RunPod vs Lambda vs Vast.ai: 63% H100 Price Gap [2026]

Renting an H100 from Amazon, Microsoft, or Google in August 2026 still routinely costs $4 to $5 an hour once you factor in the attached compute and storage. Three independent GPU clouds, RunPod, Lambda, and Vast.ai, sell the same silicon for a fraction of that, but they sell it in three fundamentally different ways. RunPod splits its fleet into an SLA-backed Secure Cloud and a cheaper, host-run Community Cloud. Lambda runs its own dedicated data centers and leans on committed multi-week clusters for serious training runs. Vast.ai skips owning any hardware at all and instead runs a peer-to-peer marketplace where anyone with a spare GPU can list it for rent.

The pricing gap between them is not small. An H100 SXM on Lambda’s on-demand tier runs $3.99 per GPU-hour. The same class of chip on Vast.ai’s marketplace floor can be had for $1.49 per GPU-hour, a 63% discount. RunPod’s own public list spans an even wider range: Hivenet’s August 2026 RunPod pricing guide puts the RTX A5000 Pod at just $0.27 an hour on the low end and the newest B300 Pod at $7.89 an hour on the high end, roughly a 29x spread within a single vendor’s catalog. That gap holds up, roughly, across A100s and RTX 4090s too, and it means the “which GPU cloud” decision is really a decision about how much operational risk you’re willing to trade for a lower bill. This comparison walks through current pricing, funding health, reliability posture, and migration mechanics for all three, using pricing pulled directly from RunPod, Lambda, and Vast.ai’s own pages as of mid-August 2026.

Google · Preferred Sources

Don't miss new tech stories on Google

Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.

Add Now

RunPod vs Lambda vs Vast.ai at a Glance

Before digging into individual GPU prices, it helps to see how the three platforms differ structurally. RunPod and Lambda both operate infrastructure they control, while Vast.ai operates a marketplace where third-party hosts set their own terms. That single design choice explains most of the price and reliability differences you’ll see throughout this article.

AttributeRunPodLambdaVast.ai
Infrastructure modelSecure Cloud (owned, SLA) + Community Cloud (host marketplace)Dedicated owned data centersPeer-to-peer host marketplace, no owned hardware
Cheapest RTX 4090$0.34/hr (Community Cloud)Not offered$0.13/hr listed floor, $0.29-$0.50/hr typical
Cheapest A100 80GB$1.19/hr PCIe (Community Cloud)$1.29/hr SXM, cheapest node$0.39-$0.47/hr spot/listed
Cheapest H100 SXMNot offered (PCIe/NVL only)$3.99/hr$1.49-$1.60/hr
Cheapest H100 PCIe$1.99/hr (Community Cloud)$3.29/hrNot separately listed by form factor
H200 availability$4.39/hr (Secure Cloud)Listed on pricing page, no published per-GPU rateNot confirmed in current listings
B200 / B300 availability$5.89/hr (B200), $7.39/hr (B300), Secure Cloud$8.87-$9.86/hr, committed clusters onlyNot confirmed in current listings
Spot / interruptible pricingYes, roughly 40-50% below on-demandNo published spot tierYes, host-set interruptible listings
Multi-node training clustersYes, RunPod ClustersYes, 1-Click Clusters, 16 to 256+ GPUsAd hoc, dependent on individual hosts
Formal SLASecure Cloud: yes. Community Cloud: noYes, dedicated infrastructureNo platform-wide SLA, varies by host
Serverless inference billingYes, per-second Serverless endpointsNo dedicated serverless product in this pricing tierNo
Disclosed funding raisedNot widely disclosedRoughly $3.1B-$3.87B (equity and debt)$4M seed round

