Private AI Chatbot: 5 Privacy Models, 6 Apps [2026]

A private AI chatbot sounds like a simple product category. It is not. In August 2026, DuckDuckGo published a survey of AI users and reported that 56% of AI enthusiasts, and a third of all users, tell chatbots things they keep from other people. That is a vendor survey, so read it with care, but the underlying behavior matches what anyone sees in their own chat history. People paste in medical worries, contract drafts, relationship problems and source code. Those pastes land on servers run by companies with very different rules about who can read them.

This comparison puts six options side by side as of October 26, 2026: Duck.ai, Venice AI, Proton Lumo, Maple, ChatGPT and Claude. The first four sell privacy as their reason to exist. The last two are the mainstream baseline, and they still matter because most readers already use one of them. If you only want to know how the big three differ on free message limits, the free-tier message caps comparison covers that. This article asks a narrower question: who can read what you type, and can you check?

A method note before the tables. Nothing here comes from packet captures or lab tests. The comparison rests on each company’s published pricing and policy pages, plus an October 2026 buyer’s guide from Maple, which also makes one of the six apps. That conflict of interest matters, so every claim that depends on Maple’s reading of a rival’s policy is labeled as such. Where the sources go quiet, this article says so instead of filling the gap.

Google · Preferred Sources

Don't miss new tech stories on Google

Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.

Add Now

What Counts as a Private AI Chatbot in 2026

A chatbot is private when it limits who can read your prompts, and when you have some way to confirm that limit holds. Almost every hosted app encrypts the connection between your device and the server. The real differences start once the prompt arrives. Some services pass the text to a third-party model provider. Others run the model themselves and promise not to keep logs. A small group decrypts prompts only inside hardware-isolated enclaves that your app can check before sending anything. For a sense of how many people use each mainstream assistant, see the usage share comparison.

The five privacy models

Maple’s guide sorts private-AI products into five models, and the taxonomy is the most useful frame I found for this topic. I keep it here with one warning: the author ranks his own product first, so treat the ordering as an argument rather than a verdict.

  • Policy only. The company can read your prompts, and its written policy limits what it does with them. Maple places ChatGPT and Claude here.
  • Anonymizing proxy. A middleman strips your identity and forwards readable text to a model provider. Duck.ai and most of Brave Leo work this way.
  • Operator no-logs. The operator runs the model, sees your prompts while answering and promises not to keep them. Proton Lumo and Venice’s default mode sit here.
  • Attested enclave. Prompts are decrypted only inside hardware-isolated environments, and the client checks the enclave’s code through remote attestation first. Maple, Confer and Privatemode use this design.
  • Local. The model runs on your own hardware, so no company sits in the loop.

The first three ask you to trust a promise. The fourth lets you check it. The fifth removes the question, at the cost of smaller models and your own hardware. None of these categories says anything about answer quality, which is why a private pick still has to survive a normal usability test.

Private is not anonymous

An app that cannot read your chats can still know which account sent them and how you paid. Maple makes this point in its own guide, and it holds for every product in this article. Duck.ai hides your identity from the model provider but not the text. Lumo encrypts saved history but processes each prompt in readable form. If your threat model includes traceability, you need to think about sign-up method and payment as well as the chatbot. Maple, for example, says you can register without an email and pay with Bitcoin.

Private AI Chatbot Specs: Six Apps Side by Side

The table below compresses the facts that matter most. Privacy-model labels and the can the company or provider read prompts row follow Maple’s October 2026 guide unless noted, and prices come from each vendor’s own pricing page where I could fetch one. Single-source details are kept out of the table and discussed in the sections that follow.

