Genki Covert Dock 3 vs JSAUX vs Antank: $93 Gap [2026]

Nintendo wants $124.99 for a second Switch 2 dock. That price, more than a quarter of the console’s own retail cost, is why a crowded field of third-party challengers has spent the past year trying to build something cheaper without getting locked out by Nintendo’s firmware. The Genki Covert Dock 3, the JSAUX OmniCentro Charger Dock, and the Antank S3 Max all now ship as genuine Switch 2 replacements, but they got there by different routes, at wildly different prices, and with different tradeoffs on resolution, charging speed, and port count.

This comparison pulls exact specs, pricing, and compatibility data for all four docks: Nintendo’s own $124.99 Dock Set, Genki’s $69.99 Covert Dock 3, JSAUX’s $39.99 OmniCentro, and Antank’s $31.99 S3 Max. It also covers the reason this market exists at all: a 2025 encryption change inside the Switch 2 that broke nearly every third-party dock overnight and forced accessory makers to reverse-engineer a fix. If you’re deciding whether to pay full price for a second official dock or gamble on a $32 travel dock, the numbers below settle it. For more on the custom silicon powering these devices, see our broader coverage of the chips and hardware market.

Google · Preferred Sources

Don't miss new tech stories on Google

Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.

Add Now

Why Switch 2 Owners Are Shopping for a Second Dock

A Nintendo Switch 2 ships with exactly one dock. Anyone who wants docked play in a second room, at a second house, or in a hotel room on a trip needs another one, and Nintendo’s own answer is the Nintendo Switch 2 Dock Set at $124.99, which includes the dock itself, an AC adapter, a USB-C charging cable, and an HDMI cable. Nintendo also sells the AC adapter alone for $34.99 for buyers who already own a spare dock shell.

That price puts a second dock at roughly 28% of the $449.99 launch price of the Switch 2 console itself. For a family adding a dock to a second TV, or a traveler who wants to leave the primary dock connected at home, that math gets uncomfortable fast. It’s the same gap that pushed millions of original Switch owners toward third-party travel docks between 2017 and 2024, and the Switch 2 accessory market followed the same pattern, just with a much rockier start.

The pool of alternatives splits into two categories. Pocket-sized “charger dock” hybrids like the Genki Covert Dock 3 and JSAUX OmniCentro are built to double as a USB-C PD charger for a laptop or phone when you’re not gaming, and they’re small enough to live in a backpack pocket. Full-size clone docks like the Antank S3 Max mimic the shape and function of Nintendo’s own dock at a fraction of the price, without the pocketability. Both categories had to solve the same underlying problem before they could ship a single working unit.

Demand for a second dock isn’t hypothetical. Nintendo itself markets the Dock Set explicitly as a way to “easily set up a second TV in your house for big screen gaming action,” language pulled straight from its own product page, which tells you the company expects multi-room setups to be common enough to sell a dedicated SKU for it. What Nintendo doesn’t offer is a cheaper version of that same convenience, which is exactly the gap this entire third-party category exists to fill. It’s a similar dynamic to what played out with handheld PC docks for Steam Deck and ROG Ally owners, where a $60 spread between the official and cheapest options pushed most buyers toward third-party hardware.

The Encryption Chip Problem: Why Third-Party Docks Broke in 2025

When the Switch 2 launched on June 5, 2025, most existing third-party Switch docks stopped working with it, and so did several video accessories that had nothing to do with Nintendo, including Xreal’s video glasses. Reporting traced the cause to a new authentication handshake baked into the console’s USB-C video-out path, paired with a dedicated encryption chip that Nintendo’s own dock knows how to negotiate with and generic USB-C hubs do not. JSAUX described the requirement to French outlet 01net as something beyond a simple voltage change, telling the publication its dock team had to pause development entirely because the console’s negotiation sequence wasn’t standard USB-C behavior.

The fallout wasn’t universal. A handful of docks, including the Antank S3 Max and the SiWiQU-branded version of the same hardware, worked from day one, apparently because their chipsets already matched whatever handshake Nintendo’s silicon expected. Others needed real engineering work: AverMedia’s Elite Go GC313 Pro and Core Go GC313 capture-dock hybrids, along with Viture’s Pro Mobile Dock, regained Switch 2 support only after firmware updates on the accessory side caught up with Nintendo’s requirements months later.

