Augment Code spent the first half of 2026 rewriting its own price list. Its old Indie, Standard, and Max tiers are gone, replaced by a flat $100-a-month Business plan and a custom Enterprise track, according to the company’s current pricing page. That reset landed right as Cursor pushed its top individual tier to $200 a month and GitHub Copilot settled into usage-based billing that took effect June 1, 2026. Three companies, three different bets on how developers should pay for AI-assisted coding.
This comparison lines up Cursor vs GitHub Copilot vs Augment Code on pricing, benchmark signals, security posture, and the kind of codebase each one actually handles well. Every figure below comes from a vendor’s current 2026 pricing page or a named, independently published comparison, not marketing copy. Anyone choosing between them for a solo side project or a 200-engineer monorepo needs the real numbers first.
Don't miss new tech stories on Google
Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.
What Cursor, GitHub Copilot, and Augment Code Actually Do
All three tools sit in the same category, AI-assisted software development, but they were built for different developers. Cursor is a standalone code editor built on the VS Code foundation, made by Anysphere, that layers chat, autocomplete, and a multi-file agent mode directly into the editing experience. The company’s June 2026 Cursor 3.7 release held its Pro plan at $20 a month and priced Business at $40 a user monthly, according to AIwerse, while adding Enterprise Organizations built around three governance layers, Org, Team, and Group, for large accounts that need to manage multiple sub-teams under one contract. Because it is a full editor rather than an extension, Cursor controls the entire interaction loop between a developer’s keystrokes and the model’s suggestions.
GitHub Copilot takes the opposite approach. It ships as an extension inside the tools developers already use, including Visual Studio Code, JetBrains IDEs, Neovim, and Visual Studio, and it leans on GitHub’s existing account and billing relationship with a large base of developers already on the platform. That reach now translates into real subscriber numbers: Copilot had grown to roughly 20 million users by July 2025 and had converted 4.7 million of them into paid subscribers by January 2026, according to AI Business Weekly citing data from Panto AI. Its model catalog now spans several vendors, and GitHub’s own 2026 billing reference lists Gemini 3.1 Pro, Gemini 3.5 Flash, and Gemini 3.6 Flash as selectable options inside the product.
Augment Code is the newest and smallest of the three, and it markets itself squarely at enterprise teams working in large, old codebases rather than greenfield projects. The company emerged from stealth in April 2024 and has spent the two years since building out a Context Engine meant to index sprawling monorepos so an AI agent can make multi-file changes without losing track of dependencies. That enterprise-first focus shows up everywhere in Augment’s pricing and packaging, which looks nothing like Cursor’s or Copilot’s consumer-friendly free tiers.
The practical result is that a cursor vs github copilot question and a question about Augment Code are really two different conversations. Cursor and Copilot compete for the same individual developer’s $10 to $20 monthly budget. Augment Code, at least in its current form, is chasing engineering leaders who sign off on a flat $100-per-seat-pool enterprise bill instead.
Cursor vs GitHub Copilot vs Augment Code: Full Specs Comparison
The table below pulls together the specs that matter most when picking between these three platforms. Where a vendor has not published a number, that is stated directly rather than filled in with a guess.