How Each Platform Actually Works

RunPod: Two Clouds Under One Roof

RunPod splits its product into three pieces: Pods, Serverless, and Clusters. Pods are hourly-billed GPU instances, and they come in two flavors. Secure Cloud runs on RunPod-operated data centers, carries a formal SLA, and costs more. Community Cloud runs on third-party host hardware, has no SLA, and costs roughly half as much for the same chip. An RTX 4090 costs $0.69 an hour on Secure Cloud versus $0.34 an hour on Community Cloud, an H100 PCIe runs $2.89 versus $1.99, and an A100 PCIe 80GB Pod runs $1.39 an hour — figures Hivenet’s RunPod pricing guide still confirmed as of August 2026, alongside a newly-tracked A40 at $0.44 an hour on Secure Cloud. Serverless is billed per second and targets autoscaled inference endpoints rather than long training runs — RunPod’s own pricing page put the entry point at $0.58 an hour as of August 2026 — and its H100 PRO Flex tier has itself been moving: Hostfleet tracked it climbing from $4.55 to $4.79 an hour, a 5.3% jump, in the eight days between August 10 and August 18, 2026. For teams running LLM inference specifically, RunPod’s public serverless model pricing table showed per-token rates spanning $4.00 to $15.00 per 1M tokens as of September 2026, depending on which model is deployed. Clusters handle multi-node distributed training. RunPod also exposes explicit spot pricing on some GPUs, with an on-demand RTX 4090 at roughly $0.73-$0.74 an hour dropping to $0.32-$0.44 an hour on spot.

Lambda: The Dedicated-Cloud Incumbent

Lambda, formerly Lambda Labs, owns and operates its own data centers rather than running a marketplace. That buys stability at a price. On-demand H100 SXM instances list at $3.99 to $4.29 per GPU-hour depending on node size, and H100 PCIe single-GPU VMs run $3.29 an hour. Lambda’s real differentiator is 1-Click Clusters, committed multi-week to multi-year reservations aimed at teams training frontier-scale models. A 16-GPU H100 cluster runs $6.16 per GPU-hour, dropping to $5.54 at 256 GPUs, and B200 clusters range from $8.87 to $9.86 per GPU-hour depending on scale. Lambda does not publish a spot or interruptible tier, which fits its positioning toward research labs and enterprises that need predictable capacity over a fixed term rather than opportunistic discounts.

Vast.ai: The Peer Marketplace

Vast.ai owns none of the hardware it lists. Individual hosts, ranging from hobbyists with a spare RTX 4090 to verified datacenter operators with racks of H100s, set their own prices for GPU-hours, storage, and bandwidth. Vast.ai’s own product pages advertise headline “from” prices of $1.60/hr for H100 SXM, $0.47/hr for A100 SXM4 80GB, and $0.13/hr for RTX 4090, though those floors reflect the cheapest available listing at a given moment rather than a guaranteed rate. Realistic marketplace prices run higher: H100 SXM typically trades between $1.49 and $2.21 an hour depending on host verification level, and A100 80GB between $0.39 and $0.90. One notable wrinkle worth flagging clearly: Vast.ai the GPU marketplace is an entirely separate company from VAST Data, the AI storage infrastructure firm that raised The company that raised $1 billion at a $30 billion valuation in 2026 is VAST Data, via a Series F round, not RunPod. The two share a name fragment and nothing else, and mixing them up in vendor research is an easy mistake to make.

GPU Pricing Compared: H100, A100, and RTX 4090

Pricing is the reason most people read a comparison like this one, so here are the numbers side by side, pulled from each vendor’s own pricing pages as of mid-August 2026. RunPod shows both of its tiers because the gap between them is too large to average away, and the numbers below aren’t static: Hostfleet’s tracker caught RunPod’s Secure Cloud L4 Pod jumping from $0.39 to $0.49 an hour, a 25.6% increase, in just the eight days between August 10 and August 18, 2026, a reminder that these list prices can move meaningfully week to week. RunPod’s own September 2026 comparison page extends the same undercutting pattern beyond the headline chips: L40S 48GB runs $0.79 an hour on RunPod against $2.00 on Google Cloud, L4 24GB runs $0.43 an hour against GCP’s $1.15, and even the older V100 16GB comes in at $0.19 an hour against $2.48 on GCP — a gap that holds across older and newer silicon alike, not just on H100 and A100.

GPURunPod Secure CloudRunPod Community CloudLambdaVast.ai (listed floor)Vast.ai (typical market)
RTX 4090 (24GB)$0.69/hr$0.34/hrNot offered$0.13/hr$0.29-$0.50/hr
A100 80GB PCIe$1.39/hr$1.19/hrNot offered separately$0.60-$1.10/hr
A100 80GB SXM$1.49/hr$1.39/hr$1.29-$2.79/hr$0.47/hr$0.39-$0.90/hr
A100 40GB PCIe$1.48/hr
H100 PCIe (80GB)$2.89/hr$1.99/hr$3.29/hr~$2.21/hr (verified hosts)
H100 NVL$3.19/hr$2.59/hr
H100 SXM$3.99-$4.29/hr$1.60/hr$1.49-$2.21/hr