The damage extended past docks entirely. Nintendo’s authentication change also broke compatibility with portable video glasses that had previously worked over the same USB-C video path, forcing Xreal to commit to an updated Neo device later in 2025 specifically to restore Switch 2 support. That’s the detail that turned this from a niche dock complaint into a wider story: Nintendo wasn’t just tightening its own accessory ecosystem, it was changing a USB-C video-out behavior that a whole category of unrelated hardware had come to depend on. For accessory makers, that meant treating every future Switch 2 firmware update as a potential compatibility risk rather than a routine bugfix release.

Genki took the encryption risk seriously enough to build a contingency into the Covert Dock 3’s design. In a statement to Nintendo Life for its April 2026 review, the company said: “We’ve had a lot of questions about Nintendo releasing a future firmware update for NS2 that could interfere with Covert Dock 3 functionality. We don’t anticipate this being an issue, but we designed Covert Dock 3 to be firmware updatable just in case. We commit to providing firmware updates if needed and would host the file on either the Covert Dock 3 product page on our website, via email, or on our Discord.” That’s an unusual level of defensiveness for a $69.99 accessory, and it tells you how seriously the whole category still treats Nintendo’s ability to break compatibility with a single system update.

Meet the Four Contenders

Four products make up this comparison, chosen because each represents a different price tier and design philosophy in the current Switch 2 dock market.

  • Nintendo Switch 2 Dock Set ($124.99): the official baseline, released alongside the console on June 5, 2025, and the only option Nintendo formally supports.
  • Genki Covert Dock 3 ($69.99): a charger-sized travel dock that funded on Kickstarter before reaching retail, and the only one of the three third-party options with full 4K120 output and VRR.
  • JSAUX OmniCentro Charger Dock ($39.99 on sale, $45.99 list): announced at CES 2026 with Switch 2 support built in from launch, and the widest official compatibility list of the group.
  • Antank S3 Max ($31.99 to $41.99 depending on the sale, also sold as the SiWiQU Switch 2 dock): the cheapest option and one of the first third-party docks to work with Switch 2 without waiting on a firmware patch.

Each product occupies a genuinely different niche rather than competing head-on. The Covert Dock 3 targets buyers who want the closest thing to full docked-mode fidelity in a travel form factor. The OmniCentro targets buyers who own more than one handheld and want a dock that works across all of them. The S3 Max targets buyers who just want a second, cheap, functional dock for a spare TV and don’t care about resolution beyond what the Switch 2 already outputs.

It’s worth flagging the naming confusion around the cheapest option before going further. Antank and SiWiQU sell what appears to be the same physical dock under two different brand names, a common practice among budget accessory makers who manufacture through the same factory and split distribution across storefronts. Reddit users have noted this directly, with one buyer explaining they picked the SiWiQU-branded version specifically because it was cheaper on Amazon than the Antank-branded listing at the time of purchase, despite both functioning identically. That’s useful to know if you’re price-comparing and see what looks like two separate products with near-identical spec sheets.

Full Specs Comparison Table

SpecNintendo Official DockGenki Covert Dock 3JSAUX OmniCentroAntank S3 Max
Price$124.99$69.99$39.99 (sale) / $45.99 list$31.99–$41.99
Release dateJune 5, 2025April 2026 retail (2025 Kickstarter)Announced CES 2026Mid-2025
Weight380 g116 gNot disclosed, sub-100 g classNotably lighter than official dock (unspecified by maker)
Dimensions200.05 x 112.29 x 48.78 mmCharger-brick sized59.9 x 47.4 x 31 mmCompact, TV-stand style
Max HDMI output (Switch 2)4K at 60 Hz4K at 120 Hz with VRR4K at 60 Hz (dock capped)4K at 60 Hz (console-limited)
HDMI versionNot disclosedHDMI 2.1Standard HDMI (60 Hz cap)Not disclosed
USB-C charging20V/3A in, 15V/2.8A to consoleUp to 65W PD passthrough65W fast chargingUp to 100W PD input (Switch 2 draws ~45W max)
Ports1x USB-C, 2x USB-A, 1x HDMI, 1x Gigabit Ethernet1x USB-C (DisplayPort 1.2), 1x HDMI 2.1, 1x USB-A1x USB-C, 1x HDMI, 1x USB-A (USB 2.0)1x HDMI, 1x USB-C, 2x USB-A (Ethernet on separate SKU)
Active coolingYes (internal 40 mm Delta blower fan)No (passive)No (passive)No (passive)
Multi-device compatibilitySwitch 2 onlySwitch 2, Switch, Steam Deck, ROG Ally, other USB-C video-out handheldsSwitch 2, Switch, ROG Ally, ROG Ally X, ROG Xbox Ally, ROG Xbox Ally X, Steam Deck, Legion Go, Legion Go S, Legion Go 2Switch 2 only (base SKU)
Compatibility status at launchGuaranteedWorked at retail launch, firmware-updatableWorked at CES 2026 launchWorked from day one, no firmware wait