| Spec | Cursor | GitHub Copilot | Augment Code |
|---|---|---|---|
| Company | Anysphere | GitHub (Microsoft) | Augment Inc. |
| Public launch / stealth exit | Editor generally available since 2023 | Generally available since 2022 | Emerged from stealth April 2024 |
| Disclosed funding | Not disclosed in vendor pricing materials reviewed | Backed by Microsoft, no standalone funding round | $252M total raised, $977M valuation (April 2024 Series B) |
| Entry paid tier | Pro, $20/month | Pro, $10/month | No published entry tier below Business |
| Top individual tier | Ultra, $200/month | Pro+, $39/month | Not applicable, seat-pooled only |
| Team / business tier | Teams Premium, $120/user/month | Business, $19/user/month | Business, $100/month flat (up to 50 seats) |
| Enterprise pricing | Custom | Enterprise, $39/user/month | Custom |
| Underlying models | Claude, GPT, and Gemini families plus Cursor’s own Composer/Auto models | Gemini 3.1 Pro, Gemini 3.5 Flash, Gemini 3.6 Flash confirmed in GitHub’s model catalog | Not publicly disclosed |
| Editor basis | Standalone editor built on the VS Code foundation | Extension for VS Code, JetBrains, Neovim, Visual Studio | Not confirmed which IDEs it plugs into in vendor materials reviewed |
| Codebase indexing | Full codebase indexing, no fixed token ceiling published | At least 200K-token routing confirmed for one model in the picker | Markets a dedicated “Context Engine” for monorepos, no numeric ceiling published |
| SWE-bench signal | Roughly 40%, marked as an estimate in Verdent’s January 2026 tested table | 12.3% in the same Verdent table | No SWE-bench score published or found in vendor materials |
| Security / compliance claims | SSO and SCIM referenced on enterprise pages, no single compliance certificate page found | Enterprise-tier SSO and audit controls referenced, no standalone Copilot SOC 2 page found | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 42001, SSO/OIDC/SCIM, CMEK, and SIEM support listed on enterprise pages |
Two gaps stand out immediately. Augment Code is the only one of the three that publishes a named security certification list on its own site, which fits its enterprise-only positioning. And cursor ai pricing now stretches all the way to $200 a month at the Ultra tier, a price point neither GitHub Copilot nor Augment Code’s flat-rate Business plan comes close to for an individual seat.
Pricing Breakdown: From Free Tiers to $200 a Month
Pricing is where the three platforms diverge the most, and it is also where Augment Code just made its biggest move of 2026. According to the company’s own pricing history, Augment first cut prices in late 2025, introducing a $20-a-month Indie plan alongside a $60-a-month Standard tier and a $200-a-month Max tier, each bundled with a monthly credit allotment (40,000, 130,000, and 450,000 credits respectively). A pricing change took effect on October 20, 2025. By the middle of 2026, all three of those consumer-facing tiers were retired. In their place sits a single Business plan at $100 a month flat, covering up to 50 seats with $100 of pooled usage included, plus a custom Enterprise track for larger deployments.
Cursor’s pricing sits at the other extreme in terms of visible tiers. The free Hobby plan gives new users a taste of the product, then Pro starts at $20 a month with $20 worth of “Other Models” usage bundled in. Pro+ jumps to $60 a month with $70 of model usage, and Ultra tops out at $200 a month with $400 of model usage included. Team pricing runs $40 a user monthly for Teams Standard and $120 a user monthly for Teams Premium, which includes five times the model allowance of the standard team tier.
GitHub Copilot remains the cheapest entry point of the three. The Free plan costs nothing, Pro runs $10 a month, and Pro+ costs $39 a month for individuals, now bundled with five times Pro’s usage limits and access to Opus-tier models, according to ClickUp’s June 2026 plan breakdown. On the team side, Business is $19 per user monthly and Enterprise runs $39 a user monthly, billed in the new AI Credits that came with the June 1, 2026 metering change, a figure EnterpriseDNA’s coverage of the rollout confirms alongside Pro’s $10-a-month price. GitHub confirmed in its own blog post that all Copilot plans moved to usage-based billing on June 1, 2026, though the company was explicit that base list prices did not change as part of that transition.
| Plan tier | Cursor | GitHub Copilot | Augment Code |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Hobby, $0 | Free, $0 | No free tier published |
| Entry individual | Pro, $20/month | Pro, $10/month | Not offered separately from Business |
| Upper individual | Pro+, $60/month | Pro+, $39/month | Not offered separately from Business |
| Top individual | Ultra, $200/month | Not offered above Pro+ | Not offered separately from Business |
| Team / Business | $40 to $120/user/month | $19/user/month | $100/month flat, up to 50 seats |
| Enterprise | Custom | $39/user/month | Custom |
The takeaway from augment code pricing in its current form is that the company has effectively stopped competing for solo developers. A single engineer who wants Augment Code today buys into the same $100 flat plan a five-person team would use, since there is no discounted single-seat tier left. That is a meaningfully different bet than Cursor or Copilot are making, and it explains why searches for cursor vs augment code tend to come from engineering managers evaluating a team rollout rather than individual developers comparison-shopping.
Cost Per Seat: What a 10-Developer Team Actually Pays
List prices only tell part of the story, so it helps to run a single scenario through all three vendors: a 10-developer team picking one tool for the whole group. Under current cursor ai pricing, that team would land on Teams Standard at $40 a user monthly, putting the monthly bill at $400, or Teams Premium at $120 a user monthly for $1,200 if the team wants the larger model-usage pool. Neither figure includes the separate per-model usage costs that can accumulate on top of the base seat price once a team’s “Other Models” allowance runs out mid-month.
