbers rather than guaranteed real-world results.

NPU and On-Device AI Features

Both chips carry the “AI Max” branding for a reason: Strix Halo integrates a dedicated neural processing unit (NPU) alongside the CPU and GPU, part of AMD’s push to support on-device AI workloads like local upscaling, background noise suppression during voice chat, and Windows’ own Copilot+ PC features. Because both the NEXT 2 and Win 5 use the same underlying Ryzen AI Max+ 395 silicon, they should carry an identical NPU performance ceiling, though AMD has not published a standalone TOPS figure specific to either handheld vendor’s implementation of the chip.

For gamers, the more immediately useful angle is the unified memory pool feeding both the GPU and NPU. AYANEO’s top-tier 128GB configuration lets users allocate as much as 96GB to VRAM, which matters less for typical gaming (most titles are comfortable well under 16GB of VRAM even at high settings) and more for users who also want to run local large language models or Stable Diffusion-style image generation workloads on the same device between gaming sessions – a genuinely new use case that a handheld gaming PC couldn’t credibly serve until unified-memory chips like Strix Halo arrived.

Emulation and Retro Gaming Performance

Neither device is marketed primarily as an emulation handheld, but both are massively overpowered for anything up through PS3, Xbox 360, and Switch-era emulation via Ryujinx or Eden. With 40 RDNA 3.5 compute units and 16 Zen 5 cores at their disposal, both the NEXT 2 and Win 5 should handle demanding emulators – RPCS3 for PS3, Xenia for Xbox 360, and current-generation Switch emulators – without breaking a sweat, likely running well above the frame-rate ceilings of the original hardware even at increased internal resolutions.

Where the two diverge for emulation specifically is screen size and resolution scaling. AYANEO’s 2400×1504 OLED gives emulated titles more room to render at higher internal resolutions before upscaling to the panel’s native resolution, while GPD’s 1920×1080 IPS panel is a more direct match for titles built around widescreen HD output. Neither difference is dramatic enough to be a deciding factor on its own, but it’s worth noting for readers coming from this site’s emulator-focused coverage who might be eyeing either device as a do-everything handheld rather than a dedicated emulation box.

Software Ecosystem: AYASpace vs GPD’s Control Center

AYANEO ships its devices with AYASpace, a Windows overlay utility that handles TDP adjustment, fan curve control, button remapping, and quick access to performance profiles without dropping into Windows’ own settings menus. It has shipped across multiple AYANEO generations and is generally considered mature software at this point, though it remains proprietary and Windows-only, unlike the SteamOS-native tools on a Steam Deck.

GPD maintains its own control center software across the Win series with similar core functionality – TDP presets, button mapping, and a performance-mode switcher – though it has historically drawn more mixed feedback than AYASpace for polish and update frequency. Both companies’ software layers sit on top of standard Windows 11, so neither is required: buyers who prefer third-party tools like HandheldCompanion can use those instead on either device.

Controls, Ergonomics, and Build

AYANEO’s NEXT 2 uses TMR (tunneling magnetoresistance) joysticks, a magnetic sensing technology that avoids the physical wear mechanism behind classic stick drift, paired with Hall-effect triggers, dual touchpads for mouse-style input, and a six-axis gyroscope for motion controls. Dimensions land at roughly 341.69 × 146.24 × 26.15mm – a genuinely large device you’ll want to grip with both hands, closer in scale to a small tablet than a typical gamepad.

GPD’s Win 5 keeps the company’s signature compact form factor, built around a 7-inch touchscreen and controller layout. Unlike some earlier GPD Win models that shipped with slide-out physical keyboards, the Win 5’s public spec sheets and hands-on coverage do not emphasize a keyboard as a headline feature – it reads as a controller-first handheld rather than a mini laptop-with-keyboard hybrid. GPD has not published confirmation of Hall-effect or TMR sensors for its sticks, so buyers who care specifically about drift-resistant analog inputs should look for that confirmation in independent reviews before ordering.

Pricing Breakdown by Configuration

Pricing is where the two devices split hardest. AYANEO structured the NEXT 2 as a three-tier ladder from its budget chip up to its flagship configuration, while GPD sells only flagship-chip configurations differentiated purely by RAM.