SpecDuck.aiVenice AIProton LumoMapleChatGPTClaude
Privacy modelAnonymizing proxyOperator no-logs by default, enclave modes on some modelsOperator no-logsAttested enclavePolicy onlyPolicy only
Can the company or provider read prompts while answering?Model provider can, without your identityDepends on the model’s modeYes, while answering (Proton says it keeps no logs)No, by design (Maple’s claim)YesYes
Can you verify the claim?NoOnly for enclave models, through the APINoYes (attestation and open code, per Maple)NoNo
Trains on your chats by default?No, by contractPolicy does not address chat trainingNo (Proton’s statement)No (Maple’s statement)Personal plans may, unless you opt outOnly if you allow it
Free tierYesYes, 10 text prompts and 15 image prompts a dayYes, no Proton account needed to startYes, with web searchYes, on GPT-6 LunaYes
Entry paid price (monthly billing)From $9.99 (per Maple’s guide)$18 (Pro)$12.99 (Plus)$20 (Pro)About $20 (per Maple’s guide)$20 (Pro, US)
Models on offerOpenAI, Anthropic and together.ai modelsLarge mixed catalog, including GPT-6.1 Sol UltrafastOpen models hosted by ProtonOpen-weight only: GLM 5.3, Kimi K3, DeepSeek V4.1 Flash, GPT-OSS 120B, Gemma 4 31BGPT-6 family (Sol, Luna, Astra, 6.1 Sol)Claude 5.5 family (Opus, Sonnet, Haiku)
Image generationNot covered in sources reviewedYes, many image and video modelsYes, on planImage and document upload on appsYesNot covered in sources reviewed
Developer APINone foundYes, OpenAI-compatibleAnnounced on the October 15 roadmapYes, Maple Proxy (OpenAI-compatible)YesYes (Claude Platform)
Team or business planNoNoLumo for BusinessTeam, $30 per user per monthBusiness, $25 per user monthly or $20 annualTeam and Enterprise
Company baseDuckDuckGoVenice AI, $65M Series A in July 2026Proton AG, GenevaMaple Privacy Labs Inc.OpenAIAnthropic PBC
Newest change found (October 2026)Shareable encrypted chats, Oct. 7Abliterated Large Flash listed, Oct. 23Creations canvas, Oct. 22Kimi K3 added, Oct. 12GPT-6 with Intelligent UI, Oct. 7Haiku 5.5, Oct. 7

Two rows deserve a second look. The can you verify row separates the field more cleanly than price or model count does. And the company base row is a reminder that a private chatbot is only as durable as the business behind it. Venice raised outside capital for the first time in 2026, while Proton and DuckDuckGo are established privacy brands with other revenue lines.

Duck.ai: Anonymous Access to Other Companies’ Models

Duck.ai is DuckDuckGo’s chat product, and its design is the simplest to explain. DuckDuckGo removes metadata such as your IP address and forwards your prompt to a model provider. Maple’s guide, citing DuckDuckGo’s own page on what Duck.ai shares, lists OpenAI, Anthropic and together.ai as the providers. The provider sees your text but not who sent it. Two open models run inside a trusted execution environment, which DuckDuckGo does not let users verify.

On training, DuckDuckGo’s terms say providers do not train on prompts and delete them within 30 days, with limited exceptions. The help page, per Maple, says deletion happens right after the reply, again with exceptions. The two statements differ, and a careful reader should check the current wording before pasting anything sensitive.

The newest product change I found is dated October 7, 2026. DuckDuckGo added a way to share a Duck.ai chat through a link, and says anyone who receives the link can read the chat, continue it or save it without an account. Shared chats are encrypted, according to the company. The feature is handy, but any link you create is another place a conversation can leak, so treat it like sharing a document.

On plans, earlier free-only descriptions of Duck.ai may be outdated. Maple’s table lists paid plans for several of these tools, but it is a third-party comparison, not a vendor price list. One search result reportedly puts DuckDuckGo Pro at $19.99 a month, but I could not confirm that figure on a vendor page, so check duck.ai before you buy.

Best fit: people who want frontier models from the big labs without tying prompts to an account. Weak spot: the model provider still reads the text, and you cannot audit the promise.

Venice AI: Four Privacy Modes and a $1 Billion Valuation

Venice AI pitches itself as private and unrestricted, and it has the busiest catalog of the six. On July 1, 2026, Venice announced a $65 million Series A at a $1 billion valuation, its first outside capital. The company now lists text, image, video, audio and embedding models, plus an OpenAI-compatible API. In the weeks before October 26 it added GPT-6.1 Sol Ultrafast (October 8), Kling 4.0 video (October 15) and an abliterated reasoning model built on DeepSeek V4.1 Flash (October 23).