GitHub Copilot is the cheapest of the three at this team size by a wide margin. Ten seats on the Business tier at $19 a user monthly comes to $190 a month, less than half of Cursor’s Teams Standard price for the same headcount. Moving that same team to Enterprise at $39 a user monthly raises the bill to $390 a month, still under Cursor’s Teams Premium rate.
Augment code pricing breaks this comparison in an unusual way, because its $100-a-month Business plan is flat for up to 50 seats rather than priced per user. That means the same 10-developer team pays $100 a month total, cheaper than either Cursor or Copilot at that headcount, right up until the team’s shared usage pool runs out. A team that stays within the included pooled usage gets the best per-seat economics of the three. A team that regularly exceeds it needs to budget for whatever overage or upgrade path Augment Code applies beyond the included amount, since the public pricing page reviewed for this piece does not spell out per-unit overage costs in detail.
The practical lesson from comparing cursor ai pricing against augment code pricing at the same team size is that per-seat pricing and flat pricing cross over differently depending on headcount. Below 50 seats, Augment Code’s flat plan can look like the cheapest option on paper. Above that threshold, or for any team that burns through pooled usage quickly, the per-seat models that Cursor and GitHub Copilot use become easier to forecast, since cost scales predictably with headcount instead of usage volume.
Benchmark Performance: What SWE-Bench and Independent Tests Show
None of the three vendors has published a head-to-head benchmark that a neutral third party has independently reproduced, so this section leans on published comparisons rather than a single authoritative number. Treat every figure here as directional, not conclusive.
Coding-tool review site Verdent published a January 2026 tested comparison table that put Cursor at roughly 40% on SWE-bench, though Verdent labeled that figure an estimate rather than an official score, at a $20-a-month price point. The same table scored GitHub Copilot at 12.3% on SWE-bench, priced between $10 and $19 a month depending on tier. Verdent did not include Augment Code in that particular table.
A second data point comes from Augment Code’s own published comparison of coding assistants, which should be read as vendor marketing rather than neutral testing since Augment wrote it about itself. That comparison ranked Augment Code first for “enterprise monorepos, legacy refactoring” and ranked Cursor second, positioned for “solo devs, fast prototyping.” On a five-star scale, Augment scored five stars for architecture reasoning, five for multi-file editing, four for speed-to-answer, and five for security, with three stars for cost. Cursor scored three stars for architecture reasoning, four for multi-file editing, five for speed-to-answer, three for security, and three for cost. That same comparison flagged Augment’s initial indexing time of 27 minutes as its biggest weakness, a real cost for teams that expect to open a new repository and start prompting immediately.
Two more comparisons round out the picture. Daily.dev’s 2026 roundup listed Cursor starting at $0 with strong multi-file edits and full codebase indexing, and described GitHub Copilot’s $0 starting tier as well suited to beginners and existing GitHub teams. Separately, Replit’s 2026 tool comparison confirmed Cursor’s free tier and $20-a-month Pro plan alongside Copilot’s $10-a-month individual and $19-a-user team pricing, and it listed Tabnine’s enterprise tier starting above $39 a month as a reference point for where enterprise AI coding pricing tends to land.
Lining up all four sources side by side makes the disagreement easier to see than reading them one at a time:
| Source | Cursor finding | GitHub Copilot finding | Augment Code finding |
|---|---|---|---|
| Verdent (Jan. 2026 tested table) | ~40% SWE-bench (labeled an estimate), $20/mo | 12.3% SWE-bench, $10-19/mo | Not included in this table |
| Augment Code’s own comparison | Ranked #2, “solo devs, fast prototyping” | Not included in this table | Ranked #1, “enterprise monorepos, legacy refactoring” |
| Daily.dev 2026 roundup | $0 start, strong multi-file edits, full indexing | $0 start, best for beginners and GitHub teams | Not included in this roundup |
| Replit 2026 comparison | Free tier + $20/mo Pro confirmed | $10/mo individual, $19/user team confirmed | Not included in this comparison |
Read together, the pattern across all four sources is consistent even without a single unified benchmark. Cursor scores well on raw task completion and speed. Copilot scores lowest on the one hard SWE-bench number available but wins decisively on price and reach in every github copilot vs cursor price comparison checked for this piece. Augment Code has not published a comparable benchmark at all, betting instead that its own five-star ratings for architecture reasoning and multi-file work matter more to its enterprise buyers than a public leaderboard position. That gap is also why Augment Code is missing from three of the four rows above: none of these four publications tested it directly, which is itself worth knowing before treating any single benchmark as the full picture.