Two things jump out. First, RunPod’s Community Cloud consistently undercuts its own Secure Cloud by roughly 30-RunPod’s Secure Cloud H100 pricing is now closer to $2.9–$3.4 per GPU‑hour, and the “RunPod price” difference between tiers is materially less than a flat 50% spread. Second, Vast.ai’s typical marketplace rate for H100 SXM, around $1.49 to $2.21 an hour, sits below every other on-demand option in this table, including RunPod’s own Community Cloud H100 PCIe at $1.99. The tradeoff, covered in the reliability section below, is that Vast.ai’s price depends on which specific host you land on.

Price Benchmarks: What Independent Trackers Report

Because RunPod, Lambda, and Vast.ai all sell the same underlying Nvidia silicon, there’s no separate performance benchmark to run the way you’d compare, say, two different chip architectures. What matters instead is whether the advertised price actually holds up when an independent tracker checks it. Three separate trackers, ThunderCompute, GridStackHub, and ComputePrices, independently snapshot live pricing across all three platforms on a rolling basis, and their August 2026 data lines up closely with the vendor-published numbers above, which is a useful sanity check.

SourceGPU checkedReported rateSnapshot date
ThunderCompute H100 trackerLambda H100 SXM$3.99/hrAugust 13, 2026
ThunderCompute A100 trackerLambda A100 80GB$2.79/hrAugust 2026
GridStackHub A100 trackerLambda A100 80GB (cheapest node)$1.29/hrJuly 30, 2026
GridStackHub A100 trackerVast.ai A100 80GB (spot floor)$0.3889/hrAugust 7, 2026
ComputePrices RTX 4090 trackerRunPod RTX 4090 (across 15 configurations)$0.34/hrAugust 14, 2026
ComputePrices Lambda trackerLambda H100 SXM$3.99-$4.29/hrAugust 17, 2026

The consistency across trackers matters more than any single number. When three independent methodologies land within a few cents of each other on the same GPU, it’s a reasonable signal that the vendor-published price is the real price, not a promotional teaser rate. The one place the trackers diverge meaningfully is Vast.ai, where GridStackHub’s $0.3889/hr A100 spot floor sits well below the platform’s own advertised $0.47/hr “from” price. That gap is expected on a marketplace, since the official page shows a representative starting price while independent trackers scrape the actual lowest live listing at a given moment, which can undercut the headline number when a host is aggressively pricing to fill idle capacity.

Emerging Silicon: H200, B200, and B300 Pricing

Nvidia’s newer accelerators are rolling onto these platforms unevenly, and their prices aren’t holding still either. RunPod has the most complete public ladder: Hivenet’s August 2026 pricing guide puts H200 at $4.59 an hour, B200 at $5.89, and B300 (288GB of HBM3e memory) at $7.89, all on Secure Cloud. The H200 rate alone moved during the month, with Hostfleet clocking it rising from $4.39 to $4.59 an hour, a 4.6% increase, between August 10 and August 18, 2026. That’s still a clean step-up from H100 PCIe’s $2.89, giving buyers a predictable price curve as they move up the Blackwell generation, even if the exact rung keeps shifting week to week.

Lambda’s pricing page advertises H200 and B200 availability, but a clean per-GPU on-demand rate for H200 isn’t published the way H100 rates are. B200 only shows up inside Lambda’s committed 1-Click Clusters, where it runs $9.86 per GPU-hour at 16 GPUs and drops to $8.87 at 256-plus GPUs, meaning Lambda’s B200 access requires a multi-week commitment rather than an hourly rental. Vast.ai’s marketplace listings for H200 and B200 were not consistently available as of this writing, which tracks with the marketplace model. Bleeding-edge hardware tends to show up on dedicated clouds first, since individual hosts rarely have day-one access to the newest Nvidia silicon at consumer or small-business scale.

The practical takeaway for teams that specifically need H200, B200, or B300 today: RunPod’s Secure Cloud is currently the most straightforward hourly path to that hardware, while Lambda is the option if the workload can absorb a multi-week commitment in exchange for guaranteed large-scale capacity.

On-Demand vs Spot vs Marketplace Pricing Models

All three platforms expose some version of a discount tier, but they work differently enough that comparing headline numbers alone is misleading.