Pricing Breakdown: The $93 Gap

Line the four products up by price and the spread is stark. Nintendo’s official dock costs $124.99. The Antank S3 Max, at its typical $31.99 sale price, costs $93 less, which means you can buy nearly four S3 Max units for the price of one official Nintendo dock. The Genki Covert Dock 3 sits in the middle at $69.99, a $55 discount off Nintendo’s price while still charging a premium over the JSAUX and Antank options because it’s the only one that matches the console’s full 120Hz docked ceiling.

ProductList PriceTypical Street PriceSavings vs. Official Dock
Nintendo Switch 2 Dock Set$124.99$124.99$0 (baseline)
Genki Covert Dock 3$69.99$65–$75 (early Kickstarter pricing varied by region)$55.00
JSAUX OmniCentro Charger Dock$45.99$39.99$85.00
Antank S3 Max$41.99$31.99–$33.99$93.00
Antank S3 Max with Ethernet$59.99$35.99–$39.99$85.00–$89.00

The Ethernet-equipped Antank variant deserves a separate line because it closes one of the biggest functional gaps between the budget docks and Nintendo’s own hardware: a wired internet port. Nintendo’s official dock includes Gigabit Ethernet standard, useful for anyone chasing lower latency in online multiplayer. Neither the base Antank S3 Max nor the Genki Covert Dock 3 nor the JSAUX OmniCentro ships with an Ethernet jack, so buyers who care about wired connections either need Antank’s pricier Ethernet SKU or a separate USB-to-Ethernet adapter plugged into one of the dock’s USB-A ports.

It’s also worth accounting for how these prices move. None of the three third-party docks in this comparison hold a fixed price the way Nintendo’s dock does. The JSAUX OmniCentro’s $39.99 figure is a standing $6 discount off its $45.99 list price rather than a limited promotion, and Antank runs frequent storewide sales that swing the S3 Max between $31.99 and $41.99 depending on the week. Genki’s pricing has moved the most of the three: its Kickstarter backers paid as little as $65 for the US version, while the retail price settled at $69.99 once general availability began. Buyers comparing these four options should check current pricing rather than treating any single number as fixed, since only Nintendo’s $124.99 figure has stayed genuinely stable since June 2025.

HDMI Output and Refresh Rate: Who Actually Hits 4K120?

This is where the specs sheet gets misleading if you don’t read the fine print. The Switch 2 console itself caps its docked HDMI output at 4K resolution and 60Hz, according to its own published specs, while its handheld screen runs up to 1080p at 120Hz. That means most of the “4K120” marketing you’ll see on third-party dock boxes describes what the dock hardware can pass through to other, non-Switch devices, not what you’ll actually see when a Switch 2 is plugged in.

The Antank S3 Max is a clean example: its spec sheet lists HDMI output up to 4K at 120Hz, but the same documentation explicitly notes the Switch 2 itself only supports 4K at 60Hz, so the dock’s extra headroom goes unused with this specific console. The JSAUX OmniCentro takes the opposite approach and caps its HDMI port at 4K60 in hardware, a deliberate tradeoff GamesRadar’s testing confirmed trims cost and size versus Genki’s more capable port.

The Genki Covert Dock 3 is the outlier that actually matters for image quality with other devices. Its HDMI 2.1 port supports full 4K at 120Hz with VRR, which won’t push a Switch 2 past its own 60Hz ceiling but does make the dock genuinely more capable when it’s used with a Steam Deck, ROG Ally, or gaming laptop that can push higher frame rates over the same USB-C-to-HDMI path. If your household has more than one handheld sharing dock duty, that headroom is the practical reason to pay $30 more than the JSAUX option.