Codebase Context and Indexing: Handling Large, Legacy Projects
This is the category Augment Code was built around, and it shows in how each company talks about its own product. Cursor’s documentation describes “generous included usage” and full codebase indexing with local search and retrieval built into the editor, but none of the pricing or docs pages reviewed for this comparison state a fixed token ceiling for that indexing. In practice, that means Cursor’s effective context depends on which underlying model a user selects for a given task, since Claude, GPT, and Gemini models each carry their own limits.
GitHub Copilot’s 2026 billing and model reference confirms at least a 200,000-token threshold for Gemini 3.1 Pro when it is selected inside Copilot, which signals the product now supports long-context routing for at least some models in its picker. GitHub has not published a single universal context number that applies across every model Copilot offers, so the real ceiling a developer experiences still depends on model choice inside the tool.
Augment Code markets what it calls a Context Engine specifically built to index large, sprawling monorepos so that multi-file edits do not break dependencies the model cannot see. No vendor page reviewed for this piece states a numeric token or line-of-code ceiling for that engine. What is documented, in the same comparison that gave Augment five stars for multi-file editing, is the tradeoff for that depth: a 27-minute initial indexing time before the tool is ready to work on a new repository. For a team onboarding a single new codebase, that is a one-time cost. For an agency or consultancy jumping between client repos weekly, it adds up fast.
The practical guidance here is straightforward. Teams working across many small, fast-moving repositories tend to feel Cursor’s or Copilot’s lighter indexing model less as friction. Teams that live inside one or two enormous, years-old monorepos are the ones Augment Code’s Context Engine is explicitly built to serve, and the 27-minute upfront cost is easier to justify when it only has to happen once.
Cursor vs Augment Code: The Enterprise Refactoring Test
It is worth isolating Cursor vs Augment Code specifically, since that pairing is where the sharpest product philosophy gap actually shows up. Cursor was built first for the loop of writing new code fast, then reasoning about existing code as a secondary strength. Augment Code was built in the opposite order, starting from the assumption that most valuable engineering work happens inside code that already exists and already has years of undocumented decisions baked into it.
That difference plays out directly in the star ratings from Augment’s own published comparison. Architecture reasoning, the ability to trace how a change in one file ripples through a dozen others, is where the gap is widest: five stars for Augment Code against three stars for Cursor. Multi-file editing follows the same pattern, five stars against four. The categories flip for raw responsiveness, where Cursor’s five-star speed-to-answer rating beats Augment’s four stars, which tracks with Cursor being the tool built for fast iteration rather than deep dependency tracing.
None of this means cursor vs augment code has a universal winner. A team refactoring authentication logic that touches 60 files across a monorepo is the exact scenario Augment Code’s architecture reasoning score is meant to address. A developer scaffolding a new microservice from scratch, with no legacy code to reason about yet, is unlikely to notice the difference at all, since there is no complex dependency graph for either tool to trace. The honest framing of cursor vs augment code is less “which tool is better” and more “which problem does this week’s work actually look like.”
Agent Mode, Composer, and Autonomous Coding Features
All three tools now offer some version of an autonomous or semi-autonomous agent that can plan a multi-step change and execute it across several files, not just suggest the next line. Cursor’s version centers on its first-party Composer and Auto models, layered on top of third-party “Other Models” access to Claude, GPT, and Gemini, and the Cursor 3.7 update shipped between June 3 and June 5, 2026 added a Design Mode and Canvas for visual, multi-file planning plus an SDK with nested subagents, per AIwerse. Because Cursor is a full editor rather than an extension, its agent mode can watch the entire workspace state in real time, including terminal output and file diffs, without waiting on another application’s plugin API. Cursor pushed that agent reach off the desktop entirely on June 24, 2026, launching a Cursor Mobile iOS beta built specifically for monitoring and managing remote agents from a phone, according to my2cents.ai.