Privacy on Venice varies by model, and that is the part buyers miss. Venice labels each model as Anonymized, Private or E2EE. Maple’s reading of Venice’s privacy page is blunt. With Anonymized models, the third-party provider sees and likely saves your prompt. The default Private mode runs on Venice or partner GPUs and relies on trust. The TEE and E2EE modes on Pro use enclaves verified by remote attestation, and Maple counted 12 text models in E2EE mode. Venice’s own privacy policy, in Maple’s reading, does not address training on chat content.

Pricing is the cleanest part. The Free plan allows 10 text prompts and 15 image prompts a day. Pro costs $18 a month, with unlimited text prompts and a monthly credit allotment for video, music and premium models. Pro Plus and Max add bigger allotments and credit banking, equal to $75 and $225 of monthly API spend. Credits are priced at 100 per dollar. Venice also sells its VVV token, which lets developers stake for reserved compute, a detail that tells you who the company expects its power users to be.

Best fit: creators and developers who want one account for chat, images and video, and who will pick enclave models for sensitive work. Weak spot: you must check the mode label on every model, because the default is not the strongest option.

Proton Lumo: Encrypted History, Readable Prompts

Lumo is Proton’s assistant, and it inherits the brand’s reputation for email and VPN privacy. Proton says Lumo does not log conversations, does not train on them and protects saved chats with zero-access encryption. The models run on servers Proton controls in Europe. The company is based in Geneva, which matters to buyers who care about jurisdiction.

The subtlety is what that encryption covers. Maple’s guide cites Proton’s own security model post, which says the language model sees the decrypted user message in order to process it, and that the server forgets the request once the answer is generated. In other words, zero-access encryption protects stored history, not the moment of inference. Proton’s CEO makes a similar point in a quote I use later in this article.

Product momentum is real. Proton announced Lumo 2.0 around the end of June 2026, then shipped a canvas called Creations on October 22 that lets Lumo create and edit documents, code and interactive web pages beside the chat. On October 15 the company’s autumn and winter roadmap promised a Lumo API, a desktop app and mobile improvements, though none has an exact date. The wordmark also changed to Lumo AI on October 23, a branding tweak and not a retirement.

Pricing is published on Proton’s page. Free costs $0 and you can start chatting without a Proton account. Lumo Plus is $12.99 a month, or $9.99 a month on a yearly plan billed at $119.88 every 12 months. Plus removes the chat, history and image limits and adds unlimited projects and custom Lumos. Proton’s documentation, as of July 1, listed Qwen 3.5, GLM 5.2 and two image models as the lineup behind Lumo, so expect that list to move. To see how those paid tiers stack up against the big three, the Pro plan comparison breaks down limits and context windows.

Best fit: existing Proton users and Europeans who want a vendor with a long privacy record. Weak spot: the no-logs promise cannot be independently checked today.

Maple: Attested Enclaves and Open-Weight Models

Maple is the only product here that describes itself as unable to read your chats by design. According to Maple’s own blog, chats are encrypted on your device and decrypted only inside hardware-isolated enclaves running open-source code, and the app checks the enclave’s attestation before sending anything. The code is on GitHub under the MIT license. Maple adds that users still rely on the hardware behind each enclave, the published code and Maple’s signing key, which is an honest limit.

The trade-offs sit in the model list and the audit trail. Maple offers open-weight models only, so there is no GPT or Claude. The October 2026 catalog includes GLM 5.3, Kimi K3 (added October 12), DeepSeek V4.1 Flash and GPT-OSS 120B, and Maple published guides for Gemma 4 31B and GPT-OSS 120B on October 21. By its own admission, Maple has no BAA and no independent audit yet. It says it is working toward a BAA and a SOC 2 audit. Until those land, the verification story depends on people reading the code.

Coverage across devices is the strongest of the group: web, iPhone, Android, Mac, Windows and Linux, plus the Maple Proxy API. Pricing is Free at $0 with web search, Pro at $20 a month, Max at $100 a month with ten times Pro’s usage, and Team at $30 per user. Pro unlocks all models, image and document upload on the apps, voice recording and API access. API rates run per million tokens. DeepSeek V4.1 Flash costs $0.65 input and $1.45 output, GPT-OSS 120B costs $0.30 and $1.20, and Kimi K3 costs $8.00 and $25.00.