Nintendo’s own official dock sits in an odd middle position here. It’s the only product in this comparison built and certified specifically for a single console, yet it still tops out at the same 4K60 ceiling as the two cheaper third-party options. That’s not a design flaw so much as a reflection of what the Switch 2’s own hardware can actually push through its HDMI output, confirmed on the console’s Wikipedia-documented spec sheet listing 4K at 60Hz as the maximum docked resolution with HDR10 support. Paying more for Nintendo’s dock buys reliability and Ethernet, not a sharper picture.

USB-C Power Delivery and Charging Speed Compared

Charging speed matters more than most buyers expect, because a dock that can’t keep up with the Switch 2’s power draw during demanding games will let the battery slowly drain even while docked. Nintendo’s own AC adapter feeds the dock at 20V/3A (60W), and the dock delivers up to 15V/2.8A, or roughly 42W, to the console itself, comfortably above what the Switch 2 draws even under sustained load.

The three third-party docks all cluster in a similar range but hit it different ways. The Genki Covert Dock 3 delivers up to 65W of PD passthrough (Nintendo Life’s testing measured 64W, up from 45W on the previous Covert Dock 2), which covers the Switch 2 with room to spare for charging other devices simultaneously through its secondary USB-A port. JSAUX’s OmniCentro also advertises 65W fast charging through its single USB-C port. Antank’s S3 Max accepts up to 100W of PD input from the wall, though the company’s own documentation notes the Switch 2 itself will never draw more than about 45W, so that headroom exists mainly for compatibility with other devices sharing the same charger.

In practice, all four docks supply more power than a Switch 2 needs, so the real differentiator isn’t raw wattage but what else you can plug in. Genki’s design lets you top up a phone or a laptop through the spare USB-A port while the Switch 2 charges through USB-C, turning the dock into a de facto travel charger, which is the whole point of the “Covert” branding.

There’s a safety angle worth mentioning too. The original Switch had a well-documented history of budget third-party docks damaging consoles through improperly regulated power delivery, which is a large part of why Nintendo has long recommended sticking to certified accessories. Antank’s own documentation addresses this directly by capping the useful charging range and noting the Switch 2’s actual draw ceiling rather than just advertising the dock’s maximum input capacity, a small but meaningful signal that the company understands the failure mode it needs to avoid repeating with newer hardware.

Build Quality, Weight, and Portability

Nintendo’s official dock is not built to travel. At 380g and roughly 200mm long, it’s a permanent-fixture design meant to sit next to a TV, and its housing exists mainly to conceal the internal 40mm Delta blower fan that keeps the dock’s video-processing board cool during extended sessions. That fan, confirmed via a teardown published by ChargerLAB, only cools the dock’s own internals rather than the console, a detail Nintendo confirmed through its own Nintendo Today app after early owners speculated the fan was meant to cool the tablet itself.

None of the three third-party alternatives include active cooling, and none of them need to, since they’re doing far less video processing than Nintendo’s dock. The Genki Covert Dock 3 weighs 116g, described by Nintendo Life’s review as smaller than the charger that ships with a MacBook, and is small enough to disappear into a backpack side pocket. The JSAUX OmniCentro is even smaller in footprint at 59.9 x 47.4 x 31mm, closer in size to a large USB-C charging brick than anything resembling Nintendo’s dock. Antank’s S3 Max sits closer to a traditional dock shape but ships noticeably lighter than the official unit, though Antank hasn’t published an exact figure, and Nintendo Life’s review of the S3 Max noted its light material feel undercuts the sense of a premium accessory even as it functions correctly.

Weight matters for a second reason beyond travel convenience: it’s a rough proxy for how much internal shielding and thermal mass a dock carries, which in turn affects long-session reliability. Nintendo’s 380g dock has room for its blower fan, a full-size PCB handling video encoding, and a shielded USB-C connector assembly, all of which add mass that a 116g travel dock simply doesn’t have space for. That’s not a knock on the lighter options since none of them need to process video the way Nintendo’s dock does, but it explains why a $32 clone dock and a $125 official dock can both work reliably while weighing more than three times apart.

