HP EliteBoard G2a: $3,028 PC Hides in a Keyboard [2026]

HP introduced the EliteBoard G2a on October 13, 2026, putting a full Windows business PC inside a keyboard chassis for the second time in under a year. The device swaps last January’s AMD Ryzen AI 300 silicon for AMD’s newer Ryzen AI PRO 400 “Gorgon Point” chips, and it ships at a price that will make most IT buyers pause: $3,028 to $4,191 before anyone connects a monitor. The announcement, reported by outlets including Computerworld, lands at a moment when AMD, Intel, and Nvidia are all racing to define what an “AI PC” should look like. HP’s answer is to make the tower disappear entirely.

The HP EliteBoard G2a is not a novelty peripheral. It is a complete computer, with its own CPU, RAM, storage, and neural processing unit, wrapped in a keyboard shell that connects to any external USB-C display. HP’s own newsroom describes the concept as a way to “break free from the traditional desk experience,” and the pitch is aimed squarely at hybrid workers who move between a home office, a branch office, and a laptop bag. Whether $4,000 buyers will actually show up for that pitch is the real story behind this launch.

Google · Preferred Sources

Don't miss new tech stories on Google

Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.

Add Now

What the HP EliteBoard G2a Actually Is

Strip away the marketing language and the HP EliteBoard G2a is a keyboard-shaped PC case. HP builds the motherboard, processor, memory, storage, and a battery option directly into the keyboard deck, then routes video output over USB4 to whatever monitor, projector, or TV the user has on hand. The chassis measures roughly 358.1 by 118.7 by 17.9 millimeters and weighs between 670 and 676 grams depending on the configuration, according to specifications reported by Russian outlet 3DNews and Indonesia’s Jagat Review. That is thicker than a typical slim keyboard but still thin enough to slide into a laptop sleeve.

A pre-paired wireless mouse ships with every unit. Buyers can add an optional integrated fingerprint reader for Windows Hello-style authentication and an optional 32-watt-hour battery that lets the EliteBoard run untethered from wall power for a stretch, useful for a conference room or a hot-desking floor where outlets are scarce. HP includes two 1-watt stereo speakers and a two-microphone array directly in the keyboard body, enough for a video call without a separate headset, though not a serious audio setup.

Inside the Chip: AMD Ryzen AI PRO 400 “Gorgon Point”

HP offers the EliteBoard G2a with two processor choices, both drawn from AMD’s Ryzen AI PRO 400 family, internally code-named Gorgon Point. The entry option is the Ryzen AI 5 PRO 435, a 6-core, 12-thread chip paired with Radeon 840M integrated graphics. Step up to the Ryzen AI 7 PRO 450 and buyers get Radeon 860M graphics alongside what third-party reporting from Jagat Review lists as up to 50 trillion operations per second of neural processing unit performance, the baseline figure AMD and HP use to market “AI PC” credentials.

Memory comes through two DDR5-5600 SO-DIMM slots, with reporting from Ukrainian outlet ITC.ua and 3DNews indicating support for up to 64GB total, though the launch configurations HP is actually selling top out at 32GB. Storage runs through a single M.2 PCIe Gen4 x4 slot, with retail units shipping 512GB SSDs. That is a meaningful jump from the EliteBoard G1a, whose base configuration reportedly used 32GB of soldered eMMC storage rather than a swappable SSD, according to CES 2026 coverage from Mashable and Tech Times.

For connectivity, the G2a adds Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6.0, along with multiple full-featured USB-C ports, including a 10-Gbps USB-C port for fast external storage. Video routes out over USB4 to a Type-C-equipped monitor, and reporting indicates a second USB-C port can drive an additional display, letting a desk-bound user run dual monitors from a keyboard that has no visible tower, no HDMI cable snaking across the floor, and no separate power brick for the compute unit itself.

Pricing: Four Configurations, None of Them Cheap

HP is selling the EliteBoard G2a in four SKUs, split by processor and by whether the USB4 cable is permanently integrated into the keyboard or sold as a removable cable. The table below lists the configurations reported on October 13, 2026.