GitHub Copilot’s agent capabilities are wrapped into the same subscription as its inline suggestions rather than sold as a separate product, and the June 2026 shift to usage-based billing applies to that agent usage as much as to autocomplete. Because Copilot lives inside existing IDEs, its agent mode inherits whatever extension API each host editor exposes, which can mean slightly different behavior in VS Code versus JetBrains versus Neovim.
Augment Code’s agent work leans hardest into large-scale refactoring rather than fast single-file iteration, consistent with its five-star architecture reasoning score in its own published comparison. That makes it a better fit for a request like “migrate this service from a deprecated internal library across 400 call sites” than for the kind of rapid back-and-forth prototyping Cursor’s three-star architecture reasoning score suggests it handles less confidently by comparison.
None of the three companies has published an independently verified success rate specifically for multi-file agent tasks, as opposed to the single-function completions that most SWE-bench-style tests still measure. That is a real gap in the public data, and anyone making a purchasing decision based on agent performance alone should run a trial on their own codebase before committing to an annual contract.
IDE Integrations and Developer Ecosystem
GitHub Copilot has the broadest documented reach of the three. It is officially supported inside Visual Studio Code, JetBrains IDEs, Neovim, and Visual Studio itself, which covers the large majority of professional developer setups without asking anyone to switch editors. A JetBrains developer survey from April 2026 put a number on that reach inside just one of those ecosystems, finding 76% awareness of Copilot among respondents but only 29% actual workplace usage, according to SQ Magazine’s write-up of the results, a gap that suggests plenty of developers who know the product still have not turned it on. That breadth is a direct byproduct of Copilot’s extension-based architecture and its ownership by Microsoft, which also owns Visual Studio and has deep ties into the JetBrains and Neovim ecosystems through existing developer tooling partnerships.
Cursor takes the opposite tradeoff. Because it is a standalone editor built on the VS Code foundation rather than a plugin, it can offer a tighter, more integrated experience, including agent access to terminal state and workspace-wide context that a pure extension cannot always reach. The cost is that switching to Cursor means switching editors entirely, which carries real friction for teams with heavy investment in JetBrains-specific tooling or Visual Studio’s .NET debugging workflow. Framed as an ecosystem question rather than a pricing one, github copilot vs cursor often comes down to whether a team is willing to trade editor familiarity for tighter agent integration.
Augment Code’s public materials reviewed for this comparison do not lay out one consolidated, single-page list of every supported IDE, which is itself a data point. For a company selling primarily to enterprise engineering leaders rather than individual developers browsing a marketplace listing, ecosystem breadth appears to be a lower marketing priority than the Context Engine and security certifications that dominate its enterprise pricing pages.
Security, Compliance, and Enterprise Readiness
This is the category where Augment Code most clearly differentiates itself from the other two, at least in terms of what it discloses publicly. Augment’s enterprise pages list SOC 2 Type II certification, ISO 42001, SSO and OIDC and SCIM support for identity management, customer-managed encryption keys, and SIEM integration for security teams that need centralized logging. The company also references multi-region compute, private deployment options, dedicated support, and formal service-level agreement language, all standard asks from large regulated buyers.
What “Enterprise-Ready” Actually Means in 2026
Cursor’s enterprise-facing pages reference SSO and SCIM support, which covers the basic identity-management checkbox most procurement teams require. None of the pricing or documentation pages reviewed for this piece surfaced a standalone SOC 2 or ISO certification page for Cursor specifically, which does not mean one does not exist, only that it was not found in the sources checked for this comparison. The same is true for GitHub Copilot at the product level, where enterprise features like audit logging and SSO are referenced on plan pages without a dedicated Copilot-only compliance certificate page turning up in the search.
That gap matters less than it might seem for GitHub Copilot specifically, since Copilot inherits GitHub’s and Microsoft’s broader enterprise compliance program rather than needing to build a separate one from scratch. A regulated buyer already running Microsoft 365 or Azure under an enterprise agreement is likely covering Copilot under existing compliance paperwork. Cursor and Augment Code, as independent companies without that parent-company compliance umbrella, have to make their case on their own, which is likely why Augment has been so explicit about listing every certification on its pricing page.
