Three model releases in three weeks reshuffled the coding-AI leaderboard in August 2026. OpenAI shipped GPT-5.6 Sol as its new flagship, Alibaba pushed out Qwen3.8 Max as the first Max-class Qwen model with open weights, and Anthropic’s Claude Opus 4.6 (Thinking mode) kept posting the highest raw coding scores of the three on independent benchmark trackers. Anyone choosing an API for an agentic coding tool, a CI pipeline, or a self-hosted inference stack right now is picking between fundamentally different bets: pay OpenAI’s premium for polish and ecosystem support, pay Anthropic’s price for the top SWE-bench Pro score, or download Alibaba’s weights and run the cheapest frontier-class model money can buy.
This comparison pulls together the SWE-bench Pro rankings, Terminal-Bench 2.1 results, GPQA Diamond scores, and per-token API pricing for all three models as published in August 2026 developer documentation and independent benchmark aggregators. If you’re deciding which model to route your coding agent through, or whether it’s worth self-hosting Qwen3.8 Max instead of paying for a hosted API, the numbers below should settle most of the argument.
Don't miss new tech stories on Google
Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.
What Changed in August 2026
All three models in this comparison are recent. GPT-5.6 Sol is the frontier snapshot in OpenAI’s GPT-5.6 family, documented with a February 16, 2026 knowledge cutoff and listed as the default `gpt-5.6-sol` model in OpenAI’s developer docs. Qwen3.8 Max launched in early August 2026 as Alibaba’s “most capable model to date,” and its open-weight checkpoint, Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B, went live on Hugging Face and ModelScope on August 12-13, 2026, marking the first time Alibaba has open-sourced a Max-tier Qwen model. Claude Opus 4.6 (Thinking mode) is the current top-scoring entry from Anthropic on several third-party coding leaderboards, sitting ahead of both rivals on SWE-bench Pro as of the mid-August aggregated board.
The timing matters because it means none of these are stale comparisons: this is genuinely the current generation for all three vendors as of August 24, 2026, not a leftover matchup from the spring. Qwen3.8 Max in particular is an inflection point, since it’s the first time Alibaba has let a flagship-tier model’s weights leave the API wrapper entirely.
GPT-5.6 Sol vs Qwen3.8 Max vs Claude Opus 4.6: Full Specs Table
| Spec | GPT-5.6 Sol (OpenAI) | Qwen3.8 Max (Alibaba) | Claude Opus 4.6 Thinking (Anthropic) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Release status | Production API, GA | Production API + open weights | Production API |
| Release window | Mid-2026, active in API by August | Early August 2026 (API); open weights Aug 12-13 | Current top scorer on Aug leaderboards |
| Context window | 1,050,000 tokens | 1,000,000 tokens (API) | Not fully disclosed publicly; frontier-class, hundreds of thousands of tokens |
| Max input tokens | 922,000 | Up to ~1M (API) | Not disclosed |
| Max output tokens | 128,000 | Not disclosed for API tier | Not disclosed |
| Input modalities | Text, image | Text, image (multimodal API) | Text, image (Anthropic frontier line) |
| Open weights available | No | Yes — Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B (BF16 + FP8) on Hugging Face/ModelScope | No |
| Reasoning effort control | none / low / medium / high / xhigh / max | Thinking-mode toggle on open checkpoint | “Thinking” mode (extended reasoning) |
| Knowledge cutoff | February 16, 2026 | Not separately disclosed | Not separately disclosed |
| SWE-bench Pro score | 64.6 | 67.7 | ~80.0+ (aggregated board, Anthropic frontier tier) |
| Terminal-Bench 2.1 | 89.5% (xhigh effort, third-party run) | 86.6 | ~89.1% (max effort, third-party run) |
| GPQA Diamond | High-80s/low-90s band (vendor-reported parity) | 92.6 | Not separately disclosed in same table |
| Global average (Failing Fast benchmark) | 74.0 (GPT-5.2 Codex reference point) | Not in same table | 74.5 (Opus 4.6 Thinking) |
Two things jump out immediately. First, Qwen3.8 Max beats GPT-5.6 Sol on SWE-bench Pro by 3.1 points (67.7 vs 64.6) despite costing a fraction of the price — a genuinely unusual result for an open-weight model against a closed frontier API. Second, Anthropic’s Opus 4.6 Thinking still leads the pack on raw SWE-bench Pro score among the three, which is consistent with Anthropic’s models topping several independent coding leaderboards through most of 2026.
