JetBrains Junie vs GitHub Copilot vs Cursor: $12 Gap [2026]

JetBrains spent years watching GitHub Copilot and Cursor pull developers out of IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, and WebStorm and into VS Code-based workflows. The company’s answer, Junie, actually traces back to January 27, 2025, when JetBrains itself reported its earliest build resolving 53.6% of 500 SWE-bench Verified tasks in a single run; JetBrains’ March 2026 annual highlights later counted 343,000 Junie users who had together logged more than 1 million AI-assisted actions, on top of a broader JetBrains AI user base that had already crossed a six-figure count of active paid users by Q4 2025, and by mid-2026 that early prototype had matured into a full agent that left beta and went generally available with a benchmark score that ranked it 6th on the independent SWE-Rebench leaderboard. That launch reopened a question a lot of JetBrains-loyal teams have been asking all year: is it worth staying inside IntelliJ for AI-assisted coding, or should you still route budget toward Copilot or Cursor instead?

This comparison breaks down JetBrains Junie vs GitHub Copilot vs Cursor across pricing, model access, benchmark scores, IDE support, and agent capabilities, using the latest data available as of August 19, 2026. If you want the broader category context first, our AI coding tools guide covers the full landscape; this piece focuses specifically on JetBrains ecosystem developers weighing a native agent against the two most-funded AI editors on the market.

Google · Preferred Sources

Don't miss new tech stories on Google

Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.

Add Now

Why This Comparison Matters Now

JetBrains IDEs are not a niche corner of the developer world. According to the Stack Overflow Developer Survey 2025, Visual Studio Code leads overall usage at 75.9%, but IntelliJ IDEA sits at 27.1% of all respondents and climbs to 84% among Java developers specifically, up from 71% the year before. A separate meta-analysis that combines every JetBrains product (IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, WebStorm, PhpStorm, Rider, GoLand) found that JetBrains tools collectively reach 76.8% usage among developers who selected multiple IDEs, edging out VS Code’s 73.6% in that same overlapping count. In plain terms: a huge share of professional developers, especially in Java, Kotlin, and enterprise backend shops, never leave the JetBrains ecosystem, and until Junie’s GA release, their AI options were third-party plugins bolted onto an IDE that wasn’t built for them.

That changed when JetBrains published SWE-Rebench results showing Junie resolving 61.8% (±0.54%) of test tasks with a 73.9% pass@5 rate, at $0.81 per problem, according to the public SWE-Rebench leaderboard. JetBrains’ own blog cited a similar figure (61.6% resolved, 72.7% pass@5), positioning Junie as the top-ranked coding agent in that cycle. Meanwhile, GitHub Copilot’s last publicly documented agent-mode score on SWE-bench Verified was 56%, recorded in an April 2025 test, and Cursor’s newer Agent Loop with GPT-5.2-codex scored 67.4% resolved on a SWE-bench Verified subset. Three different benchmarks, three different scoring methodologies, but the headline is clear: this is no longer a two-horse race between Copilot and Cursor.

What Is JetBrains Junie?

Junie is JetBrains’ own AI coding agent, built to run natively inside IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, WebStorm, Rider, and GoLand, as well as from the terminal or inside a CI/CD pipeline. JetBrains first marked Junie generally available on April 16, 2025, closing out the closed preview that had opened that January, then folded it into a unified AI subscription starting with IDE version 2025.1 that same month, before spending roughly a year iterating — including putting the standalone Junie CLI into beta in March 2026 as an explicitly LLM-agnostic agent that JetBrains says now spans at least five environments (IDE, terminal, CI/CD, GitHub, and GitLab) — before Junie officially left beta and reached general availability on June 17, 2026, according to The Agents Index; a JetBrains blog post that July confirmed the agent was now available across the full IDE lineup plus a standalone Junie CLI. The company still hasn’t attached a traditional semantic version number to the IDE-integrated release, treating it as a continuously updated service rather than a numbered desktop build — though the separate Junie CLI does version its nightly builds, with the latest listed on GitHub as build 3052.1 from August 26, 2026.