  • RunPod spot pricing is explicit and separately listed. An RTX 4090 that costs $0.73-$0.74 an hour on-demand drops to $0.32-$0.44 on spot, a 40-RunPod’s Secure Cloud vs Community/marketplace H100 prices differ by roughly 30–40% depending on configuration, not a fixed 50% discount tied specifically to Secure Cloud preemption.
  • Lambda has no published spot tier. Its discount mechanism instead runs through commitment length: a 1-Click Cluster reserved for two weeks to a year costs less per GPU-hour as the cluster size grows, from $6.16 at 16 GPUs down to $5.54 at 256 GPUs, but there’s no way to get a lower rate without committing to a fixed duration.
  • Vast.ai’s discount comes from the marketplace itself. Hosts can list GPUs as “interruptible,” meaning the renter accepts the risk of being kicked off if a higher-paying customer wants the machine, in exchange for a lower price. There’s no single interruptible rate since every host sets their own, but interruptible RTX 4090 listings commonly run $0.29-$0.31 an hour versus $0.35-$0.50 for non-interruptible listings on the same platform.

For batch jobs that can checkpoint and resume, spot and interruptible pricing on RunPod or Vast.ai is close to free money. For anything running a single long training job without checkpointing discipline, that same discount becomes a liability, and Lambda’s committed-cluster model, despite the higher sticker price, removes that risk entirely.

Storage, Bandwidth, and Hidden Fees

GPU-hour pricing is the headline number, but storage volumes and data transfer show up as separate line items on every one of these platforms, and they’re easy to underbudget. RunPod bills persistent storage volumes and bandwidth separately from Pods, Serverless, and Clusters, and its own documentation as of September 2026 spells out exactly what that costs: network volume storage runs $0.05 to $0.07 per GB per month, with the cheaper rate kicking in above 1TB, container disk runs a flat $0.10 per GB per month while a pod is actively running, and volume disk splits between $0.10 per GB per month running and $0.20 per GB per month once the pod is stopped. A realistic monthly extrapolation for a 24/7 Community Cloud RTX 4090 Pod comes out to roughly $248 a month for compute alone, an A100 80GB to roughly $1,001, and an H100 PCIe to roughly $1,433, all before storage and egress get added on top.

On Vast.ai, storage and bandwidth are two more line items that each host sets independently, alongside GPU-hour pricing. According to a public breakdown of Vast.ai’s economics, the platform doesn’t deduct anything from what a host lists as their price. Instead, it applies a markup of roughly Public references describe renter/marketplace spreads on H100 in the range of roughly 10–30% over host floor rates, not a fixed 20% markup leading to 25% effective uplift. Vast.ai doesn’t formally publish this commission structure, so treat that figure as an informed estimate rather than an official number. Lambda, running its own infrastructure, bundles storage and networking more predictably into its instance pricing, which is part of why its GPU-hour rate looks higher on paper even though the effective all-in cost gap narrows somewhat once storage and egress are included on the other two platforms.

The practical lesson here is to always price out a full month of a workload, not just the headline hourly rate, before picking a platform. A $0.34/hr RTX 4090 on RunPod Community Cloud looks unambiguously cheap next to a $0.69/hr Secure Cloud instance, but once you add persistent storage for datasets and checkpoints, plus egress for pulling results back to a local machine or another cloud, the effective gap between the two tiers can shrink to 15-Current benchmarking shows hyperscaler H100 premiums closer to 80–100% over specialist/neo‑clouds, not merely “20% rather than 2x.” The same logic applies to Vast.ai’s advertised “from” prices, which describe the cheapest possible listing rather than the blended cost of a real, sustained workload running on a specific host for weeks at a time.

Reliability, SLAs, and Uptime

This is where the three platforms diverge most sharply, and it’s the part of the decision that a pricing table alone can’t capture. RunPod Secure Cloud advertises a formal SLA because it runs on infrastructure RunPod controls directly. Community Cloud, running on third-party host hardware, carries no formal SLA, positioning it closer to a marketplace than a managed cloud despite the RunPod branding. Lambda, similarly, runs its own data centers and backs its instances with dedicated infrastructure, which is consistent with its focus on research labs and enterprise training workloads that can’t tolerate surprise preemption mid-run.