SWE-Bench Pro Benchmark Breakdown
SWE-bench Pro is the benchmark most engineering teams now watch instead of the original SWE-bench Verified, because it uses a larger and less contaminated set of real-world pull requests — Scale AI, which built and released the benchmark in September 2025, put the total task count at 1,865. According to the SWE-Bench Pro 2026 ranking published by qcode.cc, the August 18, 2026 aggregated board shows Anthropic’s frontier tier leading with Mythos 5 at 80.3 and Fable 5 at 80.0, with Claude Opus-class models close behind at 79.2, while open-weight Qwen3.8 Max at 67.7 overtakes GPT-5.6 Sol’s 64.6.
That’s a striking reversal of the usual pattern where closed frontier APIs outperform open-weight checkpoints on hard coding benchmarks. Alibaba’s own launch benchmark table, published alongside the Qwen3.8-Max GA announcement, lists 67.7 on SWE-bench Pro, 86.6 on Terminal-Bench 2.1, and 92.6 on GPQA Diamond for the Max-tier model — numbers the company says show the “strongest gains in multimodal and agentic categories rather than general reasoning.”
For GPT-5.6 Sol, the 64.6 SWE-bench Pro figure comes from a max-reasoning-effort configuration in a multi-model comparison table. That’s already an improvement over OpenAI’s prior generation: CodingFleet’s June 2026 benchmark run put GPT-5.5 at just 58.6% on the SWE-bench Pro Public split, even though the same model scored a much higher 82.6% on the older, more saturated SWE-bench Verified — a reminder of how much harder the Pro split is. OpenAI’s own model card doesn’t publish a standalone SWE-bench Pro number, which is a gap worth flagging: buyers comparing all three vendors are working from OpenAI’s documentation for context and pricing, but from third-party aggregators for the actual coding score.
Terminal-Bench 2.1 and Agentic Tool Use
Terminal-Bench 2.1 measures how well a model handles long-running, multi-step terminal tasks — the kind of work an autonomous coding agent actually does: cloning a repo, running a build, reading error output, patching, and re-running tests in a loop. This is where GPT-5.6 Sol looks strongest of the three. An August 2026 agentic-coding guide from Neural Core Tech reports GPT-5.6 Sol leading Terminal-Bench 2.1 at 89.5% when run at “xhigh” reasoning effort, with Claude Opus-class models close behind at 89.1% — a gap of just 0.4 points.
Qwen3.8 Max’s open-weight checkpoint posts 86.6% on the same benchmark, which the source describes as “parity” with the closed frontier models given the margin of error on these evaluations. That’s a meaningful result for teams building self-hosted agent stacks: a downloadable model within 3 points of the two best closed APIs on a long-horizon agentic benchmark, while running at whatever inference cost your own GPUs allow rather than per-token API billing.
Beyond Terminal-Bench, Qwen3.8’s open checkpoint (Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B) also reports 93.0 on PaperBench, 86.1 on OSworld-Verified, and 91.5 on a parametric CAD reasoning benchmark — scores Alibaba’s launch materials describe as being at parity with GPT-5.6 Sol and Anthropic’s Opus/Fable-tier models on structured, tool-use-heavy tasks.
API Pricing Compared: The 5x Gap
| Model | Input ($/1M tokens) | Cached Input | Output ($/1M tokens) | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GPT-5.6 Sol (OpenAI direct) | $5.00 | $0.50 | $30.00 | >272K input tokens triggers 2x input / 1.5x output surcharge |
| GPT-5.6 Sol (AWS Bedrock, short context) | $4.00 | $0.40 | $20.00 | Global CRIS, 272K context tier |
| GPT-5.6 Sol (AWS Bedrock, long context) | $8.00 | $0.80 | $30.00 | Global CRIS, 1M context tier |
| Qwen3.8 Max (Alibaba Cloud API) | $2.00 | Not separately listed | $6.00 | Roughly 2-4x cheaper than Sol per token |
| Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B (self-hosted) | Compute cost only | N/A | Compute cost only | Free weights, BF16 and FP8 variants |
| Claude Opus 4.6 Thinking (Anthropic) | Not published in same comparison table | — | Not published in same comparison table | Anthropic’s frontier tier historically prices above mid-tier Claude models |
Run the math on a typical agentic coding session — say, 500,000 input tokens and 100,000 output tokens for a multi-file refactor task. On GPT-5.6 Sol’s direct API pricing, that’s roughly $2.50 in input costs plus $3.00 in output costs, for about $5.50 total. On Qwen3.8 Max’s hosted API, the same workload runs about $1.00 input plus $0.60 output, for roughly $1.60 total — a little over 3x cheaper. Self-host the open-weight checkpoint and the marginal cost drops to whatever your GPU-hour rate is, which for teams already running inference infrastructure can push the gap past 5x once you account for GPT-5.6 Sol’s premium output pricing.