What Industry Leaders Are Saying
Public statements from the companies behind these tools help explain how each one positions itself, even though executives naturally talk their own products up. Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella has described Copilot’s role in blunt, practical terms, saying “GitHub Copilot is like having an extra pair of hands in the IDE.” That framing lines up with Copilot’s product design, which augments an existing workflow rather than replacing the editor a developer already knows.
Former GitHub CEO Thomas Dohmke has made the same point more expansively, calling Copilot part of “a new generation of AI pair programmers” on GitHub’s official Copilot product page. In materials tied to the launch of Copilot Enterprise, Dohmke went further, stating “Copilot is the best coding assistant we’ve ever built.” Both statements reflect GitHub’s own confidence in its product, and both are worth reading against the 12.3% SWE-bench figure Verdent’s independent table reported, a reminder that vendor language and third-party testing do not always tell the same story.
Cursor’s leadership frames the product in more architectural terms. Cursor CEO Michael Truell has said “the future of software development is AI-native,” a philosophy that matches Cursor’s decision to build a full standalone editor instead of an extension layered onto someone else’s tool. That single design choice, building the whole editor rather than plugging into one, is arguably the clearest difference between how Cursor and GitHub Copilot approach the same underlying problem.
Real-World Scenarios: Where Each Tool Actually Fits
None of the three vendors has published named customer case studies detailed enough to cite here, so the scenarios below are illustrative situations built directly from each tool’s documented pricing, positioning, and feature set rather than specific companies.
- A five-person startup shipping its first MVP on a tight budget is squarely in Cursor’s and Copilot’s free-to-$20 pricing zone. Augment Code’s $100-a-month flat Business plan, with no lower entry tier, is a hard sell when the whole team’s tooling budget might be a few hundred dollars a month.
- A 200-engineer fintech team refactoring a decade-old Java monorepo matches almost exactly the use case Augment Code’s own comparison ranked it first for, enterprise monorepos and legacy refactoring, and the 27-minute one-time indexing cost is easy to absorb across a project measured in months.
- A solo indie developer prototyping a new SaaS idea over a weekend fits the “solo devs, fast prototyping” slot that the same comparison assigned to Cursor, where the $20 Pro tier and fast speed-to-answer rating matter more than deep architectural reasoning across files that do not exist yet.
- A regulated healthcare or financial services team that needs SOC 2 Type II, ISO 42001, and SSO/SCIM support documented in writing before procurement will sign off has the clearest path with Augment Code, based on what each vendor discloses publicly today.
- An engineering org standardized on Microsoft 365 and Azure with existing GitHub Enterprise seats gets the least friction from GitHub Copilot, since it rides on billing and compliance relationships the company already has in place rather than adding a new vendor to procurement.
- A consultancy or agency jumping between five different client codebases in a single week is exactly the profile that feels Augment’s 27-minute indexing time the most, since that cost repeats with every new client repo, making Cursor’s or Copilot’s lighter-weight indexing a likely better operational fit.
Best Use Cases: Which Tool Fits Which Developer
Beyond the specific scenarios above, a few clear patterns emerge from the pricing and positioning data across all three tools.
- Choose Cursor if the priority is a tightly integrated, editor-level AI experience with access to Claude, GPT, and Gemini models in one place, and the budget can stretch to $20 or more a month per developer.
- Choose GitHub Copilot if the team already lives inside VS Code, JetBrains, or Visual Studio and wants the lowest-friction, lowest-cost entry point, especially at $10 a month for individuals or $19 a user for a Business team.
- Choose Augment Code if the primary pain point is a large, old, hard-to-navigate codebase where multi-file architectural reasoning matters more than raw speed, and the organization can absorb a $100-a-month flat enterprise-style plan.
- Choose GitHub Copilot over Cursor specifically when compliance paperwork needs to move fast, since Copilot can often ride on a company’s existing Microsoft enterprise agreement instead of starting a new vendor security review from zero.
- Choose Cursor over Augment Code when the team needs to onboard a new repository every few days rather than working in one long-lived monorepo, since Cursor’s lighter indexing avoids repeating a 27-minute setup cost on every switch.
- Avoid locking into any single tool as an enterprise buyer without a trial on the actual production codebase first, since none of the three vendors has published an independently verified multi-file agent success rate that would settle the question in advance.
How to Migrate Between Cursor, Copilot, and Augment Code
Switching AI coding assistants is lower-risk than switching a database or a cloud provider, since none of these tools own a team’s source code or its version history. Even so, a rushed switch can waste a sprint on tool friction. The steps below apply broadly across all three migration directions.