The defining feature of Junie is model choice, and that agnosticism started well before the GA release: JetBrains put the standalone Junie CLI into beta as an explicitly LLM-agnostic agent back in March 2026, and by May 2026 folded Junie directly into JetBrains AI chat behind a single unified interface rather than a separate panel. Rather than locking users into a single house model, JetBrains lists Claude Opus 4.8, Claude Sonnet 5, Claude Fable 5, Gemini 3.1 Pro, Gemini 3.7 Flash, GPT-5.6, and Grok 4.5 as supported models on the Junie product page, and on August 17, 2026 JetBrains made Gemini 3.7 Flash the default model, swapping out the prior default, Gemini 3.6 Flash, and pairing the switch with a 40% price discount on that model’s usage according to The Agents Index. A week later, on August 24, 2026, JetBrains pushed model choice further off the cloud entirely with Junie Local, a fully on-device mode built on Qwen3.6-27B that requires an Apple M5 Mac with at least 64GB of RAM; by September 18, 2026 that local model had already been upgraded to Qwen3.8-3.6-27B-blend, which JetBrains says uses 71% fewer output tokens than the standalone Qwen3.8 it’s derived from. A separate JetBrains-adjacent article describes the architecture as “powered by any LLM the user chooses,” and the pricing page confirms Bring Your Own Key (BYOK) support at “provider-rate pricing, zero markup” — meaning power users can plug in their own Anthropic, Google, OpenAI, or xAI API key and pay the model vendor directly instead of JetBrains’ credit system.

Junie’s free tier includes 5 AI credits with no card required, described by JetBrains as “enough for a real task.” A separate JetBrains AI in-IDE entitlement lists 3 credits per 30 days on the free plan, and the two pages don’t fully reconcile, which is worth flagging if you’re budgeting a team rollout. Paid tiers scale from 10 credits per 30 days at $8.33/month (billed as $100/year) up to 35 credits per 30 days at $25/month ($300/year), with an additional $720/year tier listed on the JetBrains AI pricing page without a stated credit allotment.

What Is GitHub Copilot?

GitHub Copilot remains the default AI pair programmer for the majority of the VS Code and Visual Studio installed base, and GitHub’s own documentation, last updated July 17, 2026, lays out a six-tier structure: Free ($0, roughly 2,000 completions plus limited chat per month), Student (free for verified students), Pro ($10/month), Pro+ ($39/month), and Max ($100/month) for individuals, plus Business ($19 per seat/month) and Enterprise ($39 per seat/month) for organizations.

Copilot’s 2026 roadmap has shifted toward a multi-model, credit-metered system. Business seats now include 1,900 AI credits per user per month, and Enterprise seats include 3,900, with those credits spendable across a growing model catalog that GitHub’s pricing docs (updated mid-August 2026) list as including Gemini 3.1 Pro as the default long-context option, Gemini 3.5 Flash for lightweight tasks, and Moonshot’s Kimi K2.7 Code and Kimi K3 models. A separate multi-model comparison piece reports Claude Opus 4.5 scoring 80.9% and GPT-5.2 scoring 80.0% on SWE-bench Verified inside Copilot’s harness — strong model-level numbers, though they reflect the underlying models rather than a published Copilot agent-mode score, which last stood at 56% in April 2025 testing.

One detail worth flagging for budget planning: GitHub ran a promotional credit boost from June through August 2026, temporarily raising Business seat credits from $19 worth to $30 worth, and Enterprise from $39 worth to $70 worth. Documentation indicates credits revert to base levels after August, which means Copilot’s effective cost per seat is about to increase for teams that don’t adjust usage.

What Is Cursor?

Cursor is a standalone, VS Code-based AI-first editor rather than a plugin for an existing IDE, which is the central trade-off against Junie and Copilot: adopting Cursor generally means leaving IntelliJ or VS Code as your daily driver. In exchange, Cursor has shipped the fastest release cadence of the three. A July 10, 2026 update (v3.11) added Side Chats and Conversation Search, and an August 13, 2026 release (version 0.47) introduced what one report calls “breakthrough multi-repo awareness,” letting the agent hold context across up to 10 linked repositories simultaneously — a feature aimed squarely at microservices shops.

Cursor’s 2026 model lineup adds native GPT-5.5 support (1.05M-token context, $5 input / $30 output per million tokens) alongside GPT-5.4, GPT-5.4-mini, GPT-5.3-codex, GPT-5.2-codex, and Claude Opus 4.7, all routed through Cursor’s own token-based billing that “matches the underlying API prices,” according to a detailed 2026 pricing breakdown. Cursor’s redesigned Composer/Agent Loop completes multi-file refactors in a single agentic pass, and the Pro plan and above include what one review describes as “MCPs/skills/hooks, cloud agents.”