That price gap is the central story of this comparison. Qwen3.8 Max isn’t just cheaper — it’s cheaper and ahead on SWE-bench Pro. That combination is unusual enough that Alibaba’s own marketing leaned into it, and it’s why several developer blogs covering the August 2026 model landscape flagged Qwen3.8 Max as the biggest open-weight story of the month.
Five Real-World Deployment Scenarios
Specs and benchmarks are one thing; actual deployment decisions are another. Here’s how the tradeoffs above play out in five concrete scenarios engineering teams are facing this month.
Scenario 1: A Series B fintech startup building an in-house PR reviewer. The team processes roughly 400 pull requests a day across a mid-size monorepo. At GPT-5.6 Sol’s $30 per-million-token output price, a full day of review comments (assuming an average 2,000 output tokens per PR) runs close to $24 a day just in output costs, before input tokens for diff context. Switching that workload to Qwen3.8 Max’s hosted API at $6 output cuts the same daily bill to roughly $4.80, and self-hosting the open-weight checkpoint on already-provisioned GPUs removes the per-token cost entirely. For a team already running inference infrastructure for other services, this is the textbook case for skipping the closed API altogether.
Scenario 2: An enterprise SRE team automating incident postmortems. This workload leans on long-context reasoning — feeding a model hours of log output, deploy history, and Slack threads to draft a first-pass root-cause writeup. GPT-5.6 Sol’s documented 922,000-token max input and 1.05M total context window make it the safer choice here, since the vendor has published exact limits rather than leaving teams to test empirically where a model’s context handling degrades.
Scenario 3: A defense contractor building an air-gapped code-review tool. No API calls are allowed to leave the network under the contract’s data-handling terms, which rules out GPT-5.6 Sol and Claude Opus 4.6 entirely. Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B’s open weights are the only option of the three that can run fully offline on a self-hosted GPU cluster, assuming the custom license terms clear legal review. This is a case where benchmark score is almost secondary to the deployment constraint.
Scenario 4: An agentic coding tool vendor competing on Terminal-Bench-style tasks. A startup building an autonomous “fix the failing CI build” product cares most about long, multi-step tool-use reliability — exactly what Terminal-Bench 2.1 measures. GPT-5.6 Sol’s 89.5% score at xhigh effort gives it a real edge for this specific product category, even though it costs more per call, because the cost of a failed multi-step agent run (wasted compute, wasted engineer time re-running it) often outweighs the per-token savings of a cheaper model.
Scenario 5: A university research lab benchmarking open-weight models for a paper. Academic teams without enterprise API budgets increasingly default to open-weight checkpoints for reproducibility — a downloaded model produces the same output given the same weights and seed, while a hosted API can silently change behavior when a vendor updates the backing model. Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B’s public release on Hugging Face and ModelScope makes it directly citable and reproducible in a way none of the closed APIs are.
Why an Open-Weight Model Is Suddenly Competitive
For most of 2024 and 2025, the gap between the best closed frontier model and the best open-weight model on hard coding benchmarks ran anywhere from 10 to 20 points on SWE-bench-style tests. Qwen3.8 Max closing that gap to the point of beating GPT-5.6 Sol outright (67.7 vs 64.6 on SWE-bench Pro) is a meaningfully different result, and it’s worth understanding why it happened now rather than a year ago.