ConfigurationProcessorRAM / StorageIntegrated-Cable PriceRemovable-Cable Price
BaseRyzen AI 5 PRO 435 (6C/12T, Radeon 840M)16GB / 512GB SSD$3,028$3,053
UpgradedRyzen AI 7 PRO 450 (Radeon 860M)32GB / 512GB SSD$4,167$4,191

Those figures do not include a monitor, since the EliteBoard has no built-in display. For comparison, Microsoft’s own high-end AI PC push, the Surface Laptop Ultra that Satya Nadella has championed as an “infinite software factory” machine, starts well above $2,500 and climbs toward $5,899 at the top end, while still including a full laptop display, battery, and chassis. A keyboard with no screen attached costing more than $3,000 is a hard sell outside a narrow set of use cases, and HP has not disclosed whether enterprise support contracts or volume-licensing programs are bundled into that sticker price.

From G1a to G2a: What Actually Changed

HP first showed the EliteBoard concept at CES 2026 on January 6, 2026, under the model name EliteBoard G1a. That first-generation unit ran on AMD’s older Ryzen AI 300 series, with a basic configuration using the Ryzen AI 5 330 chip and 32GB of eMMC storage, scaling up to a Ryzen AI 7 350 PRO option, according to CES coverage from Mashable and Tech Times. HP’s own marketing claimed over 50 TOPS of NPU performance for that generation too, and Computerworld described the G1a chassis as roughly 12 millimeters thick and 750 grams.

SpecEliteBoard G1a (Jan. 2026)EliteBoard G2a (Oct. 2026)
Processor familyAMD Ryzen AI 300 seriesAMD Ryzen AI PRO 400 “Gorgon Point”
Chip optionsRyzen AI 5 330 up to Ryzen AI 7 350 PRORyzen AI 5 PRO 435 or Ryzen AI 7 PRO 450
Storage32GB eMMC (base config)M.2 PCIe Gen4 x4 SSD, 512GB
MemoryNot specified in available reportingTwo DDR5-5600 SO-DIMM slots, up to 64GB
WirelessNot specified in available reportingWi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6.0
Thickness / weight~12mm / ~750g~17.9mm / ~670-676g

The clearest functional upgrade between generations is the move from soldered eMMC storage to an upgradeable PCIe SSD, paired with explicitly documented SO-DIMM memory expansion and newer wireless radios. What did not change is the core idea: both generations hide an entire computer inside a keyboard and require the buyer to supply their own external display. HP did not redesign the concept for round two. It mostly upgraded the silicon underneath it.

Why HP Is Betting on Keyboard PCs for Hybrid Work

HP’s stated target is the hybrid workforce, the population of employees who split time between a corporate office, a home desk, and sometimes a client site. Computerworld, covering the G1a launch in January and updating its reporting around the G2a release, characterized HP’s bet as a wager that “the smartest keyboard on earth” could replace the ritual of carrying a laptop, a dock, and a charger between locations. Instead, a worker leaves a monitor, a power source, and the EliteBoard itself at each location and carries only the keyboard-computer between them.

A Narrow but Real Use Case

The pitch works best for a specific kind of worker: someone who already has access to a monitor at every location they work from, and who values carrying one light object over carrying a full laptop. That describes some consultants, some hot-desking employees, and some field technicians. It does not describe most office workers, who already own a laptop that does the same job without requiring a separate always-available display at both ends of the commute. HP has not named specific verticals, such as call centers, healthcare, or retail, as formal targets for the G2a, leaving the addressable market somewhat undefined even as the hardware ships.

The Business AI PC Market HP Is Chasing

The EliteBoard G2a arrives as the broader AI PC category is scaling fast. Gartner has forecast that AI-capable PCs would represent roughly 31% of the worldwide PC market by the end of 2025, up from about 15.6% in 2024, and that x86 Windows devices would make up roughly 71% of the AI business laptop segment in 2025. On the demand side, an IDC survey reported by CIO.com found that 82% of IT decision-makers expected to acquire AI PCs before the end of 2025, and 73% said AI PCs had already accelerated their device-refresh cycles.

MetricFigureSource
AI PCs as share of worldwide PC market, 202415.6%Gartner
AI PCs as share of worldwide PC market, 2025 (forecast)31.0% (~77.8M units)Gartner
x86 Windows share of AI business laptop market, 202571%Gartner
IT decision-makers expecting to buy AI PCs by end of 202582%IDC, via CIO.com
IT decision-makers who said AI PCs sped up device refreshes73%IDC, via CIO.com

That demand is not necessarily demand for keyboard-shaped PCs specifically. It is demand for devices with a capable local NPU that can run AI-assisted productivity features without sending every request to the cloud. HP, AMD, Intel, and Nvidia are all fighting over that same NPU-equipped refresh cycle from different angles, whether through conventional laptops, the Nvidia-powered Surface Laptop Ultra built for running large language models locally, or HP’s keyboard-PC experiment. The EliteBoard G2a is a bet that form factor, not just chip performance, can be a differentiator in that fight.