Pricing runs Hobby (free, limited completions), Pro at $20/month ($16/month billed annually) with $20 of usage credits, Pro+ at $60/month with $70 of credits, and Ultra at $200/month with $400 of credits. Team pricing is reported inconsistently across sources — some list a flat $40/user/month, others add an $80/month base fee on top — so it’s worth confirming current numbers directly with Cursor before committing a team budget. A public repository tracker lists Cursor at roughly 32.9K GitHub stars as of a June 2026 snapshot.

Full Specs Comparison Table

SpecJetBrains JunieGitHub CopilotCursor
MakerJetBrainsMicrosoft / GitHubAnysphere
Status as of Aug 2026GA (left beta mid-2026)GA, multi-model catalogGA, v3.11 / build 0.47
Native IDEIntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, WebStorm, Rider, GoLandVS Code, Visual StudioStandalone editor (VS Code-based fork)
Free tier5 credits, no card required~2,000 completions/mo + limited chatHobby, limited completions/agent requests
Entry paid tier$8.33/mo (10 credits/30 days)$10/mo (Pro)$20/mo (Pro), $16/mo annual
Top individual tier$25/mo (35 credits/30 days)$100/mo (Max)$200/mo (Ultra)
Team/org pricingPer-user/year, up to $720/yr$19/seat (Business), $39/seat (Enterprise)~$40/user/mo (Teams), $120/user/mo (Premium)
Model choiceClaude, Gemini, GPT-5.6, Grok 4.5 + BYOKGemini, Kimi, Claude Opus 4.5, GPT-5.2GPT-5.5, GPT-5.4 family, Claude Opus 4.7
Largest context windowNot publicly stated (model-dependent)Model-dependent (200K+)1.05M tokens (GPT-5.5)
Published benchmark61.8% resolved, SWE-Rebench56% SWE-bench Verified (Apr 2025)67.4% resolved, SWE-bench Verified subset
Agent-loop/CI useTerminal, IDE, CI/CD pipelineAgentic harness (SWE-bench Pro tested)Cloud agents, multi-repo (10 repos)
MCP supportNot publicly documentedNot publicly documentedConfirmed on Pro plan and above
GitHub starsN/A (not open source)N/A (not open source)~32.9K (public repo tracker)

Pricing Breakdown: Monthly and Annual Costs

Sticker prices only tell part of the story here, because each product ties usage to a different metering system: JetBrains uses AI credits per 30 days, GitHub uses a dollar-denominated credit pool per seat, and Cursor bills against token consumption at rates that track the underlying model vendor’s API prices. The table below normalizes what’s publicly confirmed for August 2026.

Plan tierJunieCopilotCursor
Free$0 — 5 credits (no card)$0 — ~2,000 completions/mo$0 — Hobby, limited requests
Entry individual$8.33/mo — 10 credits/30 days$10/mo — $15 in credits$20/mo ($16 annual) — $20 credits
Mid individualN/A$39/mo (Pro+) — $70 credits$60/mo (Pro+) — $70 credits
Top individual$25/mo — 35 credits/30 days$100/mo (Max) — $200 credits$200/mo (Ultra) — $400 credits
Unstated tier$720/yr (credits not stated)——
Team/BusinessPer-user/year model, JetBrains AI plans$19/seat/mo — 1,900 credits/user~$40/user/mo
EnterpriseNot publicly listed$39/seat/mo — 3,900 credits/userCustom quote
BYOK optionYes — provider-rate, zero markupNo (credit-based only)No (Cursor-metered token pricing)

The BYOK line matters more than it looks. If your team already has an enterprise Anthropic or OpenAI contract, Junie’s zero-markup BYOK mode means you’re not paying JetBrains a margin on top of tokens you’re already buying — you’re only paying the flat per-seat license fee for the IDE integration itself. That’s a meaningfully different cost model than Copilot or Cursor, both of which bundle model access into their own credit pricing.

What a 10-Developer Team Actually Pays

Sticker prices per seat don’t tell engineering managers what a rollout actually costs once a team scales past a handful of individual licenses. Using each vendor’s own published numbers, here’s what a 10-developer team pays per month and per year at a realistic mid-tier plan for each product, before factoring in any BYOK savings or promotional credits.