Part of the answer is scale: Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B is a 2.4-trillion-parameter mixture-of-experts model, which puts it in the same size class as the largest closed frontier models rather than the smaller open checkpoints that dominated open-weight leaderboards through 2025. Alibaba’s launch materials specifically frame the release around “the strongest gains in multimodal and agentic categories rather than general reasoning,” suggesting the training focus shifted toward the exact task types SWE-bench Pro and Terminal-Bench measure, rather than general knowledge benchmarks like MMLU where open models had already been closing the gap for longer.
It’s also the first time Alibaba has open-sourced a Max-tier model at all — previous Qwen Max releases stayed API-only, with only the smaller dense variants (like Qwen3.8-27B) getting open weights. That decision alone changes the competitive calculus for every team currently paying for a closed API purely because open alternatives were a tier behind on hard benchmarks.
Historical Benchmark Trend: How Fast the Field Is Moving
To put August 2026’s numbers in context, it helps to see how quickly SWE-bench Pro scores have moved across recent model generations referenced in the same aggregator tables used for this comparison.
| Model | SWE-bench Pro | Terminal-Bench 2.1 | Category |
|---|---|---|---|
| GPT-5.2 Codex (reference point) | Not in same table | Not in same table | Closed API, prior generation |
| DeepSeek V4 Flash (Jul 31, 2026) | Not in same table | Not in same table | Open-weight, mid-tier |
| GPT-5.6 Sol (current) | 64.6 | 89.5% | Closed API, frontier |
| Qwen3.8 Max / Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B (current) | 67.7 | 86.6 | Open-weight, frontier-class |
| Claude Opus 4.6 Thinking (current) | ~80.0+ | ~89.1% | Closed API, frontier |
The takeaway isn’t just where each model lands individually — it’s the spread. LLM Stats’ own SWE-bench Pro leaderboard, which tracked 55 models as of May 2026, put the leading score at 0.800 against a field average of just 0.6 — meaning all three frontier-class models compared here for August sit well above the typical model on this benchmark. A roughly 15-point range separates the lowest and highest SWE-bench Pro scores among current-generation frontier and near-frontier models being actively marketed in August 2026, which is a tighter spread than the same comparison would have shown a year earlier when open-weight models routinely trailed by 20+ points.
Enterprise Considerations: Compliance, Support, and Vendor Lock-In
Benchmark scores rarely decide enterprise procurement on their own. A few factors outside the specs tables above tend to matter just as much once legal, security, and procurement teams get involved.
Data residency and training-data usage. Enterprises in regulated industries need clear answers on whether prompt data is retained or used for further training. Hosted-API customers of GPT-5.6 Sol and Qwen3.8 Max are both bound by their respective vendor’s data-handling terms, while a self-hosted Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B deployment sidesteps the question entirely since no data leaves the customer’s own infrastructure.
Support SLAs. OpenAI and Anthropic both offer enterprise support tiers with uptime guarantees for their hosted APIs; a self-hosted open-weight deployment shifts that operational burden onto the customer’s own infrastructure team, which is a real cost even when the per-token price is zero.
License risk. Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B’s custom license (as opposed to the Apache 2.0 terms covering the smaller Qwen3.8-27B) is the one item in this comparison that most clearly needs a legal review before large-scale commercial use, since the exact redistribution and fine-tuning terms weren’t fully published alongside the initial release.
Vendor lock-in. Routing 100% of a coding pipeline through a single closed API creates a dependency that’s expensive to unwind if pricing changes or the vendor deprecates a model version. Teams increasingly build a thin abstraction layer that can route between GPT-5.6 Sol, Qwen3.8 Max, and Claude Opus 4.6 based on task type, which is also the best hedge against any single model’s benchmark score turning out to be less representative of real-world performance than the published numbers suggest.
Real-World Use Cases: Which Model Fits Which Job
Benchmarks tell you relative strength; they don’t tell you what to actually deploy. Here’s how the three models map to common engineering workloads based on the published specs and scores above.
- Autonomous coding agents with long terminal sessions — GPT-5.6 Sol’s 89.5% Terminal-Bench 2.1 score at xhigh effort makes it the strongest pick for agents that need to run builds, chase test failures, and iterate across dozens of tool calls without losing the thread.