Keyboard PCs Have a Long, Mostly Forgotten History

HP did not invent the keyboard-computer. The idea dates back to the home computer era, when machines like the Commodore 64 and later the Amiga 500 built their entire motherboard into the keyboard enclosure and relied on an external television or monitor for display, simply because a dedicated monitor was too expensive to bundle with every unit. That design choice was driven by cost constraints, not elegance.

The modern successor to that idea is the Raspberry Pi 400, a single-board computer built into a keyboard chassis and aimed at education and hobbyist users who already own a monitor. HP’s EliteBoard takes the same physical concept and points it in the opposite direction: instead of a budget machine for people who cannot afford a full PC, it is a premium machine for people who already have one, repackaged for portability between desks. The irony is that the category’s original selling point, cost savings from skipping a dedicated display, has flipped into a cost premium for the convenience of skipping a dedicated chassis.

EliteBoard vs. Mini PCs and Thin Clients: Does the Math Work?

For $3,028 to $4,191, a business could instead buy a capable mini PC and a separate mechanical or ergonomic keyboard, and still have budget left over. Compact AI-enabled mini PCs with their own NPUs, such as the fanless Panther Lake-based mini PCs now shipping from industrial vendors or budget-focused systems like the MINIX N304-AI, which packs 24 TOPS of NPU performance into a far cheaper chassis, deliver comparable or superior raw compute at a fraction of the EliteBoard’s price, with the added benefit of being swappable independently of the keyboard a user prefers.

What a mini PC and separate keyboard cannot replicate is the single-object portability the EliteBoard offers. A worker who hot-desks across three locations a week carries one object, plugs it into whatever USB-C monitor is on the desk, and is working within seconds, no docking station pairing, no separate compute unit to lose track of. That convenience is real, but it is a convenience tax, not a performance advantage. The EliteBoard’s Ryzen AI 7 PRO 450 is a 6-core-class mobile chip competing, on raw horsepower, against desktop and mini PC options that can pack far more cores at a lower price once the display and keyboard costs are stripped out.

Where This Leaves AMD in the AI PC Race

For AMD, the EliteBoard G2a is a useful, if small, design win. It puts Ryzen AI PRO 400 silicon into a shipping enterprise product months after the Gorgon Point generation’s broader laptop rollout, and it reinforces AMD’s push into business-class NPU hardware alongside its separate, higher-end Ryzen AI Max PRO 400 line, which AMD markets for workloads that need far more unified memory than a keyboard PC can realistically carry. The EliteBoard is not a volume play for AMD; a company the size of HP does not need millions of units to justify a design win, but it does need a visible flagship to prove Ryzen AI PRO 400 is landing in real enterprise hardware, not just reference designs.

It also keeps AMD relevant in a category Intel and Nvidia are both pushing hard on from different directions, Intel through its own Panther Lake business laptop silicon and Nvidia through its ARM-based Grace Blackwell PC platform. Buyers comparing Intel’s Panther Lake chips against AMD’s Ryzen AI 400 family in conventional laptops now have a third form factor to weigh if HP’s keyboard-PC experiment gains any traction, even if that traction so far looks limited to a single OEM and a six-figure, not seven-figure, addressable market.

The Risks: Why Enterprise IT Might Hesitate

Three practical problems stand between the EliteBoard G2a and broad enterprise adoption. First, asset management gets more complicated when the “computer” and the “input device” are the same physical object. IT departments that track hardware by device class now need a new category, and repairs or replacements mean the keyboard goes dark along with the PC, not just a peripheral swap.

Second, the EliteBoard has no built-in display, which means every deployment still depends on a USB-C-capable monitor being available wherever the employee lands. That is a reasonable assumption in a modern office but a fragile one for home setups, hotel rooms, or client sites where a compatible display cannot be guaranteed. Third, and most simply, the price. At $3,028 to $4,191 per unit before a monitor, the EliteBoard G2a costs more than most premium business laptops that already include a battery, a display, and a chassis that does not require an external screen to function at all. For a company weighing a fleet-wide refresh, that gap is difficult to justify on hardware economics alone.