Best fit: anyone who wants the strongest checkable privacy claim and can live with open models. Weak spot: no frontier proprietary models, no external audit, and a vendor guide that also serves as its own marketing.

ChatGPT and Claude: Policy-Only Privacy With Opt-Outs

The mainstream pair earn their place because they are what most people already use. ChatGPT’s pricing page lists Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business and Enterprise plans. OpenAI began rolling out GPT-6 with Intelligent UI on October 7, 2026. Plus, Pro, Business and Enterprise run GPT-6 Sol, and Free and Go run GPT-6 Luna. Pro now spans three tiers at $100, $200 and $500 a month, according to OpenAI’s help center. For how the two assistants compare on everything except privacy, see the ChatGPT vs Claude vs Gemini head-to-head.

On privacy, Maple summarizes OpenAI’s consumer data page this way. Authorized staff and trusted providers can access content for abuse investigations, support, legal matters and model improvement unless you opt out. Chats on personal plans may train models unless you turn that off in data controls. Even after you opt out, a thumbs up or down on a reply lets OpenAI use that whole conversation. Temporary chats may be kept for up to 30 days. I could not confirm those settings from a first-party page in my own fetch, so verify them in your account before you rely on them.

Claude is similar in kind but different in default. Per Maple, Anthropic uses your chats for training only if you choose to allow it, and keeps incognito chats for 30 days by default. Anthropic’s lineup is the Claude 5.5 family: Opus 5.5, Sonnet 5.5 and Haiku 5.5. The US Pro plan costs $20 a month on Anthropic’s pricing page, and the Max tiers are reportedly $100 and $200. Anthropic also published an updated Usage Policy on October 8 that reportedly takes effect on November 12, 2026, so read the new terms.

Neither product is built so the company cannot read your chat. These settings change what happens to your chats, not who can read them. That is a legitimate position for work that is merely personal, and a poor one for material you would be uncomfortable seeing in a legal discovery request. If you stay on these tools, turn off training where you can and avoid pasting secrets. For persistent memory, the memory comparison across ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini explains what each assistant retains.

Pricing Compared: From $0 to $500 a Month

Every product here has a free entry point, and the paid tiers cluster around $10 to $20 a month. The spread appears at the top. Venice’s Max and OpenAI’s Pro 500 serve heavy users, while Maple’s Max at $100 is a usage multiplier, not a different privacy class. Prices below are monthly billing in US dollars, and any figure that did not come from the vendor’s own page is labeled.

ProductFreeEntry paidHigher tiersTeam or business
Duck.ai (DuckDuckGo)Yes, with limitsFrom $9.99 (per Maple’s guide)Pro, with 2x Plus usage limitsNot offered
Venice AI$0, 10 text and 15 image prompts a dayPro, $18Pro Plus and Max, up to $75 and $225 of monthly API spendNot offered
Proton Lumo$0, no Proton account neededPlus, $12.99 ($9.99 on yearly billing)None listedLumo for Business, no minimum team size
Maple$0, with web searchPro, $20Max, $100 (10x Pro usage)Team, $30 per user
ChatGPT$0, GPT-6 LunaGo and Plus (about $20 for the paid personal tier, per Maple)Pro at $100, $200 and $500Business, $25 per user monthly or $20 annual
Claude$0Pro, $20 (US)Max tiers, reportedly $100 and $200Team and Enterprise

Two details change the math. First, ChatGPT’s Pro 200 subscribers who held the plan during a September 22 to 29 window keep their old allowance through October 29, after which the allowance drops while the price stays at $200. Second, Venice charges separately for video and other credit-based features, so a $18 plan does not cap your spending the way a flat plan does. For a wider look at what the big assistants charge, the subscription pricing comparison lays out the plan ladder.

On price alone, the cheapest credible private option is Lumo Plus on a yearly plan at $9.99 a month. On price per verifiable guarantee, Maple Pro at $20 is the only paid plan in this group that buys an attestable design. Duck.ai’s low entry price buys anonymity from the model provider, which is a different thing.

Evidence Check: What the Sources Prove and What They Don’t

A normal comparison would include benchmark charts here. For privacy, no independent benchmark exists that I could find, and I will not invent one. Model-quality leaderboards say nothing about who reads your prompt. What a reader can do is grade how strong the evidence is behind each product’s privacy claim. The table below is my editorial grading of the sources I reviewed, not a lab result.