Tool / planPer-seat cost10-dev monthly10-dev annual
Junie — entry tier (10 credits/30 days)$8.33/mo$83.30~$1,000
Junie — higher tier (35 credits/30 days)$25/mo$250~$3,000
Copilot Business$19/seat/mo$190$2,280
Copilot Enterprise$39/seat/mo$390$4,680
Cursor Teams (reported)~$40/user/mo~$400 (+ possible $80 base fee)~$4,800–$5,760
Cursor Teams Premium$120/user/mo$1,200$14,400

The spread is significant. A 10-person JetBrains-native team on Junie’s entry tier pays roughly $1,000 a year — less than half of Copilot Business and a fraction of Cursor’s Teams pricing. Even Junie’s higher 35-credit tier, which most active users will likely need for daily agentic work rather than occasional autocomplete, lands under $3,000 a year for the same headcount, still cheaper than Copilot Business at $2,280 once seat minimums and add-ons are factored in, and dramatically cheaper than Cursor’s Teams Premium tier at $14,400 annually. That gap only widens if the team routes usage through Junie’s BYOK mode instead of bundled credits, since BYOK removes JetBrains’ markup entirely and leaves the team paying only the model vendor’s raw token rate plus whatever flat IDE license fee applies. For engineering leads building a budget case to switch off Cursor or trim Copilot Enterprise seats, this is usually the number that gets a proposal approved.

Benchmark Performance: SWE-Rebench, SWE-bench Verified, and What They Actually Measure

None of these three tools were benchmarked on the same test suite, which makes head-to-head number comparisons tempting but imprecise. It’s still worth walking through what each score actually represents.

Junie on SWE-Rebench

SWE-Rebench is an independent, continuously updated coding-agent benchmark separate from the more commonly cited SWE-bench Verified suite. The public SWE-Rebench leaderboard lists a “Junie Agent” entry resolving 61.8% (±0.54%) of tasks, with a 73.9% pass@5 rate, an average cost of $0.81 per problem, and 1,684,501 tokens consumed per problem at an 85.9% cache-hit rate — up sharply from the 53.6% of 500 SWE-bench Verified tasks that Junie’s earliest build solved in a single run back on January 27, 2025. JetBrains’ own blog post cites a closely aligned figure — 61.6% resolved, 72.7% pass@5 — and frames Junie as the top-ranked agent in that testing cycle. The efficiency numbers (sub-$1 per problem, high cache hit rate) suggest JetBrains has tuned Junie’s context management specifically for cost control, which tracks with the BYOK pricing philosophy.

Copilot and Cursor on SWE-bench Verified

SWE-bench Verified is a 500-task, human-validated benchmark that’s become the industry’s most-cited coding-agent yardstick. GitHub’s own blog on its “Copilot agentic harness” discusses evaluation against SWE-bench Verified and the harder SWE-bench Pro suite, but the most recent Copilot-specific agent-mode score in general circulation is 56%, from an April 2025 test — over a year old by the time of this comparison, and likely stale given how fast the underlying models have moved since. Model-level numbers inside Copilot’s multi-model harness look much stronger (Claude Opus 4.5 at 80.9%, GPT-5.2 at 80.0%), but those reflect the raw model’s capability, not Copilot’s own scaffolding and tooling layer.

Cursor’s Agent Loop, running on GPT-5.2-codex, posted 67.4% resolved on a SWE-bench Verified subset according to Cursor’s own published breakdown — a figure the same source says places it ahead of standalone Claude Code’s roughly 64% in equivalent harness conditions, though behind a dedicated Codex CLI agent tested separately. Because this is a subset rather than the full 500-task suite, and because it comes from Cursor’s own materials rather than an independent leaderboard, treat it as directionally useful rather than perfectly comparable to Junie’s SWE-Rebench number.

The honest takeaway: Junie’s SWE-Rebench score is the most recently verified, independently-hosted number of the three. Cursor’s is self-published and benchmark-subset-specific. Copilot’s is the oldest and almost certainly understates the current product, since GitHub has since layered in a much broader multi-model catalog that didn’t exist at 56% test time.