What to Watch Next

A few open questions will determine whether the EliteBoard line becomes a real product category or a recurring CES and October curiosity. Here is where the story likely goes from here.

  • HP will likely report EliteBoard sell-through only in aggregate “commercial PC” figures rather than as a standalone line item, making it hard to judge real-world adoption from HP’s public financial disclosures.
  • Expect at least one additional OEM, possibly Lenovo or Dell, to test a similar keyboard-PC concept within the next 12 months if HP’s enterprise pilots show any uptake, following the same pattern as other AI PC form factors that get copied once a single vendor proves a market exists.
  • Pricing on the next EliteBoard generation will likely drop modestly as Ryzen AI PRO silicon matures and SSD and SO-DIMM costs normalize, but it is unlikely to approach conventional mini PC or thin client pricing given the premium chassis engineering required.
  • The product’s real test will be in regulated or security-conscious verticals, such as finance or healthcare, where a single-object compute device that never leaves an employee’s bag could appeal to IT teams managing strict device-tracking requirements, more than it will appeal to general office workers.
  • If AMD’s Ryzen AI PRO 400 generation sees meaningful commercial traction through the EliteBoard and comparable designs, expect Intel to respond with its own reference design for OEM partners rather than conceding the keyboard-PC niche outright.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the HP EliteBoard G2a?

It is a Windows business PC built entirely into a keyboard chassis, announced by HP on October 13, 2026. It uses AMD Ryzen AI PRO 400 “Gorgon Point” processors and connects to an external monitor over USB4, since the device has no built-in display.

How much does the HP EliteBoard G2a cost?

Reported U.S. pricing runs from $3,028 for the base Ryzen AI 5 PRO 435 configuration with 16GB of RAM and a 512GB SSD, up to $4,191 for the Ryzen AI 7 PRO 450 configuration with 32GB of RAM, a 512GB SSD, and a removable USB4 cable.

What processor does the EliteBoard G2a use?

Buyers can choose between the AMD Ryzen AI 5 PRO 435, a 6-core, 12-thread chip with Radeon 840M graphics, or the AMD Ryzen AI 7 PRO 450 with Radeon 860M graphics. Both belong to AMD’s Ryzen AI PRO 400 “Gorgon Point” family and report up to 50 TOPS of NPU performance.

How is the EliteBoard G2a different from the EliteBoard G1a?

The G1a, shown at CES 2026, used older AMD Ryzen AI 300 chips and a base configuration with 32GB of soldered eMMC storage. The G2a upgrades to Ryzen AI PRO 400 silicon, adds an upgradeable M.2 PCIe SSD, supports up to 64GB of SO-DIMM memory, and adds Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6.0.

Does the HP EliteBoard G2a include a monitor?

No. The EliteBoard G2a has no built-in display. It connects to any USB-C-equipped external monitor over USB4, and reporting indicates a second USB-C port can drive an additional display for a dual-monitor setup.

Who is the HP EliteBoard G2a designed for?

HP is positioning the device for hybrid workers who move between office and home setups and want to carry a single compute device rather than a full laptop. The company has not named specific industries or job roles as confirmed target customers.

Are there other keyboard-integrated computers like this?

Yes, conceptually. Home computers like the Commodore 64 and Amiga 500 built their electronics into the keyboard decades ago, and the modern Raspberry Pi 400 follows the same layout for education and hobbyist use. HP’s EliteBoard line is a business-class, AI-accelerated take on the same basic idea.

Is the HP EliteBoard G2a available to buy now?

HP listed the EliteBoard G2a on its website with pricing on October 13, 2026. Available reporting does not specify a separate regional shipping date or confirm when units will arrive with buyers.

Related Coverage

Marcus Chen

Marcus Chen

Gaming & Consumer Tech Editor

Marcus Chen is a senior editor at Tech Insider, where he leads coverage of the US online gaming market, including sweepstakes and social casinos, alongside consumer technology. He evaluates operators on their published terms, licensing and RNG certifications, stated redemption policies, and corroborating independent reporting, and writes plainly about what the evidence supports. Tech Insider does not run first-party money tests and does not gamble with reader funds. Marcus has reported on the technology and online-gaming industries for more than a decade.

View all articles