ProductCore privacy claimEvidence you can checkEvidence strength
MapleOperator cannot read chatsOpen-source enclave code (MIT), attestation checked by the appStrongest, but no independent audit yet
Venice (E2EE and TEE models)Enclave processingRemote attestation exposed through the APIStrong for those models only
Proton LumoNo logs, no trainingPublished policy and security model postMedium, based on trust in Proton
Duck.aiIdentity removed, no provider trainingPublished terms and help pagesMedium, contract-based
Venice (default mode)Private, trust-basedVenice’s description of its own GPUsMedium to weak
ChatGPT and ClaudeSettings control trainingData-control toggles and policy textWeak for confidentiality, clear for training opt-out

Three sources shape this grading. The first is Maple’s October 2026 guide, which is detailed and dated but comes from a competitor. The second is each vendor’s own pricing and product pages, which are reliable for plan details and unreliable as proof of privacy. The third is reporting, such as the Wired interview with Proton’s CEO quoted below. What is missing from all three is an external audit of any consumer chatbot in this group. Until one appears, private remains a claim with different grades of support.

Some facts remain open. Venice’s policy does not state whether chat content trains models, per Maple. The exact current retention terms for ChatGPT and Claude should come from their own help centers. And the $19.99 Duck.ai Pro price rests on a single report. Each of these is an easy check, and each belongs on your to-do list before you commit data to a service.

Six Real-World Cases Where Privacy Claims Met Reality

Specs tables hide the awkward details, so these cases show where claims bend. Every one comes from the sources reviewed above, and those relying on Maple’s guide are marked that way.

  1. Brave Leo adds an encrypted mode, with a catch. In October 2026 Brave added end-to-end encrypted chat for one open-weight model, GLM 5.3 Flash, in beta. The browser encrypts each prompt to an enclave run by NEAR AI on Intel TDX and NVIDIA confidential-computing hardware, and Brave’s relay cannot read it. Per Maple, Brave’s gateway checks the attestation today, not the user’s browser. Brave says an in-browser check comes next.
  2. Meta AI Incognito Chat. Maple reports that it runs on Meta’s Private Processing system, an attested enclave reached through a third-party relay, and that Meta says no one, not even Meta, can read the conversation. It works only inside WhatsApp and the Meta AI app, and both are closed source, so outside researchers have less to inspect.
  3. Confer and the Signal founder. Confer launched on the web in December 2025 and on iOS in May 2026. Moxie Marlinspike, who created it, wrote in March 2026 that he would work to bring its privacy technology into Meta AI, while Confer stays independent. The free Guest plan allows 20 messages a day, and the paid plan costs $34.99 a month, the highest price in Maple’s comparison.
  4. OpenAI’s thumbs-up loophole. Even with training switched off, rating a ChatGPT reply with a thumbs up or down lets OpenAI use the whole conversation for training, according to the data page Maple summarizes. A single click undoes a privacy setting, which shows why settings are weaker than architecture.
  5. Privatemode keeps metadata. Edgeless Systems’ Privatemode processes prompts only in the EU and does not store them after a request. It still keeps metadata such as IP address and token usage for up to 90 days, per Maple. Content privacy and metadata privacy are separate questions.
  6. Duck.ai share links. DuckDuckGo’s October 7 feature makes chats portable through a link that works without an account. The convenience is real, and so is the new exposure if a link lands in the wrong inbox.

The pattern across all six: marketing language promises privacy, and the details live in what is encrypted, who holds the keys and which metadata survives. Read the details before you read the slogan.

What Proton’s CEO and the Survey Data Say

Few executives in this market speak plainly about the limits of their own product. Proton’s Andy Yen, co-founder and CEO, did so in an interview with Andy Greenberg published on August 18, 2026. Yen described Lumo’s privacy as a promise from Proton, and put the promise this way in the Wired interview: “we’re not gonna look at these logs. In fact, we’re not gonna log this at all.”

The same interview contains the technical caveat that explains why Lumo sits in the operator no-logs category. In Yen’s words: “The issue with LLMs is that the technology for doing that in a fully end-to-end encrypted way is not there yet.” That statement reads as a candid description of the problem Maple, Confer and Venice’s enclave models try to solve with trusted hardware. It also shows that the debate between Proton and enclave vendors is about engineering, not about intent.