IDE Integration and Platform Support

This is where the three products diverge most sharply, and it’s the factor that should weigh heaviest for a JetBrains-committed team. Junie’s IDE coverage has expanded fast: early access in January 2025 covered just two IDEs, IntelliJ IDEA Ultimate and PyCharm Pro, per the JetBrains blog, and by September 2025 the JetBrains Guide documented support across 8 IDEs including WebStorm and GoLand. That expansion reached into Microsoft’s own ecosystem in July 2026, when JetBrains shipped ReSharper 2026.2 with preview-level Junie agent support inside Visual Studio — a notable crack in Copilot’s home turf, even if it’s still a preview rather than a full release. Junie is now purpose-built for JetBrains IDEs — IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, WebStorm, Rider, and GoLand all get native integration, and JetBrains explicitly describes Junie as shipping code “from terminal, IDE, or CI/CD pipeline.” No JetBrains materials in current documentation confirm a VS Code extension, so if your team splits time between VS Code and JetBrains products, Junie alone won’t cover both.

Copilot’s center of gravity is the opposite: VS Code and Visual Studio are its primary, best-documented surfaces, and it’s the default AI assistant baked into the world’s most-used editor by raw adoption numbers. GitHub also offers a JetBrains Marketplace plugin in practice, though the specific feature parity between that plugin and the VS Code extension isn’t detailed in current GitHub documentation, so JetBrains users adopting Copilot should expect a secondary, not primary, experience.

Cursor sits outside both ecosystems by design. It’s a standalone editor forked from VS Code’s codebase, which means switching to Cursor is an editor migration, not a plugin install — you’re moving your keybindings, extensions, and daily workflow, not just adding an assistant panel. For teams with deep IntelliJ-specific tooling (Java refactoring tools, Spring-aware inspections, database tooling built into the JetBrains suite), that’s a real cost that a lot of comparison pieces gloss over.

Agent Capabilities: Autonomy, Multi-File Edits, and MCP

All three products have moved well past simple autocomplete into agentic territory, but the depth of autonomy and tooling differs. Cursor’s redesigned Composer/Agent Loop is the most explicitly documented for multi-file work: independent reporting describes it completing “multi-file refactors in a single agentic loop instead of the back-and-forth dance” of earlier versions, and the August 2026 update added multi-repo awareness across up to 10 linked repositories — a genuinely useful feature for teams running microservices architectures where a single feature touches several codebases at once.

Junie is described as an autonomous agent that fixes bugs and implements features end-to-end, running from terminal, IDE, or CI/CD pipeline — the CI/CD angle is notable because it implies Junie can operate headlessly in an automated pipeline step, not just interactively inside the editor. That pipeline capability didn’t appear overnight: Dev.to counted 4 major Junie-related AI updates shipped between January and May 2026 alone, tracking the run-up to general availability. Current public materials don’t spell out explicit multi-file-edit mechanics or confirm MCP (Model Context Protocol) support for Junie, so if MCP-based tool connections are a hard requirement for your workflow, verify current support directly with JetBrains before committing budget.

Copilot’s public materials center on its “agentic harness,” evaluated against SWE-bench Verified and Pro internally at GitHub, but concrete detail on multi-file edit mechanics and MCP support wasn’t present in the documentation reviewed for this piece. Cursor is the only one of the three with an explicit, plan-gated confirmation of MCP support — reviewers note that “MCPs/skills/hooks, cloud agents” are included starting on the Pro tier.

Here’s a simplified example of the kind of BYOK model configuration Junie’s provider-agnostic architecture supports, illustrating the pattern rather than an exact JetBrains-published command:

{
  "aiAssistant": {
    "provider": "byok",
    "model": "claude-opus-4.8",
    "apiKeySource": "env:ANTHROPIC_API_KEY",
    "billing": "provider-rate",
    "fallbackModel": "gemini-3.1-pro"
  }
}

And a standard MCP server declaration, the kind of config file Cursor’s Pro-tier MCP support and most modern agentic tools expect:

{
  "mcpServers": {
    "postgres": {
      "command": "npx",
      "args": ["-y", "@modelcontextprotocol/server-postgres"],
      "env": { "DATABASE_URL": "postgresql://localhost/mydb" }
    }
  }
}

Real-World Usage Scenarios

None of the three vendors published named customer case studies in the material reviewed for this comparison, so instead of inventing company names, here are five grounded usage patterns based on each product’s confirmed features and pricing structure.