- Cost-sensitive CI/CD code review bots — Qwen3.8 Max’s $2/$6 per-million-token pricing (or free self-hosted inference) makes it the obvious choice for high-volume, low-margin automation like PR review comments or lint-fix suggestions where you’re running thousands of calls a day.
- Highest-stakes refactors and security-sensitive patches — Claude Opus 4.6 Thinking’s lead on aggregated SWE-bench Pro scores suggests it’s worth the premium when a single wrong patch is expensive to unwind, such as production database migrations or auth-layer changes.
- On-premises or air-gapped development environments — Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B is the only one of the three that can run fully offline, which matters for regulated industries (finance, defense contractors, healthcare) that can’t send code to a third-party API at all.
- Multimodal coding tasks (screenshots, diagrams, UI mockups) — Both GPT-5.6 Sol and Qwen3.8 Max’s API tier support text+image input, useful for turning a Figma screenshot into working frontend code; the open-weight Qwen checkpoint is text-only, so multimodal work there requires the hosted API instead.
- Extremely long-context tasks (full monorepo analysis) — GPT-5.6 Sol’s 1.05M token window with a documented 922,000-token max input is the most explicitly specified of the three for genuinely huge context loads.
- Startups prototyping an in-house coding assistant — Qwen3.8 Max again, since the combination of open weights and a cheap hosted fallback lets a small team start on the API and migrate to self-hosted inference later without a rewrite.
Migration Guide: Switching From GPT-5.6 Sol to Qwen3.8 Max
Teams already running production workloads against GPT-5.6 Sol who want to test Qwen3.8 Max — either the hosted API or the self-hosted checkpoint — should plan for a few concrete differences rather than assuming a drop-in swap.
- Audit your prompt length against context limits. GPT-5.6 Sol documents a 922,000-token max input against a 1.05M total window; Qwen3.8 Max’s API tier advertises up to 1M tokens but with less granular published limits. Test your longest real prompts against both before cutting over.
- Separate your multimodal calls from your text-only calls. If any part of your pipeline sends images, route those to the Qwen3.8 Max hosted API (not the open-weight checkpoint, which is text-only) or keep them on GPT-5.6 Sol.
- Re-tune your reasoning-effort parameter. GPT-5.6 Sol’s effort levels (none/low/medium/high/xhigh/max) don’t map one-to-one onto Qwen’s thinking-mode toggle. Benchmark both at comparable settings rather than assuming “high effort” means the same latency and cost on each.
- Decide hosted vs. self-hosted early. The $2/$6 Alibaba Cloud API pricing is a fast way to pilot Qwen3.8 Max with no infrastructure work. Self-hosting Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B (BF16 or FP8) requires GPU capacity sized for a 2.4T-parameter MoE model — confirm your inference stack (vLLM, SGLang, or similar) supports the released weight format before committing.
- Run your own SWE-bench-style regression set. Published benchmark numbers are directional, not a guarantee for your specific codebase, language mix, or repo size. A side-by-side run on 50-100 of your own real PRs is the only way to know which model actually wins for your workload.
- Check licensing on the open-weight checkpoint. Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B shipped under a custom license, not the permissive Apache 2.0 license used for the smaller Qwen3.8-27B dense model — confirm your use case (especially commercial redistribution) is covered before deploying at scale.
- Keep a fallback path. Given how recently all three models shipped, keep your integration abstracted behind a model-router layer so you can shift traffic back to GPT-5.6 Sol or Claude Opus 4.6 if Qwen3.8 Max’s early scores don’t hold up under your production load.
Pros and Cons: GPT-5.6 Sol
Pros: Best-in-class Terminal-Bench 2.1 score (89.5% at xhigh effort) among the three, meaning stronger performance on long, multi-tool agentic sessions. Fully documented context window (1.05M tokens, 922,000 max input, 128,000 max output) with clear pricing tiers on both OpenAI’s direct API and AWS Bedrock. Mature ecosystem support across cloud providers and agent frameworks.
Cons: Trails both rivals on SWE-bench Pro (64.6 vs Qwen3.8 Max’s 67.7 and Claude Opus 4.6’s 80+). Most expensive of the three on a per-token basis, especially for output-heavy workloads at $30 per million tokens. No open-weight option, so every call depends on OpenAI’s or a cloud partner’s uptime and pricing decisions.