Moving From GitHub Copilot to Cursor
Because Cursor is a standalone editor rather than a VS Code extension, this migration means installing a new application, not just a new plugin. Start by exporting or noting any custom VS Code keybindings, snippets, and workspace settings, since Cursor can import a standard VS Code settings profile on first launch. Next, pick a Cursor plan based on real usage, not the sticker price alone. Given that Pro includes $20 of model usage and Ultra includes $400, a team burning through Copilot’s usage-based billing quickly under the June 2026 model is a good candidate for Cursor’s higher tiers rather than the entry Pro plan. Run both tools side by side on a single repository for a week before fully cutting over, since Cursor’s full-editor agent mode behaves differently from an extension-based agent even when pointed at the same codebase.
Moving From Cursor or Copilot to Augment Code
This migration is really an organizational decision more than a technical one, since it usually means moving from an individual-purchase model to a centrally procured enterprise tool. Budget for the 27-minute initial indexing time on each repository before the first team demo, so it does not eat into a live walkthrough. Because Augment Code’s current pricing starts at the $100-a-month Business tier with no smaller entry plan, run the security and compliance review, including the SOC 2 Type II and SSO/SCIM documentation, in parallel with the technical evaluation rather than after it, since that review is typically the longer pole for an enterprise rollout.
A simple pre-migration checklist, regardless of direction, keeps the switch from turning into a lost week:
# Pre-migration checklist, run before switching AI coding tools
# 1. Inventory current usage and spend
# - export current tool's usage/billing history for the last 30 days
# 2. Back up personal config
# - custom snippets, keybindings, and prompt/rules files
# 3. Pilot on one repository first
# - pick a mid-size, actively developed repo, not the largest monorepo
# 4. Time the first index/setup
# - log how long initial indexing takes before rolling out further
# 5. Run both tools in parallel for 5-10 working days
# - compare completion quality on the same real tickets
# 6. Confirm compliance sign-off before full rollout
# - SSO/SCIM, data retention, and model-training opt-out settings
Following that order avoids the most common migration mistake in this category: rolling a new AI coding assistant out to an entire team before anyone has timed how long onboarding a single real repository actually takes.
Pros and Cons of Each Platform
No single tool wins across every category, which is exactly why this remains a genuine three-way decision rather than an obvious pick. Anyone who came looking for a quick github copilot vs cursor answer alone should still read Augment Code’s column below, since it changes the calculus for any team working in a large legacy codebase.
Cursor pros: full-editor integration with real-time workspace awareness, access to Claude, GPT, and Gemini models plus first-party Composer and Auto models, and the highest estimated SWE-bench signal among the three in Verdent’s tested table. Cursor cons: requires switching editors entirely, the $200 Ultra tier is the most expensive individual plan of the three, and no standalone compliance certification page surfaced in the research for this piece.
GitHub Copilot pros: the lowest entry price at $10 a month, the broadest confirmed IDE support across VS Code, JetBrains, Neovim, and Visual Studio, and inherited enterprise compliance coverage for teams already on Microsoft agreements. GitHub Copilot cons: the lowest SWE-bench figure in Verdent’s table at 12.3%, a recent shift to usage-based billing that adds cost unpredictability, and no single confirmed universal context-window size.
Augment Code pros: the most detailed public compliance and security certification list of the three, a five-star architecture reasoning and multi-file editing score in its own published comparison, and a Context Engine purpose-built for large legacy monorepos. Augment Code cons: no free or discounted single-seat tier following the 2026 pricing overhaul, a 27-minute initial indexing time flagged as its own biggest weakness, and no independently published SWE-bench score to weigh against its rivals.
Cursor vs GitHub Copilot vs Augment Code: The Verdict
There is no single winner across price, benchmark signal, and enterprise readiness at once, and treating this as a single overall score would misrepresent what the data actually shows. On price alone, GitHub Copilot wins decisively at $10 a month for individuals, undercutting Cursor’s $20 Pro tier by half and leaving Augment Code’s $100 flat plan far behind for a solo user. On the one independently tested benchmark signal available, Cursor’s roughly 40% estimated SWE-bench score in Verdent’s January 2026 table beats Copilot’s 12.3% by a wide margin, though Augment Code was not part of that comparison at all.