ConfigurationChipRAM / StoragePrice (USD)
AYANEO NEXT 2 – entryRyzen AI Max 38532GB / 1TB$1,799
AYANEO NEXT 2 – midRyzen AI Max+ 39564GB / 1TB$2,299
AYANEO NEXT 2 – topRyzen AI Max+ 395128GB / 2TB$3,499
AYANEO NEXT 2 – max config (Indiegogo)Ryzen AI Max+ 395128GB / 2TB (fully loaded)$4,299
GPD Win 5 – 32GBRyzen AI Max+ 39532GB~$1,650
GPD Win 5 – 64GBRyzen AI Max+ 39564GB~$2,120

Two things stand out. First, AYANEO’s $1,799 entry price – confirmed on Indiegogo and independently verified by Tom’s Hardware – buys the weaker 8-core chip; matching AYANEO’s flagship-tier Ryzen AI Max+ 395 means spending at least $2,299, with the top early-bird tier landing at $3,499 and the fully loaded config at $4,299, both figures separately confirmed by Windows Central. Second, GPD’s $1,650 entry configuration already includes the full 16-core flagship APU, undercutting AYANEO’s equivalent-chip tier by roughly $650. That makes the Win 5 the more straightforward value pick if the OLED screen and huge battery aren’t must-haves, while the NEXT 2’s tiered pricing gives budget-conscious buyers a lower door price at the cost of a slower chip – pricing FinalBoss reported was still holding steady as of June 29, 2026. Coverage from PCWorld’s analysis of the NEXT 2’s launch pricing and The Verge’s coverage of the Indiegogo preorder tiers both flagged the $4,299 max configuration as a sticker-shock moment for the handheld category.

Benchmarks and Real-World Performance

As of this writing, neither device has a wide set of standardized, cross-verified benchmark numbers (Cinebench multi-core or fixed-settings Cyberpunk 2077 FPS, for instance) published across multiple independent outlets – though early numbers have started to trickle in. TecheBlog clocked an early GPD Win 5 unit at 9,680 in 3DMark Time Spy back in August 2025, and that figure is worth citing plainly rather than filling the remaining gaps with invented numbers. What is confirmed:

  • Both devices share the identical Radeon 8060S GPU block (40 RDNA 3.5 CUs, 2.9GHz ceiling), so relative gaming performance should track closely at matched power limits.
  • AYANEO’s own materials describe NEXT 2 performance as “comparable to a laptop RTX 4060” in supported titles at its 85W sustained target, per The Gadgeteer.
  • Notebookcheck’s release coverage of the Win 5 confirms the Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and up-to-128GB LPDDR5X platform ceiling but does not publish in-house benchmark scores in that report.
  • Tom’s Hardware’s coverage of the NEXT 2’s official unveiling focuses on the 116Wh battery and pricing tiers rather than lab-tested frame rates.

The practical takeaway: buy either device expecting Strix Halo-class performance – genuinely strong 1080p gaming at 30-60W, with headroom for higher frame rates at reduced settings. Notebookcheck’s January 2026 lab testing gives the clearest real-world data point so far: a GPD Win 5 hit 51.65 fps in Alan Wake 2 at 1440p, 93.5% of the 55.25 fps a PS5 manages in the same benchmark – genuinely console-competitive for a handheld. Still, wait for broader third-party lab reviews with matched wattage testing before treating either brand’s marketing claims as a guaranteed FPS number in your favorite game.

Real-World Use Cases: Which One Fits You

1. Living-room console replacement

The AYANEO NEXT 2’s 9-inch OLED and 165Hz refresh make it the better fit for anyone planning to dock it to a TV or use it primarily on a coffee table rather than in transit. Its size works against it as a portable, but as a semi-stationary gaming slab with USB4 output for external displays, it’s closer to a portable gaming monitor with a PC built in.

2. Backpack and commute gaming

GPD’s 7-inch Win 5 chassis is meaningfully easier to carry daily. If the goal is Strix Halo-class power in something that still fits a jacket pocket or small bag alongside a laptop, the Win 5’s smaller footprint is the deciding factor over the NEXT 2’s tablet-scale body.

3. Budget-conscious Strix Halo buyers

GPD’s ~$1,650 entry price for a full Ryzen AI Max+ 395 configuration beats AYANEO’s cheapest flagship-chip tier ($2,299) by roughly $650. For buyers who want the top APU without AYANEO’s OLED and battery premium, the Win 5 is the more direct path.