Pros and Cons: Qwen3.8 Max
Pros: Beats GPT-5.6 Sol on SWE-bench Pro (67.7 vs 64.6) while costing roughly a third to a fifth as much per token. Open weights (Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B) mean self-hosting is possible, which matters for cost at scale and for regulated environments that can’t call third-party APIs. Strong secondary benchmark scores (92.6 GPQA Diamond, 93.0 PaperBench) suggest broad competence beyond pure coding.
Cons: Newest of the three, with the least production track record — the open weights only became downloadable on August 12-13, 2026. Custom license on the Max-tier weights (not the more permissive Apache 2.0 used for the smaller 27B model) adds legal review overhead for commercial deployments. Trails Anthropic’s frontier tier by a wide margin on aggregated SWE-bench Pro scores (67.7 vs 80+).
Pros and Cons: Claude Opus 4.6 Thinking
Pros: Leads the three-way comparison on aggregated SWE-bench Pro scores, consistent with Anthropic’s frontier models topping multiple independent coding leaderboards through mid-2026. Global average score of 74.5 on the Failing Fast benchmark table, with an 88.7 coding sub-score — among the highest published for any model in that comparison. Strong track record on real-world agentic coding tools already built around Claude’s API.
Cons: Full context window and detailed pricing are less transparently published in the same side-by-side comparison tables as OpenAI’s and Alibaba’s models, making direct cost comparison harder to pin down. No open-weight option. Historically, Anthropic’s top-tier “Thinking” models price at a premium versus mid-tier Claude models, which likely applies here too even without a fully public rate card in the sources reviewed.
Benchmark Sources and How They Differ
It’s worth being upfront about why the numbers above come from three separate aggregators rather than one clean vendor comparison. OpenAI’s own model card for GPT-5.6 Sol documents context, pricing, and modality specs in detail but doesn’t publish a standalone SWE-bench Pro score. Alibaba’s Qwen3.8 Max launch materials include a full internal benchmark table (SWE-bench Pro, Terminal-Bench 2.1, GPQA Diamond, PaperBench, OSworld-Verified, parametric CAD) run on their own infrastructure. Anthropic’s Opus 4.6 Thinking numbers in this piece come from the independent Failing Fast benchmark tracker and from the qcode.cc SWE-bench Pro aggregated board rather than an Anthropic-published table. At least the underlying benchmark itself is consistently documented across sources: BenchLM’s September 2026 writeup and EmergentMind’s August 2026 summary both independently describe the same 1,865-problem, 41-repository structure for SWE-bench Pro, which is reassuring context even when the model scores layered on top of it come from differently-run aggregator boards.
That mix of first-party and third-party sources is normal for this category — no single vendor publishes every competitor’s score under identical test conditions — but it means the SWE-bench Pro numbers in particular should be read as directional rankings rather than exact apples-to-apples percentages. Different aggregators sometimes score the same model within a few points of each other depending on which SWE-bench Pro subset and reasoning-effort setting they use.
Cost Per Benchmark Point: A Value Framing
Raw benchmark scores don’t account for what you’re paying to get them. Dividing Qwen3.8 Max’s $6 output price by its 67.7 SWE-bench Pro score gives a rough $0.089 per benchmark point. GPT-5.6 Sol’s $30 output price against its 64.6 score works out to about $0.46 per point — more than 5x higher. This kind of value framing oversimplifies a lot (benchmark points aren’t linear, and a single point matters more near the top of the scale than near the middle), but it captures why so many August 2026 developer write-ups singled out Qwen3.8 Max’s pricing as the real headline, not just its raw score.
Claude Opus 4.6 Thinking’s pricing wasn’t published in the same comparison tables used for this piece, so a direct cost-per-point figure isn’t available here — another reason to run your own cost tracking once you’ve picked a model rather than relying purely on published list prices, which shift monthly across all three vendors.
How These Models Handle Agentic Tool Use Beyond Coding
Coding is the headline comparison, but all three models are increasingly marketed as general-purpose agentic systems, not just code generators. That distinction matters because a model can score well on SWE-bench Pro while still struggling with the broader agent loop of planning, tool selection, and error recovery across non-coding tasks like data analysis, document processing, or browser automation.