Industry data adds the demand side. DuckDuckGo’s August 25, 2026 survey found that one in three AI users has told a chatbot something they kept from people in their lives, and the company says most people dislike how AI companies handle chats once they learn the details. The survey was run by a company that sells a privacy-oriented chatbot, so its framing favors its product. The behavior it measures is still a useful reminder of why these choices matter.

Best Private AI Chatbot by Use Case

No single product wins every job. These six recommendations follow the privacy models above and the plan details from earlier sections.

  • Sensitive personal or legal material: Maple. An attested design with checkable code is the closest thing to proof in this group. Accept the open-weight models and the missing audit.
  • Anonymous access to frontier models: Duck.ai. You get models from the large labs without attaching your identity, and the free tier lets you test it. Do not paste secrets, because the provider reads the text.
  • Existing Proton users and EU-minded buyers: Lumo. It bundles into an ecosystem you may already pay for, runs on European infrastructure and now offers a canvas for documents and code.
  • Creators who want chat, images and video in one place: Venice. Use E2EE or TEE models for anything private, and the default mode for everything else.
  • Small teams that need shared billing: Maple Team at $30 per user, Lumo for Business with no minimum team size, or ChatGPT Business at $25 per user monthly. For larger rollouts, the enterprise plan comparison covers seat pricing and admin controls.
  • Maximum model power with basic hygiene: Claude or ChatGPT with training turned off, no secrets in prompts and temporary chats for anything awkward.

If nothing may leave your machine, skip hosted apps entirely. LM Studio, Ollama and Jan run models on your own computer. Maple’s guide cites LM Studio’s recommendation of 16GB or more of RAM, and the models that fit on a laptop are smaller than the hosted ones. Local also means your chat history is only as safe as your device.

Migration Guide: Moving From ChatGPT or Claude in Eight Steps

Switching does not need a weekend. Most people can move their sensitive work in an hour and keep the old assistant for everything else.

  1. Sort your prompts. Mark which chats contain personal, client or health information. Only those need to move.
  2. Turn off training in your current account. Do this first, since it takes a minute and applies immediately. Skip the thumbs-up and thumbs-down buttons on private chats.
  3. Export your history. Use the data export option in your account settings so you keep a copy of what you want before deleting anything.
  4. Pick a destination by threat model. Choose Maple for verifiable privacy, Lumo for Proton convenience, Duck.ai for anonymous frontier models or Venice for broad media tools.
  5. Recreate your custom instructions. Copy system prompts and style notes into the new app. Lumo supports custom Lumos and projects on Plus, and Maple Pro covers all models.
  6. Run a side-by-side test. Send the same five real tasks to both assistants and compare. Open-weight models handle most writing and analysis, but check coding and long-document work.
  7. Delete old sensitive chats. Remove them from the original account after you confirm the export.
  8. Change your habits. Use a separate email or payment method if traceability worries you, since private chat does not hide your account.

Moving API-based tools

Developers have an easier path. Both Venice and Maple Proxy expose OpenAI-compatible APIs, so most existing code needs only a new base URL, key and model name. Take the exact base URL and model IDs from each provider’s docs, because the placeholders below are not real endpoints.

from openai import OpenAI

client = OpenAI(
    base_url="https://YOUR_PROVIDER_BASE_URL/v1",  # from Venice or Maple Proxy docs
    api_key="YOUR_PRIVATE_PROVIDER_KEY",
)

reply = client.chat.completions.create(
    model="MODEL_ID_FROM_PROVIDER_DOCS",
    messages=[{"role": "user", "content": "Summarize this contract clause."}],
)
print(reply.choices[0].message.content)

Budget with the published rates. Maple lists DeepSeek V4.1 Flash at $0.65 per million input tokens, and its API usage draws from your plan allowance before any extra credits. If cache pricing drives your costs, the API cache pricing comparison shows how the mainstream providers treat repeated context.