4. Content consumption and hybrid work

The NEXT 2’s larger, brighter, wider-gamut OLED display makes it noticeably better suited to video, e-reading, and general Windows productivity between gaming sessions – the extra two inches of diagonal and higher resolution make text and UI elements easier to read for extended stretches.

5. Multi-day travel without frequent charging

AYANEO’s confirmed 116Wh battery gives it a clear, documented edge for anyone who needs to go the longest stretches between charges, assuming airline battery-capacity rules for carry-on electronics are checked in advance. GPD’s undisclosed battery spec is a genuine unknown until independent runtime testing surfaces.

6. Buyers who want a lower-cost entry chip option

Only AYANEO offers a cut-down Ryzen AI Max 385 tier at $1,799. GPD’s Win 5 is flagship-chip-only, so anyone wanting the absolute lowest door price into this hardware generation – accepting an 8-core chip instead of 16 – has to go with AYANEO.

Migration Guide: Switching From a Steam Deck or ROG Ally

Moving from a SteamOS-based handheld or a smaller Windows handheld to either the AYANEO NEXT 2 or GPD Win 5 involves a few concrete steps, since both new devices are full Windows 11 machines rather than console-style Linux boxes.

  1. Back up save files from cloud services (Steam Cloud, Xbox Play Anywhere, GOG Galaxy) before switching devices – local saves on a SteamOS handheld don’t transfer automatically to Windows.
  2. Install Windows 11 updates and AMD chipset/GPU drivers first, before installing any games – Strix Halo’s unified memory architecture benefits from the latest AMD Adrenalin driver builds for game-specific optimizations.
  3. Set the unified memory GPU allocation in BIOS/UEFI. Both NEXT 2 and Win 5 let you dedicate a portion of system RAM to VRAM; AYANEO’s 128GB tier explicitly supports up to 96GB allocated as VRAM for extreme workloads, though most gaming use cases need far less.
  4. Reinstall your game launchers (Steam, Xbox app, Battle.net, Epic Games Store) – unlike SteamOS, Windows handhelds run every PC launcher natively, which is the main draw of switching.
  5. Configure a handheld-friendly overlay like AMD’s own gaming overlay or a third-party tool for on-the-fly TDP and refresh-rate adjustments – neither device ships with SteamOS’s built-in per-game power profiles.
  6. Recalibrate control mapping. TMR/Hall-effect sticks on the NEXT 2 and the Win 5’s controller layout will need per-game remapping in Steam Input or a similar tool if you’re used to Valve’s built-in configurator.
  7. Test battery behavior under load before a long trip. Given the wide power envelope on both devices (up to 85W sustained), actual runtime varies enormously by TDP setting – profile a few games at your preferred settings before relying on either device for a full day untethered.

AYANEO NEXT 2 Pros and Cons

Pros

  • 9.06-inch OLED display with up to 165Hz refresh and 100% DCI-P3 coverage – the largest, sharpest screen in this class
  • 116Wh battery, more than double a Steam Deck OLED’s capacity
  • Tiered pricing gives a lower $1,799 entry point, even if it comes with the weaker chip
  • Dual M.2 storage slots for internal expansion
  • TMR joysticks avoid classic potentiometer-based stick drift entirely

Cons

  • Large, tablet-scale chassis (341.69 × 146.24 × 26.15mm) hurts pocketability
  • Flagship Ryzen AI Max+ 395 chip only available starting at $2,299, not the $1,799 entry price
  • Max configuration reaches $4,299 – among the most expensive handhelds ever sold
  • 116Wh battery may complicate air travel under some airlines’ lithium battery carry-on limits

GPD Win 5 Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Full Ryzen AI Max+ 395 flagship chip included even at the entry price (~$1,650)
  • Compact 7-inch footprint, easier to carry daily than AYANEO’s larger chassis
  • 120Hz IPS panel with FreeSync Premium for smooth, tear-free gaming
  • Up to $650 cheaper than AYANEO’s equivalent-chip flagship tier

Cons

  • No cut-down chip option – every configuration ships the full-power (and full-heat) Max+ 395
  • Battery capacity not officially disclosed, unlike AYANEO’s confirmed 116Wh spec
  • Smaller 7-inch 1080p screen versus AYANEO’s 9-inch higher-resolution OLED
  • Fewer publicly confirmed details on ports, dimensions, and control-stick sensor type