Qwen3.8 Max’s launch benchmarks explicitly cover this ground: 86.1 on OSworld-Verified (a benchmark for operating a real desktop environment through an agent) and 91.5 on a parametric CAD reasoning task, both of which test tool use well outside a typical code editor. That breadth is part of why Alibaba frames Qwen3.8 Max as a “cowork” model rather than purely a coding model — the launch materials pair the SWE-bench Pro number with these adjacent scores specifically to make the case for general agentic reliability, not just patch-generation accuracy.
GPT-5.6 Sol’s reasoning-effort controls (none through max) are built around exactly this kind of variable-complexity agentic work — a low-effort setting for quick lookups, xhigh or max for the kind of long tool-use chains Terminal-Bench 2.1 measures. That configurability is a meaningful practical advantage for teams running mixed workloads through a single model, since it means not every call has to pay frontier-level latency and cost when a simpler task would do.
Claude Opus 4.6’s Thinking mode plays a similar role in Anthropic’s lineup, giving the model extended reasoning steps before committing to an action — a pattern that has generally correlated with stronger performance on tasks requiring multi-step planning, which likely explains part of its lead on the aggregated SWE-bench Pro board even without a fully disclosed benchmark table for the other agentic categories covered here.
What to Watch Next
None of these three model lines is likely to stay static for long. Alibaba has already signaled that the smaller Qwen3.8-27B dense model shipped under the more permissive Apache 2.0 license, which suggests the company may eventually loosen the custom license on the larger Max-tier weights too, though nothing has been confirmed. OpenAI’s GPT-5.6 family includes a “Terra” variant at reduced pricing ($2 input / $12 output, repriced down from $2.50/$15 in July), suggesting the company is actively tuning price tiers within the same generation rather than waiting for the next major version bump.
For Anthropic, the fact that Opus 4.6 Thinking still leads the three-way SWE-bench Pro comparison despite not being the company’s newest release (Claude Opus 5 and Claude Fable 5 are both later Anthropic models covered elsewhere) says something about how much headroom remains between “current” and “frontier” even within a single vendor’s lineup. That headroom shows up between adjacent point releases too: CodingFleet’s June 2026 testing separately clocked Claude Opus 4.8 at 69.2% on the SWE-bench Pro Public split, a useful reminder of how much scores can shift from one Anthropic release to the next. Teams evaluating Anthropic options should weigh whether Opus 4.6 Thinking’s specific benchmark profile fits their task better than a newer, differently-tuned Anthropic model would.
The practical lesson for engineering teams: benchmark leadership in this category has changed hands multiple times within a single month in 2026, and betting an entire pipeline on one model’s current ranking is a riskier long-term strategy than building the kind of model-agnostic routing layer described in the migration guide above.
The Verdict: Which Model Should You Actually Use
Based on the published data as of August 24, 2026, there’s no single winner across every category — the right call depends on what you’re optimizing for. If you need the best score on hard, real-world coding tasks and cost isn’t the deciding factor, Claude Opus 4.6 Thinking’s lead on aggregated SWE-bench Pro rankings makes it the safer default. If you’re building an autonomous agent that runs long terminal sessions with many tool calls, GPT-5.6 Sol’s 89.5% Terminal-Bench 2.1 score at xhigh effort is the strongest of the three for that specific workload. And if cost, self-hosting, or data residency matter more than squeezing out the last few benchmark points, Qwen3.8 Max is the clear value pick — it beats GPT-5.6 Sol on SWE-bench Pro at roughly a third of the price, with a self-hostable open-weight option that neither OpenAI nor Anthropic currently offers.
The bigger story for the industry is that an open-weight model beat a closed frontier API on a hard coding benchmark within the same month it launched. That gap between “open” and “frontier” has been closing all year, and Qwen3.8 Max’s SWE-bench Pro result over GPT-5.6 Sol is the clearest data point yet that it’s closed further than most developers assumed going into August 2026.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Qwen3.8 Max really open-weight, or just open-source marketing?
It’s genuinely open-weight. The Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B checkpoint — the base model underlying the Qwen3.8 Max API — became downloadable from Hugging Face and ModelScope on August 12-13, 2026, in both BF16 and FP8 quantized formats. This was confirmed independently, including by NVIDIA’s own deployment engineering blog. It ships under a custom license rather than Apache 2.0, so review the terms before commercial use.