  • A Kotlin backend team running IntelliJ IDEA daily. With 84% of surveyed Java developers already on IntelliJ IDEA, a team standardized on JetBrains tooling gets Junie without touching its editor setup, and can route tasks to Claude Opus 4.8 for complex refactors or Gemini 3.7 Flash for quick lint fixes, all from the same $8.33–$25/month tier.
  • An open-source maintainer triaging GitHub pull requests. Copilot’s tight coupling with GitHub’s own PR and Actions infrastructure makes it the practical default here — credits are metered per seat, and the Free tier’s roughly 2,000 completions per month can cover a maintainer who reviews more than they write.
  • A platform team refactoring across 6–10 connected microservices. Cursor’s August 2026 multi-repo awareness update was built for exactly this case — holding context across up to 10 linked repositories in a single agent session, rather than switching windows per service.
  • An enterprise with an existing Anthropic or OpenAI volume contract. Junie’s BYOK mode at “provider-rate pricing, zero markup” lets that enterprise route its already-negotiated token pricing through Junie without paying a second markup on top, which neither Copilot’s credit system nor Cursor’s token billing currently offers.
  • A large enterprise standardized on GitHub Enterprise Cloud. Copilot Enterprise at $39/seat/month with 3,900 monthly AI credits slots directly into existing GitHub billing and SSO, avoiding a second vendor relationship — a real advantage for procurement-heavy organizations, even if its most recent public benchmark score trails the other two.
  • A Rider-based .NET team migrating legacy C# services. Junie’s coverage of Rider alongside IntelliJ IDEA means a .NET shop gets the same native agent experience as a Java or Kotlin team, without the third-party plugin gaps that historically made AI tooling feel bolted-on inside JetBrains’ .NET IDE.

Migration Guide: Moving Between Junie, Copilot, and Cursor

None of the three vendors currently publish an automated migration path between their products — there’s no “import your Copilot chat history into Junie” button, and none of the documentation reviewed here describes credit or license transfer between platforms. That means switching, or running two tools in parallel, is a manual process. Here’s how to approach it in practice.

From Copilot to Junie (JetBrains-first teams)

  1. Audit current Copilot usage by seat — GitHub’s admin console shows completions and chat usage per user, which tells you who actually needs an AI seat versus who’s using the free tier lightly.
  2. Downgrade or cancel Copilot seats for developers who work primarily in IntelliJ-family IDEs, since they’ll get better native integration from Junie anyway.
  3. Enable JetBrains AI / Junie credits for those same seats, starting on the 10-credits/$8.33-month tier to gauge real usage before committing to the 35-credit tier.
  4. If your org already has an enterprise Anthropic, Google, or OpenAI contract, configure Junie’s BYOK mode immediately rather than defaulting to JetBrains’ bundled credits — it’s the cheaper path when you’re already paying for tokens elsewhere.
  5. Keep Copilot active for any team members who still spend meaningful time in VS Code (data teams, docs writers, DevOps engineers) rather than forcing a full company-wide cutover.

From Junie or Copilot to Cursor (full editor switch)

  1. Treat this as an IDE migration, not a plugin swap — budget time for developers to rebuild keybindings, extensions, and project-specific configuration inside Cursor.
  2. Start with a Pro trial ($20/month) on a single team or repository before committing to Teams pricing, since reported Teams costs vary across sources (roughly $40/user/month, with some listings adding an $80/month base fee).
  3. Reconfigure any MCP server connections you were using elsewhere — Cursor’s MCP support is confirmed from the Pro tier up, so existing MCP configs (database connectors, issue trackers) can generally carry over with minimal changes.
  4. For teams working across more than 3–4 connected repositories, test Cursor’s multi-repo awareness (up to 10 linked repos) early, since that’s the single biggest capability gap versus Junie and Copilot.
  5. Keep JetBrains or VS Code installed in parallel for at least one release cycle in case Java/Kotlin-specific tooling (framework-aware refactors, database tools) that Cursor doesn’t replicate turns out to be load-bearing for your workflow.

Pros and Cons of Each Tool

JetBrains Junie

  • Native integration across the entire JetBrains IDE family (IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, WebStorm, Rider, GoLand)
  • Multi-model choice with zero-markup BYOK pricing for teams with existing model vendor contracts
  • Top-ranked SWE-Rebench score (61.8% resolved) among the tools compared here, at sub-$1-per-problem cost efficiency
  • Can run headlessly from a CI/CD pipeline, not just interactively inside the editor
  • No confirmed VS Code support, so mixed-editor teams need a second tool
  • Pricing pages (Junie site vs. JetBrains AI plans page) don’t fully align on credit amounts, which can confuse team billing decisions
  • Newest of the three products — just exited beta in mid-2026, with a shorter public track record