How AYANEO NEXT 2 and GPD Win 5 Fit Into the Broader Handheld Market

Both devices represent a distinct tier above the Steam Deck OLED and ROG Xbox Ally class of handhelds, which top out around $949 and $999 respectively even after 2026 price increases. Strix Halo handhelds like the NEXT 2 and Win 5 are chasing a different buyer entirely – someone comparing against a small-form-factor desktop gaming PC or a gaming laptop, not against a Nintendo Switch 2 or a budget emulation handheld. That’s also why AYANEO and GPD aren’t alone in this space: ONEXPLAYER’s ONEXFLY APEX uses the same Ryzen AI Max+ 395 platform, and Lenovo’s Legion Go 2 sits one power tier below with AMD’s Z2 Extreme chip instead.

The emergence of three-plus competitors on identical Strix Halo silicon within the same year signals that AMD’s unified-memory APU strategy has become the default reference platform for premium 2026 handhelds, the same way Ryzen Z1 Extreme defined the mid-tier category in 2024-2025.

TierRepresentative deviceChip classStarting price
Budget / mainstreamSteam Deck OLEDAMD Van Gogh (RDNA 2, custom Zen 2)$789 (512GB, after May 2026 hike)
Mid-tierROG Xbox Ally XAMD Ryzen AI Z2 Extreme~$999
Upper mid-tierLenovo Legion Go 2AMD Ryzen AI Z2 ExtremeVaries by region and config
Flagship Strix HaloGPD Win 5AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395~$1,650
Flagship Strix HaloAYANEO NEXT 2AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 / Max 385$1,799

Reading that table top to bottom makes the AYANEO-vs-GPD decision look smaller than it actually is: the real gap in the 2026 handheld market sits between the sub-$1,000 RDNA 2/Z2 Extreme tier and the $1,600-plus Strix Halo tier, not between the two Strix Halo devices themselves. Anyone comparing NEXT 2 against Win 5 has, in effect, already decided to pay the premium for flagship-class unified memory and CPU core counts – the remaining question is purely which chassis, screen, and price point fits better.

Buying, Warranty, and Availability

AYANEO has historically sold new flagship devices through crowdfunding-style preorder campaigns before opening general retail sales – the NEXT 2 followed that pattern, launching pricing tiers through Indiegogo before wider availability. That approach typically means early backers wait longer for shipment than buyers who purchase after the device reaches general retail, and crowdfunding campaigns carry inherently more schedule risk than a straightforward retail purchase, even from an established brand like AYANEO with multiple prior successful handheld launches.

GPD sells the Win 5 directly through its own online store and established third-party retailers, without a crowdfunding preorder stage, which generally means more predictable shipping timelines once a configuration is listed as in stock. Both companies are Chinese hardware manufacturers with a multi-year track record in the handheld gaming PC space, and both typically offer a standard limited warranty on parts and labor, though exact terms and regional support quality vary by country of purchase – buyers outside AYANEO’s or GPD’s primary markets should confirm return and repair logistics before ordering either device internationally.

Pre-Orders and Availability: Where Both Devices Stand Now

Timing is as much a differentiator as pricing for anyone deciding today. GPD skipped a crowdfunding stage entirely and sent the Win 5 straight to general retail, so it has sat in normal sales channels since its global release, stocked through GPD’s own online store and established third-party retailers. That gives it the simpler buying path: pick a RAM tier, order, and wait on standard shipping rather than a campaign timeline.

AYANEO’s path has been slower by design. The NEXT 2 was announced in February 2026 and opened its pricing tiers through an Indiegogo campaign before shipments began in June 2026, following the crowdfunding-first pattern AYANEO has used for previous flagship launches. By late August 2026 – roughly two months past that shipping start – early Indiegogo backers should have received or be receiving their units, though buyers ordering fresh now are most likely purchasing at general retail rather than through the original discounted campaign tiers, which is typical once an AYANEO crowdfunding campaign transitions into standard sales. Anyone ordering today should confirm current lead times directly with AYANEO, since crowdfunding-adjacent launches still tend to carry more schedule variance than GPD’s straight-to-retail approach.