For enterprise buyers specifically, the calculus shifts again. Augment Code’s public SOC 2 Type II and ISO 42001 certifications, paired with a five-star security rating in its own comparison, make the strongest documented compliance case of the three, even if that data comes from Augment’s own marketing rather than a neutral source. Its 27-minute indexing time and complete absence of a lower-cost entry tier are real costs a smaller team should weigh before committing.
The most defensible summary: pick GitHub Copilot for the lowest cost and broadest IDE reach, pick Cursor for the strongest all-around editor experience and benchmark signal at a moderate price, and pick Augment Code specifically for large, regulated, legacy-codebase environments where its Context Engine and compliance list justify the $100-a-month floor. Anyone still undecided after reading the specs should run the pre-migration checklist above on a real repository before signing an annual contract with any of the three. Budget owners comparing raw cursor ai pricing against augment code pricing one more time before signing should remember the crossover point from the cost-per-seat math earlier in this piece: flat-rate plans favor small teams under the seat cap, and per-seat plans favor teams that expect to scale past it.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Cursor or GitHub Copilot better for large codebases?
Cursor markets full codebase indexing without a published token ceiling, while Copilot confirms at least 200,000-token routing for one model in its picker. Neither has published results specifically for large legacy monorepos the way Augment Code has, which is the tool built most explicitly around that use case.
How much does Augment Code cost in 2026?
As of mid-2026, Augment Code’s published pricing is a $100-a-month flat Business plan covering up to 50 seats with $100 of pooled usage included, plus a custom Enterprise tier. Its earlier Indie ($20), Standard ($60), and Max ($200) plans have been retired.
Can I use Claude, GPT, or Gemini models inside Cursor and GitHub Copilot?
Cursor’s pricing pages list Claude, GPT, and Gemini as available “Other Models” alongside its own first-party Composer and Auto models. GitHub Copilot’s 2026 model catalog confirms Gemini 3.1 Pro, Gemini 3.5 Flash, and Gemini 3.6 Flash, with third-party sources also referencing GPT and Claude options in the picker.
Does Augment Code have a free tier?
No free tier appears on Augment Code’s current or previously published 2026 pricing pages. Every tier, past and present, has required payment, unlike Cursor’s Hobby plan or Copilot’s Free plan.
What SWE-bench score does Cursor actually have?
Cursor has not published an official SWE-bench score. Independent review site Verdent estimated roughly 40% in a January 2026 tested comparison table, but explicitly labeled that figure an estimate rather than a confirmed result.
Is GitHub Copilot still the cheapest AI coding assistant?
Among these three tools, yes. Its $10-a-month Pro tier and free plan undercut both Cursor’s $20 entry price and Augment Code’s $100 flat Business plan, even after Copilot’s June 2026 move to usage-based billing.
Which tool is best for enterprise security and compliance?
Based on public documentation, Augment Code lists the most detailed certification set, including SOC 2 Type II, ISO 42001, SSO/OIDC/SCIM, and SIEM support. GitHub Copilot benefits from Microsoft’s broader compliance program for customers already under an enterprise agreement.
Can I switch between Cursor, Copilot, and Augment Code without losing work?
Yes. None of the three tools store a team’s source code or version history outside of standard Git hosting, so switching mainly costs setup time, including Augment Code’s 27-minute initial indexing, rather than any risk to the codebase itself.
In a straight github copilot vs cursor matchup, which one should a new team try first?
Start with whichever one is free to test against a real repository, since both offer a no-cost tier. GitHub Copilot’s Free plan is the faster setup for teams already in VS Code or JetBrains, while Cursor’s Hobby plan is worth trying when the team is open to switching editors for tighter agent integration. Either trial is a lower-commitment starting point than evaluating Augment Code, which has no free tier to test against.
Related Coverage
- Cursor vs Copilot 2026: $20 vs $10, $29B Valuation [Tested]
- Codex vs Cursor vs Claude Code: 88.6% vs $200 Cap [2026]
- Windsurf vs Cursor vs Copilot: $200 vs $39 Gap [2026]
- Kiro vs Claude Code: 80.8% SWE-bench, $200 Cap [2026]
- Devin vs Amazon Q Developer vs Tabnine: $26B, Sunset [2026]
- How to Set Up GitHub Copilot: 12 Steps, 70 Min [2026]