Compatibility Beyond Switch 2: Handheld PC Crossover

Most Switch 2 owners aren’t buying only a Switch 2. Handheld gaming PCs running SteamOS or Windows have exploded over the past two years, and a growing share of buyers now own a Switch 2 alongside a Steam Deck, a ROG Xbox Ally X, or a Lenovo Legion Go. That overlap is why compatibility lists have become a real selling point rather than boilerplate marketing copy, and it’s the same crossover crowd that has driven demand for eGPU setups for gaming handhelds over the past year.

The JSAUX OmniCentro wins this category outright, with an official compatibility list covering the Switch 2, original Switch, Steam Deck and ROG Xbox Ally X, ROG Ally, ROG Xbox Ally, Legion Go, Legion Go S, and Legion Go 2, ten devices in total. The Genki Covert Dock 3 covers a similar range in practice, since any device that outputs video over USB-C can use its DisplayPort 1.2-equipped port, though Genki markets the compatibility more loosely than JSAUX’s device-by-device list. Antank’s base S3 Max, by contrast, is explicitly marketed as compatible only with the Switch 2, with the company’s own product page carrying a note that it will not work with the original Switch.

For a household juggling multiple handhelds, that difference changes the math entirely. Buying one JSAUX OmniCentro or one Genki Covert Dock 3 to cover both a Switch 2 and a Steam Deck costs less than buying a Switch 2-only dock plus a separate Steam Deck dock, even before factoring in the convenience of carrying one accessory instead of two.

The crossover appeal also explains why JSAUX and Genki both leaned so hard into handheld-PC compatibility in their marketing rather than positioning these as Switch 2 accessories first. Handheld gaming PC shipments have grown fast enough over the past two years that a dock maker limiting itself to one console family leaves real revenue on the table. Antank’s decision to keep the base S3 Max Switch 2-exclusive looks like a deliberate cost tradeoff rather than an oversight, since narrowing the compatibility target let the company hit its $31.99 price point without engineering a universal USB-C video path that has to negotiate with half a dozen different chipsets.

Real-World Use Cases: Which Dock Fits Which Buyer

Specs only matter in the context of how you’ll actually use a dock. These are the scenarios that come up most often among Switch 2 owners shopping for a second unit.

  • The hotel-room traveler: Someone who wants docked play on a hotel TV without packing Nintendo’s bulky 380g unit. The Genki Covert Dock 3 or JSAUX OmniCentro both fit in a laptop bag pocket and double as the trip’s USB-C charger, eliminating the need to pack a second brick.
  • The second-TV family: Parents adding docked play to a kids’ bedroom or a basement TV where image quality matters less than reliability and price. The Antank S3 Max at $31.99 makes the most financial sense here, since the Switch 2’s 4K60 ceiling means you lose nothing by skipping Genki’s 120Hz headroom.
  • The multi-handheld household: A gamer who owns both a Switch 2 and a Steam Deck or ROG Ally and wants one dock that works with both. The JSAUX OmniCentro’s ten-device compatibility list makes it the safer buy over a Switch 2-exclusive option like the base Antank S3 Max.
  • The online multiplayer competitor: Anyone chasing lower latency for ranked play needs wired Ethernet, which rules out the base Genki, JSAUX, and Antank units entirely. That leaves Nintendo’s official dock or Antank’s Ethernet-equipped S3 Max variant as the only two options with a built-in RJ45 port. Pair either with a low-latency Pro Controller rather than Joy-Cons for competitive play.
  • The dorm-room minimalist: A college student who wants the absolute cheapest working option and doesn’t care about extra features. Antank’s S3 Max, even before any sale pricing, undercuts every other option in this comparison by at least $8.
  • The AV enthusiast with a 4K120 TV: Someone who splits dock duty between a Switch 2 and a handheld PC capable of higher frame rates, and wants a dock that won’t bottleneck the PC even though the Switch 2 can’t use the extra headroom. The Genki Covert Dock 3’s HDMI 2.1 port is the only one of the three third-party docks built for that scenario.
  • The risk-averse buyer: Anyone who watched the 2025 encryption saga play out and doesn’t want to gamble on a firmware update bricking their dock mid-trip. Nintendo’s official dock remains the only option with a guarantee that survives every future system update, since Nintendo controls both sides of the handshake.

Migration Guide: Switching From the Official Dock to a Travel Dock

Moving from Nintendo’s dock to a third-party alternative is straightforward, but skipping a couple of steps is exactly how buyers end up with a “broken” dock that’s actually a firmware or cable problem.