What’s Still Unconfirmed

To keep this comparison accurate, it’s worth listing exactly what GPD has not published as of this writing: exact Win 5 battery capacity in Wh, official weight in grams, full dimensions, complete port list, and confirmation of Hall-effect versus other stick sensor technology. AYANEO’s specs are considerably more complete across its official product page and press materials. Anyone choosing between the two based on battery life or ergonomics specifically should wait for or seek out an independent teardown review of the Win 5 before finalizing that decision.

Decision Framework: A Five-Question Checklist

If the spec tables above still leave the decision feeling close, run through these five questions in order – the first one you answer decisively usually settles the purchase.

  1. Does the device need to fit in a jacket pocket or small bag daily? If yes, the Win 5’s 7-inch chassis wins by default; the NEXT 2’s tablet-scale body isn’t built for that.
  2. Is a bigger, sharper OLED screen worth a real premium? If screen quality is the top priority, AYANEO’s 9.06-inch panel is unmatched in this category and the NEXT 2 is the clear pick.
  3. Is the budget hard-capped near $1,700? GPD’s Win 5 gets you the full flagship chip at that price; AYANEO’s equivalent chip tier costs $600+ more.
  4. Does multi-hour, unplugged runtime at high wattage matter more than anything else? AYANEO’s confirmed 116Wh battery is the safer, documented choice until Win 5’s capacity is independently verified.
  5. Will the device travel by air frequently? The NEXT 2’s battery size may require airline approval; the Win 5’s unconfirmed (likely smaller) battery is less likely to trigger the same restrictions.

Most buyers will find that questions one and three do the heavy lifting: portability and hard budget constraints tend to be non-negotiable in a way that screen size and battery capacity aren’t. If neither of those rules out one device outright, the remaining three questions almost always break the tie in AYANEO’s favor, simply because AYANEO has published a more complete spec sheet to make an informed decision against.

Latest AYANEO NEXT 2 vs GPD Win 5 pricing updates (September 2026)

Pricing has kept moving since this comparison first went live, and AYANEO’s mid-2026 repricing is the biggest swing factor. For context on how AYANEO’s broader 2026 lineup pricing compares, see Tech-Insider’s AYANEO 3 vs Steam Deck OLED vs Claw 8 comparison. Here’s what’s confirmed as of September 2026:

  • July 21, 2026: AYANEO restarted global sales of the NEXT 2 at sharply increased pricing, re-listing the 32GB/1TB base model at $2,999, the 64GB/1TB tier at $3,699, and the 128GB/2TB flagship at $5,299 – up from its original $4,299 ceiling, widening the gap versus GPD Win 5 for similarly specced configurations. (source: PCMag, The Gadgeteer, ixbt.com)
  • August 3, 2026: A mid-2026 price analysis found the NEXT 2’s 32GB/1TB configuration had risen from $1,799 to $2,999 (about 67%) and the 128GB/2TB flagship from $4,299 to $5,299 (about 23%) versus early-2026 levels, confirming the $650-plus price delta versus Win 5 stems from AYANEO’s mid-year repricing rather than initial launch positioning. (source: shattered.io price comparison, The Gadgeteer, PCMag)
  • August 14, 2026: Recent GPD Win 5 retail listings showed US street prices around $2,429-$2,432, giving a concrete real-world reference point for the gap once set against AYANEO’s summer price increases. (source: GadgetScout GPD Win 5 review)
  • September 13, 2026: A cross-device comparison of Steam Deck, GPD Win 5, and AYANEO NEXT 2 reported GPD Win 5 starting around $1,448 against AYANEO NEXT 2 starting at $1,799 and scaling to $4,299-plus for higher RAM and storage tiers, explicitly framing the “same chip, large price gap” narrative.
  • September 14, 2026: A Zotac Zone vs GPD Win 5 vs AYANEO NEXT 2 comparison reiterated the NEXT 2 base configuration at 32GB/512GB for $1,799 with its top tier approaching $4,299, confirming AYANEO’s post-July pricing is sticking rather than reverting.
  • August 21, 2026: A dedicated feature formalized the “$650 gap, same chip” framing with configuration tables showing both devices built around Ryzen AI Max/Max+ silicon while NEXT 2’s tiers range from $1,799 to $3,499-$4,299.

For related coverage of other high-capacity 2026 handhelds competing in this segment, see Tech-Insider’s Win Max 3 vs Apex Air vs Atlas 7 comparison.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the AYANEO NEXT 2 or GPD Win 5 more powerful?