Vast.ai sits at the opposite end. Reliability depends entirely on the specific host you land on, and the platform distinguishes between “verified datacenter” listings, which carry more confidence around uptime, and generic or unverified host listings, which don’t. There’s no platform-wide uptime percentage published, which stands in contrast to the 99.9-99.99% SLAs that hyperscalers typically advertise. That’s not necessarily disqualifying. A lot of AI/ML work, fine-tuning jobs, batch inference, exploratory training runs, tolerates a restart far better than a production API does. But it does mean Vast.ai’s lower price needs to be weighed against the operational cost of building retry and checkpoint logic that RunPod Secure Cloud or Lambda customers may not need.

There’s also a practical middle ground worth naming directly. RunPod’s Community Cloud occupies the same structural position as Vast.ai, third-party host hardware with no formal SLA, but it benefits from RunPod’s own account management, billing, and support layer sitting on top of the marketplace. That doesn’t fix an individual host going offline, but it does mean disputes, billing questions, and platform-level issues route through a single company rather than a fragmented set of independent hosts. For teams that want marketplace pricing without fully embracing Vast.ai’s more DIY approach to host selection, RunPod Community Cloud is often the more comfortable entry point.

How They Stack Up Against AWS, Azure, and Google Cloud

The reason RunPod, Lambda, and Vast.ai exist at all is that hyperscaler GPU pricing has stayed stubbornly high. Multiple 2026 cloud GPU pricing surveys put AWS, Azure, and Google Cloud’s effective H100 rate above $3.90 an hour once vCPU, RAM, and networking are factored in, and often closer to $4-5 once discounts and reserved terms are excluded — and RunPod’s own head-to-head comparison page, current as of September 2026, puts a sharper number on it: H100 at $2.79 an hour on RunPod against $11.06 an hour for the same chip on Google Cloud, and A100 80GB at $1.19 an hour on RunPod against $3.67 an hour on GCP. Compare that to RunPod’s Community Cloud H100 PCIe at $1.99 or Vast.ai’s marketplace H100 SXM floor near $1.49, and by RunPod’s own framing the gap against Google Cloud on H100 alone runs close to 75%, with the independent clouds holding the advantage across the board.

That said, the comparison isn’t perfectly apples-to-apples. Hyperscaler GPU instances come bundled with a mature ecosystem, deep IAM integration, dozens of adjacent managed services, and, crucially, the kind of enterprise support contract that a procurement department can point to when something breaks. RunPod, Lambda, and Vast.ai are purpose-built for one thing: running GPU workloads as cheaply and directly as possible. For a team that already lives inside AWS or Azure for its data pipeline and only needs raw GPU cycles for a training job or a batch inference run, moving that specific workload to one of these three platforms is usually the highest-leverage cost cut available, often bigger than anything achievable through hyperscaler reserved instances or savings plans alone.

Egress is the other place the math shifts in the independent clouds’ favor. AWS, Azure, and Google Cloud each charge for data leaving their network, commonly in the $0.08-$0.12 per GB range after a small free tier, and that adds up fast for anyone regularly pulling trained checkpoints or generated datasets back out. RunPod, Lambda, and Vast.ai generally price bandwidth lower, and Vast.ai in particular lets individual hosts set below-hyperscaler bandwidth rates since they’re not running a global backbone with the same cost structure. For workloads that move large model weights or datasets frequently, that egress delta compounds on top of the raw compute savings already covered above.

Funding, Valuation, and Company Stability in 2026

Renting compute from a startup carries a question hyperscaler customers rarely have to ask: will this company still exist in a year? The three platforms here look very different on that front.

CompanyLatest disclosed funding eventTotal raisedReported valuation
LambdaSeries E, ~$1.5B, led by TWG Global, November 2025Roughly $3.1B-$3.87B (equity plus debt)Roughly $5.9B post-money, per Forge/Clay data
RunPodNo large headline round widely reported in 2025-2026Not disclosed in detail publiclyNot publicly disclosed
Vast.ai (GPU marketplace)Seed round, July 2024, investors including DRW Trading Group and Nazaré Ventures$4MNot publicly disclosed

Lambda’s Series D closed in February 2025 at $480 million with Nvidia among the investors, valuing the company at roughly $2.5 billion, and the follow-on Series E in November 2025 pushed disclosed cumulative funding past $3 billion. That level of capitalization backs up Lambda’s positioning as the platform for large, committed training runs where customers need confidence the vendor will be around to honor a multi-month cluster reservation. RunPod is generally described in industry coverage as independently funded and has grown quickly on the back of generative AI demand, but it hasn’t disclosed a headline funding round on the scale of Lambda’s. Vast.ai’s disclosed funding, a $4 million seed round from mid-2024, is genuinely small next to the other two, though its marketplace model means it doesn’t need to fund GPU purchases itself the way a dedicated-infrastructure company does. Worth repeating: this Vast.ai is not the same company as VAST Data, the AI storage infrastructure firm that separately raised The company that raised $1 billion at a $30 billion valuation in 2026 is VAST Data, via a Series F round, not RunPod. They are unrelated businesses that happen to share three letters.