1. Update the Switch 2 to the latest system firmware before testing any new dock.
   Settings > System > System Update
2. Confirm the specific dock model appears on the manufacturer's current
   Switch 2 compatibility list, not just a general "Switch" listing.
3. Test the new dock at home on a known-good TV before relying on it while traveling.
4. Verify the HDMI cable included with the third-party dock is rated for
   the resolution you expect (4K60 minimum for full Switch 2 docked output).
5. If output fails, reseat the console fully in the dock's USB-C connector,
   Switch 2 dock detection is more sensitive to connector alignment than
   the original Switch's dock.
6. Register for firmware update notifications from the accessory maker
   (Genki's Discord, JSAUX's newsletter, Antank's product page) in case
   a future Nintendo system update requires a dock-side patch.
7. Keep the original Nintendo AC adapter as a backup power source if the
   third-party dock's included adapter is swapped out for travel.

That fifth step matters more than it sounds. Several early reports of “broken” third-party Switch 2 docks in 2025 traced back to imperfect seating in the USB-C slot rather than genuine incompatibility, since the console’s authentication handshake needs a clean connection to complete. A dock that appears to fail on first plug-in is worth reseating before writing it off as incompatible or requesting a refund.

Keep the receipt and packaging until you’ve tested the dock through at least one full firmware cycle, too. Because Nintendo has already demonstrated it can change dock authentication behavior with a system update, and because Genki has publicly said it will patch the Covert Dock 3 if that happens again, a dock that works perfectly on day one isn’t guaranteed to keep working the same way six months later without a corresponding accessory-side update. That’s a real tradeoff third-party buyers accept that official-dock buyers don’t have to think about. If you’re also upgrading storage while you’re at it, check current Switch 2 microSD Express card pricing before your next trip, since the same travel-accessory logic applies there too.

Pros and Cons of Each Dock

Nintendo Switch 2 Dock Set

Pros: Guaranteed compatibility through every future firmware update, built-in Gigabit Ethernet, active cooling for sustained sessions, includes AC adapter and HDMI cable in the box.

Cons: $124.99 price is the highest in this comparison by a wide margin, 380g weight and 200mm length make it impractical to travel with, works only with the Switch 2 and nothing else in your handheld collection.

Genki Covert Dock 3

Pros: Only third-party dock with true 4K120 and VRR support, doubles as a 65W USB-C charger for phones and laptops, 116g weight is genuinely pocketable, manufacturer has publicly committed to firmware updates if Nintendo changes compatibility again.

Cons: At $69.99 it’s the most expensive third-party option, no Ethernet port, the 4K120 capability goes unused with a Switch 2 specifically since the console tops out at 60Hz.

JSAUX OmniCentro Charger Dock

Pros: Widest official compatibility list of any dock in this comparison at ten supported devices, smallest physical footprint, $39.99 sale price undercuts Genki by $30 while still hitting the Switch 2’s full 60Hz ceiling.

Cons: HDMI output is hard-capped at 4K60 even for devices that could push higher, single USB-A port limits simultaneous accessory charging, no Ethernet option at any price point.

Antank S3 Max

Pros: Cheapest option in this comparison at $31.99, one of the first third-party docks that worked with Switch 2 without waiting on a firmware patch, an Ethernet-equipped SKU exists for buyers who want wired play without paying Nintendo’s price.

Cons: Base SKU is Switch 2-exclusive and won’t work with an original Switch or a handheld PC, build materials feel noticeably cheaper than Nintendo’s dock according to Nintendo Life’s review, no VRR or above-60Hz support.

The Verdict: Which Switch 2 Dock Should You Buy

There’s no single winner here because the four products barely compete on the same axis. If your only goal is docked play on a second TV at the lowest possible cost, the Antank S3 Max wins on pure math: $31.99 versus $124.99 is a $93 gap for functionally identical 4K60 output, and it was compatible with Switch 2 before most of its rivals had even solved the encryption problem.

If you own more than one handheld system, the JSAUX OmniCentro’s ten-device compatibility list makes it the more rational $39.99 purchase, since it replaces what would otherwise be two separate single-purpose docks. And if you specifically want a dock that won’t bottleneck a Steam Deck or ROG Ally pushing higher frame rates, even though the Switch 2 itself can’t use the extra headroom, the Genki Covert Dock 3’s HDMI 2.1 port and 65W charging justify its $69.99 price for that narrower audience.