What is SWE-bench Pro and why does it matter more than SWE-bench Verified now?
SWE-bench Pro is a newer, larger benchmark of real-world GitHub pull requests used to test whether an AI model can generate a correct code patch given an issue description and a codebase. Per Scale AI’s own breakdown, the benchmark’s 1,865 tasks split into 731 public, 858 held-out, and 276 commercial problems spanning 41 repositories, and a February 2026 OpenReview paper on SWE-bench Pro confirms that same 1,865-problem, 41-repo footprint while adding that the tasks span 123 programming languages. It’s increasingly preferred over the original SWE-bench Verified because Verified’s 500-task set has a higher risk of training-data contamination after years of public use, while SWE-bench Pro’s broader, more linguistically diverse task set is harder to game.
How much cheaper is Qwen3.8 Max than GPT-5.6 Sol in practice?
On hosted API pricing, Qwen3.8 Max runs about $2 per million input tokens and $6 per million output tokens, versus GPT-5.6 Sol’s $5 input and $30 output on OpenAI’s direct API. That’s roughly 2.5x cheaper on input and 5x cheaper on output. Self-hosting the open-weight Qwen checkpoint removes per-token API costs entirely, leaving only your own compute expense.
Can I run Qwen3.8 Max on a single GPU?
Unlikely at full precision. Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B is a 2.4-trillion-parameter mixture-of-experts model, even with the FP8 quantized release reducing memory footprint. Realistic self-hosting requires a multi-GPU inference cluster with a framework like vLLM or SGLang that supports MoE architectures. For single-GPU or lightweight local use, Alibaba’s smaller Qwen3.8-27B dense model (Apache 2.0 licensed) is a more practical choice.
Does GPT-5.6 Sol support image input for coding tasks like reading a screenshot?
Yes. GPT-5.6 Sol’s documented input modalities are text and image, with text-only output. That makes it useful for tasks like converting a UI mockup screenshot into working frontend code, or debugging by feeding it a screenshot of an error dialog or stack trace.
Which model has the largest context window?
GPT-5.6 Sol has the most explicitly documented context specification: a 1,050,000-token total window with a 922,000-token max input and 128,000-token max output. Qwen3.8 Max’s API tier is advertised at up to 1,000,000 tokens but with less granular published limits. Claude Opus 4.6 Thinking’s exact context window wasn’t disclosed in the comparison sources used for this piece.
Is Claude Opus 4.6 Thinking the same as Claude Opus 5?
No — they’re different generations. Claude Opus 4.6 Thinking is an earlier release in Anthropic’s Opus line that still posts competitive benchmark scores on several August 2026 coding leaderboards. Claude Opus 5 is a separate, newer Anthropic model covered in other comparisons on this site; this piece focuses specifically on the Opus 4.6 Thinking scores as they appear in the benchmark tables referenced above.
Should a startup building a coding agent pick the cheapest model or the highest-scoring one?
It depends on your task’s error tolerance. For high-volume, low-stakes tasks like lint fixes or PR summaries, Qwen3.8 Max’s price advantage compounds fast across thousands of daily calls. For low-volume, high-stakes tasks like production database migrations, the marginal cost difference between models is small relative to the cost of a bad patch, so the highest-scoring option — currently Claude Opus 4.6 Thinking on aggregated SWE-bench Pro — is usually worth the premium.
Related Coverage
- How to Run Qwen3.8-27B Locally With Ollama: 12 Steps [2026]
- Kimi K3 vs Qwen3.8-Max vs GLM-5.2: $10.60 Gap [2026]
- Claude Opus 5 vs GPT-5.6 vs DeepSeek V4-Pro: $22 Gap [2026]
- GPT-5.6 vs DeepSeek V4 Pro 0813: 714x Cheaper Input [2026]
- How to Use the GPT-5.6 API: 12 Steps, 100 Min [2026]
- DeepSeek V4 vs R1 vs V3.2: Peak Prices Surge 355% [2026]
For ongoing coverage of AI model releases and benchmark tracking, see the AI models 2026 hub on Tech Insider.
Sources: OpenAI GPT-5.6 Sol model documentation, Alibaba Qwen research page, AWS Bedrock GPT-5.6 Sol model card, SWE-bench project, Qwen open-weight releases on Hugging Face.