Real-World Use Cases and Examples

Industry coverage of these three platforms consistently sorts their user bases into distinct buckets, and the pricing and reliability tradeoffs above explain why each bucket lands where it does.

  • Indie AI startups and solo developers gravitate toward RunPod, which shows up repeatedly in 2026 AI tooling guides as a default recommendation for small teams that need GPU access without a procurement process, particularly for prototyping on Community Cloud before moving anything customer-facing to Secure Cloud.
  • Research labs and enterprise ML teams lean on Lambda for large A100 and H100 clusters, using it for the kind of long-running, multi-node training jobs that justify a committed 1-Click Cluster reservation rather than hourly billing.
  • Cost-sensitive individual practitioners use Vast.ai’s marketplace for A100 and RTX 4090 workloads where price matters more than guaranteed uptime, commonly fine-tuning smaller open-weight models or running exploratory training that can restart from a checkpoint if a host listing disappears.
  • Teams building autoscaled inference APIs use RunPod Serverless specifically, since it bills per second and handles the scale-to-zero behavior that an always-on Pod or a committed Lambda cluster can’t offer economically for spiky traffic.
  • Engineers doing distributed, multi-node training without an enterprise procurement relationship use RunPod Clusters or a Lambda 1-Click Cluster, depending on whether the job fits inside a shorter, more flexible reservation (RunPod) or benefits from Lambda’s larger committed capacity blocks.

A concrete way to see how these choices play out: a two-person startup fine-tuning a 7B-parameter open-weight model for a niche vertical app doesn’t need Lambda’s committed-cluster pricing or RunPod’s SLA-backed Secure Cloud. A single Vast.ai A100 80GB listing at $0.39-$0.90 an hour, or a RunPod Community Cloud A100 at $1.19-$1.39, handles a LoRA fine-tuning run for well under $50 in most cases. Compare that to a 40-person research team pretraining a model from scratch over eight weeks, where a single dropped node can cost days of lost progress. That team’s calculus flips entirely toward Lambda’s 256-GPU 1-Click Cluster at $5.54 per GPU-hour, where the SLA and dedicated infrastructure are worth far more than the per-hour savings on Vast.ai. The size and fragility of the job, not a general preference for cheap or expensive infrastructure, is what should drive the platform choice.

Migration Guide: Moving Workloads Between GPU Clouds

Because none of these three platforms lock you into a proprietary compute API the way a hyperscaler’s managed ML service can, moving a workload between them is mostly a matter of containerizing correctly and handling storage portably. Here’s the general sequence that applies across RunPod, Lambda, and Vast.ai.

The single biggest mistake teams make when moving off a hyperscaler is assuming these platforms mirror AWS or Azure’s managed-service depth. They don’t, deliberately. There’s no managed load balancer, no built-in autoscaling group tied to CloudWatch metrics, and no equivalent of an IAM policy engine spanning dozens of services. What you get instead is closer to bare-metal GPU access with a billing layer on top, which is exactly what keeps the price down. Budget time up front for building the orchestration your team was previously getting for free from a hyperscaler’s control plane.

  1. Package your training or inference code as a Docker image with pinned CUDA and driver versions, so the same image runs identically regardless of which platform’s underlying host you land on.
  2. Move model checkpoints and datasets to portable object storage (S3-compatible buckets work across all three) rather than relying on any single platform’s local disk, since Community Cloud and Vast.ai hosts can disappear.
  3. Build checkpoint-and-resume logic into any training script that might run on spot (RunPod) or interruptible (Vast.ai) capacity, saving state frequently enough that a preemption costs minutes, not hours.
  4. Test the container on RunPod’s Community Cloud or a Vast.ai interruptible listing first, since both are cheap enough to validate correctness before committing budget to Secure Cloud, Lambda on-demand, or a Lambda 1-Click Cluster.
  5. For production inference, move the validated container to RunPod Serverless, or Lambda if per-second billing and scale-to-zero aren’t required and node-level control is preferred.
  6. For committed, large-scale training, negotiate a Lambda 1-Click Cluster reservation only after the workload has been validated cheaply elsewhere, since Lambda’s discount structure rewards commitment length rather than opportunistic switching.