Pros and Cons of Each Option

ProductProsCons
Duck.aiIdentity stripped before the provider sees a prompt, frontier models, free tier, no-train contractsProvider still reads text, wording on retention differs between pages, share links add exposure
Venice AIHuge catalog, enclave modes on some models, OpenAI-compatible API, free tierPrivacy depends on model mode, chat training policy not stated, credit spending can climb
Proton LumoZero-access encryption for saved chats, European hosting, strong brand record, Creations canvasPrompts are readable during inference, no-logs promise cannot be checked, API not yet shipped
MapleAttested enclaves, open code, apps on six platforms, API, clear pricingOpen-weight models only, no independent audit or BAA yet, vendor-authored comparison
ChatGPTNewest GPT-6 models, huge feature set, broad plan ladderPolicy-only privacy, training on by default for personal plans, rating a reply can override opt-out
ClaudeClaude 5.5 family, training only with consent, strong writing and coding reputationPolicy-only privacy, incognito chats kept 30 days by default, new usage policy on the way

Verdict: Which Private AI Chatbot to Pick

For most readers who want a real step up in privacy, Maple is the strongest pick on the evidence available. It is the only product in this group whose privacy claim you can check through attestation and open code, it runs on every major platform and its paid plan costs $20. The costs are the open-weight model list and the lack of an outside audit. Because the best evidence for its design comes from Maple itself, I treat the pick as provisional until an independent review lands.

Proton Lumo is the sensible second choice for Proton users and anyone who values jurisdiction and a long privacy record, with the honest caveat that its prompts are readable during inference. Duck.ai wins on simplicity and frontier-model access when anonymity from the provider is enough. Venice suits people who want one private-leaning account for chat, images and video. ChatGPT and Claude remain the most capable general tools, and they belong in a workflow that keeps secrets out of the prompt.

The takeaway: match the privacy model to the sensitivity of the task. Use an attested enclave for the material you could not bear to see leaked, an anonymizing proxy for casual frontier-model use, and a mainstream assistant with training switched off for the rest. More roundups of the assistants themselves live in the AI and machine learning section.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there an AI chatbot that is truly private?

A local model on your own device is the only option with no company in the loop. Among hosted apps, attested-enclave designs such as Maple, Confer and Privatemode are built so the operator cannot read prompts. Even those still know your account and payment details.

Is Duck.ai really private?

Duck.ai removes your identity from requests, so the model provider does not learn who you are. The provider still receives the text of your prompt. DuckDuckGo’s terms say providers do not train on it and delete it within 30 days, with limited exceptions.

Can Proton see my Lumo chats?

Proton says saved chats use zero-access encryption and that it keeps no logs of prompts. Per Proton’s own security model, as summarized by Maple, the model sees a decrypted message while generating an answer. Stored history is protected, but processing happens on readable text.

How private is Claude compared with ChatGPT?

Both are policy-only. Per Maple’s summary, OpenAI may train on personal-plan chats unless you opt out, while Anthropic trains only if you allow it. Both companies can read content under their policies, so confirm current terms on their help pages.

What does a private AI chatbot cost?

Every option here has a free tier. Paid plans run from $9.99 (Lumo Plus on a yearly plan) to $20 a month for Maple Pro and Claude Pro, with Venice Pro at $18. Heavy-usage tiers reach $100 on Maple Max and $500 on ChatGPT Pro 500.

Which private AI works on Windows and Linux?

Maple lists apps for Mac, Windows and Linux alongside iPhone and Android, and said its Windows app became available in October 2026. Proton has a dedicated Lumo desktop app on its roadmap, so for now Lumo runs on the web and in mobile apps.

Should I run a local model instead?

Choose local when nothing may leave your machine. LM Studio, Ollama and Jan run open-weight models on your hardware, and Maple’s guide cites a 16GB RAM recommendation from LM Studio. Expect smaller models than the hosted options and take responsibility for securing your own device.

Nadia Dubois

Nadia Dubois

AI & Innovation Editor

Nadia Dubois is the AI & Innovation Editor at Tech Insider, where she tracks the rapid evolution of artificial intelligence, from foundation models to real-world enterprise deployment. She previously covered AI and startups for La Tribune and contributed to MIT Technology Review's European coverage. Nadia specializes in generative AI, AI regulation, and the intersection of technology and European industrial policy. She holds a dual degree in Computational Linguistics and Journalism from Sciences Po Paris.

View all articles