At matched configurations, both use the identical Ryzen AI Max+ 395 chip and Radeon 8060S GPU, so raw compute and graphics performance should be very close. The difference will come down to sustained wattage and cooling, not the silicon itself.

Which is cheaper, AYANEO NEXT 2 or GPD Win 5?

GPD’s Win 5 starts around $1,650 with the full flagship chip. AYANEO’s NEXT 2 starts lower at $1,799, but that entry price uses the weaker Ryzen AI Max 385 chip – matching GPD’s flagship silicon requires AYANEO’s $2,299 tier, making GPD roughly $650 cheaper at equivalent chip specs.

Does the GPD Win 5 have a physical keyboard like older GPD Win models?

Official GPD Win 5 materials and hands-on coverage do not highlight a slide-out keyboard as a feature, unlike some earlier Win-series devices. It is presented primarily as a controller-first handheld with a 7-inch touchscreen.

What is the battery life on the AYANEO NEXT 2?

AYANEO specs a 116Wh battery, more than double a Steam Deck OLED’s 50Wh cell. Exact runtime in hours depends heavily on TDP settings, since the chip can draw up to 85W sustained; AYANEO has not published a specific hours-of-gameplay figure for the NEXT 2 as of this writing.

Can I use the AYANEO NEXT 2’s large battery on a flight?

Most airlines require special approval or restrict carry-on lithium batteries above 100Wh. A 116Wh battery sits above that common threshold, so travelers should confirm their specific airline’s policy before flying with a NEXT 2.

When did the AYANEO NEXT 2 and GPD Win 5 release?

AYANEO announced the NEXT 2 in February 2026 at $1,799, with shipments beginning in June 2026. GPD moved considerably faster: GadgetScout dates the Win 5’s Indiegogo campaign to 25 September 2025 and its global retail release to around 25 November 2025, putting it on shelves roughly seven months ahead of AYANEO’s NEXT 2 shipping window.

Do both handhelds run the same operating system?

Yes. Both the AYANEO NEXT 2 and GPD Win 5 ship with Windows 11, giving both full compatibility with Steam, the Xbox app, Battle.net, Epic Games Store, and any other native Windows PC software – unlike SteamOS-based handhelds such as the Steam Deck.

Is either handheld a good upgrade from a Steam Deck OLED?

Both offer significantly more raw performance than a Steam Deck OLED’s older RDNA 2 architecture, at roughly double to triple the price. They make sense for buyers who have outgrown the Deck’s performance ceiling and specifically want native Windows compatibility rather than SteamOS, but the price jump is steep enough that casual gamers are better served sticking with a Deck-class device.

Can I connect an external GPU to the AYANEO NEXT 2 or GPD Win 5?

AYANEO’s confirmed 2x USB4 ports (40Gb/s, DisplayPort 1.4, Power Delivery 3.0) support Thunderbolt-compatible external GPU enclosures, which is a meaningful docking option for a device already this close to desktop-class performance. GPD has confirmed USB-C connectivity on the Win 5 but has not published full USB4/Thunderbolt certification details in the materials reviewed for this comparison, so eGPU compatibility should be confirmed directly with GPD before assuming parity with AYANEO’s setup.

Is either device good for local AI workloads, not just gaming?

Both share the same Ryzen AI Max+ 395 NPU and unified memory architecture, and AYANEO’s top 128GB configuration allows up to 96GB allocated as VRAM – enough headroom to run larger local language models or image-generation workloads than almost any other handheld on the market. This is a genuine secondary use case for either device beyond gaming, though GPD’s maximum RAM configuration tops out at 64GB, half of AYANEO’s ceiling, which caps how large a local model the Win 5 can comfortably run compared to a maxed-out NEXT 2.

Elias Virtanen

Elias Virtanen

Cybersecurity Analyst

Elias Virtanen is the Cybersecurity Analyst at Tech Insider, bringing hands-on expertise from his background in penetration testing and security consulting. He previously worked as a security researcher at F-Secure in Helsinki, where he focused on threat intelligence and vulnerability disclosure. Elias covers ransomware trends, zero-trust architecture, and the evolving regulatory landscape including NIS2 and the EU Cyber Resilience Act. He holds a CISSP certification and an MSc in Information Security from Aalto University.

View all articles