Nintendo’s own $124.99 dock only wins for buyers who specifically need Gigabit Ethernet, who want the fan-cooled reliability of an official product for daily heavy use, or who simply don’t want to think about whether the next system update will break their travel accessory. For everyone else, the third-party market solved its 2025 compatibility crisis well enough that paying full Nintendo price for a second dock is now a choice, not a requirement.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the Nintendo Switch 2 work with third-party docks?

Yes, but not universally. A new authentication handshake and encryption chip inside the Switch 2 broke most existing third-party docks at launch in June 2025. Some products, including the Antank S3 Max, worked immediately, while others like the Genki Covert Dock 3 and JSAUX OmniCentro needed months of engineering work before they reached retail with confirmed Switch 2 support.

What is the cheapest reliable Switch 2 dock?

The Antank S3 Max, typically priced between $31.99 and $41.99 depending on the sale, is the cheapest dock covered in this comparison that reviewers confirm works reliably with the Switch 2, including CGMagazine’s 7.5-out-of-10 review and eShopper Reviews’ assessment that it performs on par with Nintendo’s own dock in day-to-day use.

Which Switch 2 dock supports 4K120Hz and VRR?

The Genki Covert Dock 3 is the only third-party dock in this comparison with a true HDMI 2.1 port capable of 4K at 120Hz with VRR. That said, the Switch 2 console itself caps docked output at 4K60, so the extra headroom only benefits other devices, such as a Steam Deck or ROG Ally, connected to the same dock.

Is the Genki Covert Dock 3 worth $70 versus Nintendo’s $125 official dock?

For most Switch 2-only households, no, since the Switch 2 can’t use the Covert Dock 3’s full 4K120 capability and the JSAUX OmniCentro delivers the same 60Hz ceiling for $30 less. The Covert Dock 3 makes more sense for buyers who split dock duty between a Switch 2 and a handheld PC that can actually push higher frame rates.

Can I use a Steam Deck or ROG Ally dock with the Switch 2?

It depends on the specific dock and whether it’s been updated to handle the Switch 2’s authentication requirements. The JSAUX OmniCentro and Genki Covert Dock 3 both explicitly list Switch 2 support alongside Steam Deck and ROG Ally compatibility, but older handheld-PC docks that predate the Switch 2’s 2025 launch may not have received the firmware or hardware updates needed to work with it.

Why did Nintendo Switch 2 break compatibility with third-party docks?

Reporting attributes it to a new encryption scheme and dedicated authentication chip built into the console’s USB-C video-out path, which most third-party dock chipsets weren’t designed to negotiate with. JSAUX told 01net the requirement wasn’t simply a higher voltage threshold, but a fundamentally different handshake sequence than standard USB-C video output.

Does the JSAUX OmniCentro support 120Hz gaming?

No. The OmniCentro’s HDMI port is hardware-capped at 4K60, a deliberate design tradeoff that keeps its size and price down compared to the Genki Covert Dock 3’s HDMI 2.1 port. Since the Switch 2 itself only outputs 4K60 when docked, this limitation doesn’t cost Switch 2 owners anything in practice.

Do third-party Switch 2 docks include Ethernet?

Mostly no. Nintendo’s official dock includes Gigabit Ethernet standard, but the Genki Covert Dock 3 and the base JSAUX OmniCentro and Antank S3 Max models all skip a wired network port to save space and cost. Antank sells an Ethernet-equipped S3 Max variant for $35.99 to $59.99 depending on the sale, which is the only third-party option in this comparison with a built-in RJ45 jack.

Related Coverage

Sofia Lindström

Sofia Lindström

Editor-in-Chief

Sofia Lindström is the Editor-in-Chief at Tech Insider, where she leads editorial strategy and oversees coverage across AI, cybersecurity, and enterprise technology. With over a decade in Swedish tech journalism, she previously served as technology editor at Dagens Industri and covered the Nordic startup ecosystem for Breakit. Sofia holds an MSc in Media Technology from KTH Royal Institute of Technology and is a frequent speaker at Web Summit and Slush. She is passionate about making complex technology accessible to business leaders.

View all articles