A minimal example of spinning up a RunPod Pod via the CLI, which generalizes to the other platforms once you swap the API client:

# Install the RunPod CLI and authenticate
pip install runpod
export RUNPOD_API_KEY="your_api_key_here"

# Launch a Community Cloud RTX 4090 pod for a quick validation run
runpod create pod 
  --name "validation-run" 
  --image-name "your-registry/your-image:latest" 
  --gpu-type "NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4090" 
  --gpu-count 1 
  --cloud-type "COMMUNITY" 
  --volume-in-gb 50

Pros and Cons of Each Platform

RunPod

  • Pro: Two clearly separated tiers let you choose cost or reliability without switching vendors.
  • Pro: Serverless and Clusters cover inference and multi-node training in one account.
  • Pro: Explicit spot pricing with a published discount, roughly 40-50% off on-demand.
  • Con: Community Cloud carries no SLA, so the cheapest tier is also the least predictable.
  • Con: No H100 SXM offering, only PCIe and NVL form factors.

Lambda

  • Pro: Owned infrastructure with a formal SLA and the deepest funding base of the three, backed by roughly $3B-plus in disclosed capital.
  • Pro: 1-Click Clusters scale to 256-plus GPUs with per-GPU rates that drop as commitment size grows.
  • Pro: Clear access to newer silicon like B200 for committed training runs.
  • Con: No spot or interruptible tier, so there’s no built-in way to trade reliability for a discount.
  • Con: Highest on-demand hourly rate of the three for equivalent H100 hardware.

Vast.ai

  • Pro: Consistently the cheapest option across RTX 4090, A100, and H100, often by a wide margin.
  • Pro: Interruptible listings let cost-sensitive users push prices even lower for restartable jobs.
  • Con: No platform-wide SLA, and reliability depends entirely on the individual host.
  • Con: Pricing structure, including the estimated Major GPU marketplaces and independent clouds now publish most renter/markup mechanics and effective prices; the existence and level of renter markup are documented in public H100 price indices.
  • Con: Smallest disclosed funding base by a wide margin, at $4M raised.

Who Should Use RunPod, Lambda, or Vast.ai?

The right platform depends less on which one is “best” and more on what the workload can tolerate. Here’s how the recommendation shifts across common scenarios.

  • Solo developer prototyping a fine-tune: Vast.ai’s interruptible listings or RunPod’s Community Cloud, since both let you validate an idea for well under $1 an hour on an A100 or RTX 4090.
  • Startup shipping a production inference API: RunPod Serverless, which bills per second and scales to zero, avoiding the cost of an always-on Pod for spiky traffic.
  • Research team training a model over multiple weeks: Lambda’s 1-Click Clusters, where the committed-capacity discount and dedicated SLA outweigh the higher headline rate.
  • Enterprise needing a contractual SLA and predictable billing: RunPod Secure Cloud or Lambda on-demand, both of which run on vendor-controlled infrastructure rather than a marketplace.
  • Cost-sensitive batch inference or data labeling pipelines: RunPod Community Cloud spot pricing or Vast.ai interruptible listings, since checkpoint-friendly batch jobs absorb preemption risk well.
  • Teams already committed to AWS, Azure, or Google Cloud for everything else: Moving only the GPU-bound piece of the workload to RunPod or Vast.ai, since the 50-80% savings on compute alone typically outweighs the added operational complexity of a second vendor.

The Verdict: Which GPU Cloud Wins in 2026

There isn’t a single winner here, because the three platforms aren’t really competing for the same job. If price is the only variable that matters and the workload can tolerate a restart, Vast.ai’s marketplace consistently beats the other two, with H100 SXM at $1.49-$1.60 an hour against Lambda’s $3.99 and RunPod Secure Cloud’s implied H100 rate near $2.89-$3.19 for PCIe and NVL variants. If reliability and a formal SLA matter more than shaving the last dollar off the hourly rate, RunPod’s Secure Cloud is the more balanced choice, since it keeps a predictable infrastructure model while still undercutting Lambda on most GPU tiers.

Lambda earns its premium specifically for large, committed training runs. A 256-GPU H100 cluster at $5.54 per GPU-hour, backed by a company that has raised over $3 billion, is a defensible choice for a team training a model over weeks or months where a mid-run interruption would be far more expensive than the pricing gap versus Vast.ai. For everyone else, RunPod’s split between Community Cloud for experimentation and Secure Cloud for anything customer-facing covers most real workloads without forcing a tradeoff between the two extremes that Lambda and Vast.ai each represent.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need a long-term contract to use any of these platforms?

No, not for the core hourly products. RunPod’s Pods, Secure and Community alike, and Vast.ai’s marketplace listings both bill by the hour with no minimum term. Lambda’s on-demand H100 and A100 instances are also hourly. The only place a commitment shows up is Lambda’s 1-Click Clusters, which require a minimum two-week reservation in exchange for the lower per-GPU-hour cluster pricing.

Which GPU cloud is cheapest in 2026?

Vast.ai’s marketplace is generally the cheapest across RTX 4090, A100, and H100, with H100 SXM available around $1.49-$1.60 an hour versus Lambda’s $3.99. RunPod’s Community Cloud is usually the second cheapest, followed by RunPod Secure Cloud, with Lambda’s on-demand rates the highest of the three.

Is Vast.ai safe and reliable enough for production workloads?

It depends on the host. Vast.ai distinguishes between verified datacenter listings and generic host listings, and only the former offer a reasonable reliability baseline. There’s no platform-wide SLA, so most teams treat Vast.ai as suited for restartable, checkpoint-friendly work rather than customer-facing production traffic.

What’s the difference between RunPod Secure Cloud and Community Cloud?

Secure Cloud runs on infrastructure RunPod owns and operates directly, carries a formal SLA, and costs more, roughly double Community Cloud for the same GPU in several published comparisons. Community Cloud runs on third-party host hardware, has no SLA, and costs significantly less, functioning closer to a marketplace tier within the RunPod product.

How much does an H100 cost per hour in 2026?

It ranges from roughly $1.49 an hour on Vast.ai’s marketplace floor to $3.99-$4.29 on Lambda’s on-demand tier, with RunPod landing in between at $1.99 (Community Cloud PCIe) to $3.29 (Secure Cloud NVL). Hyperscaler H100 pricing on AWS, Azure, or Google Cloud commonly runs above $3.90 an hour once compute, storage, and networking are bundled together.

Does Lambda offer spot or interruptible pricing?

No. Lambda’s published pricing includes only on-demand instances and committed 1-Click Clusters. There’s no discounted, preemptible tier the way RunPod and Vast.ai each offer.

Can I rent B200 or H200 GPUs on these platforms in 2026?

RunPod offers the clearest hourly path, with H200 at $4.39/hr and B200 at $5.89/hr on Secure Cloud. Lambda offers B200 only through committed 1-Click Clusters starting around $8.87-$9.86 per GPU-hour. Vast.ai’s marketplace listings for H200 and B200 were inconsistent as of mid-August 2026, which is typical for a peer marketplace with newer hardware.

How much cheaper are these platforms than AWS, Azure, or Google Cloud?

Multiple 2026 pricing surveys put the savings at roughly 50-Current data shows many hyperscaler effective H100 rates in the roughly $3–$8/GPU‑hour band on‑demand or with modest discounts, and higher only in some regions or bundled configurations, so “commonly exceed $3” under‑states typical premiums rather than describing 80% for equivalent hardware.90 an hour while RunPod, Lambda, and Vast.ai all offer at least one tier priced below that.

Are Vast.ai and VAST Data the same company?

No, and this is a common source of confusion. Vast.ai is a small GPU rental marketplace that raised a $4 million seed round in 2024. VAST Data is a separate, much larger AI storage infrastructure company that raised The company that raised $1 billion at a $30 billion valuation in 2026 is VAST Data, via a Series F round, not RunPod. The two are unrelated businesses.

Related Coverage

Elias Virtanen

Elias Virtanen

Cybersecurity Analyst

Elias Virtanen is the Cybersecurity Analyst at Tech Insider, bringing hands-on expertise from his background in penetration testing and security consulting. He previously worked as a security researcher at F-Secure in Helsinki, where he focused on threat intelligence and vulnerability disclosure. Elias covers ransomware trends, zero-trust architecture, and the evolving regulatory landscape including NIS2 and the EU Cyber Resilience Act. He holds a CISSP certification and an MSc in Information Security from Aalto University.

View all articles