GitHub Copilot

  • Deepest integration with GitHub’s own PR, Actions, and repository workflows
  • Broadest reach — the default AI assistant for the most-used code editor in the industry
  • Free tier available (~2,000 completions/month) with no credit card required
  • Expanding multi-model catalog (Gemini, Kimi, Claude, GPT variants) with credit-based flexibility
  • Most recent public agent-mode benchmark (56% on SWE-bench Verified) dates to April 2025 and likely understates current capability
  • Promotional credit boosts for Business/Enterprise seats expire at the end of August 2026, raising effective per-seat cost afterward
  • JetBrains integration is secondary to its VS Code-first design

Cursor

  • Highest recently-published agent benchmark of the three (67.4% resolved on a SWE-bench Verified subset)
  • Multi-repo awareness across up to 10 linked repositories — unmatched by Junie or Copilot in current public materials
  • Access to the newest GPT-5.5 model with a 1.05M-token context window
  • Fast release cadence, with meaningful feature updates roughly monthly
  • Not a JetBrains plugin — adopting it means a full editor migration for IntelliJ-loyal teams
  • Priciest at the top end ($200/month Ultra, up to $120/user/month for Teams Premium)
  • Team pricing details are reported inconsistently across sources and should be confirmed directly before budgeting

Market Share and Developer Adoption Data

Raw editor adoption still favors VS Code by a wide margin, but the intensity of usage tells a more nuanced story. One 2026 usage-hours analysis tracking a sample of developers found VS Code logging 3,057 hours across 100 users (30.6 hours/user average), while IntelliJ IDEA logged 2,229 hours across just 26 users — an average of 85.7 hours per user, nearly triple VS Code’s per-user intensity. Cursor, in the same dataset, logged 1,213 hours across 24 users (50.5 hours/user). The read: fewer developers touch IntelliJ IDEA, but the ones who do are far more deeply embedded in it, which is precisely the audience Junie was built to retain.

On the AI-editor side specifically, a press analysis citing 2026 survey data put Cursor at 18% adoption among developers using AI-enabled editors, with Claude Code at 10% and Windsurf at 5% — figures that predate Junie’s GA launch and don’t yet capture its impact. None of the sources reviewed for this piece included concrete enterprise adoption counts (customer numbers, total seats) for any of the three products, so treat market-share claims from any single vendor with appropriate skepticism until independent, dated survey data catches up with Junie’s release.

Which Tool Should You Choose? 5+ Use-Case Recommendations

  • Choose Junie if: your team is standardized on IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, WebStorm, Rider, or GoLand, and you want native AI tooling without switching editors or paying a model markup on top of an existing vendor contract.
  • Choose Copilot if: your workflow is centered on GitHub itself — pull requests, Actions, issue triage — and you want the lowest-friction free tier to start with before committing budget.
  • Choose Cursor if: you’re building across multiple connected repositories (microservices, monorepos with service boundaries) and want the newest frontier models with the largest context windows as soon as they ship.
  • Choose Copilot Enterprise if: procurement and SSO are already tied to GitHub Enterprise Cloud, and adding a second vendor relationship isn’t worth the benchmark gap for your use case.
  • Choose Junie’s BYOK mode if: your organization already negotiates enterprise token pricing directly with Anthropic, Google, or OpenAI, and you don’t want to pay a second markup through a credit-bundling vendor.
  • Run two tools in parallel if: your team splits meaningfully between JetBrains IDEs and VS Code — there’s no penalty in current pricing for licensing Junie for the JetBrains half of your team and Copilot for the VS Code half.

The Verdict: What the Data Actually Shows

For developers who live inside JetBrains IDEs, Junie is the clear pick on cost and integration alone: $8.33 to $25 per month, native to the editor you’re already using, and the most recently verified top benchmark score of the three (61.8% resolved on SWE-Rebench). It’s also the newest product here, having only exited beta a few months before this comparison was published, so its long-term reliability track record is still being written.

Cursor earns its premium price tag ($20 to $200/month) with the highest self-reported SWE-bench Verified subset score (67.4%) and genuinely unique multi-repo awareness, but it demands a full editor switch that JetBrains-committed teams will feel immediately in lost tooling. Copilot remains the safest, lowest-friction default for anyone whose work already revolves around GitHub itself, and its free tier is the most generous entry point of the three — but its most recent public agent benchmark (56%) is over a year stale, and the upcoming end of its promotional credit boost means Business and Enterprise seats are about to get quietly more expensive.

The bottom line: there’s no longer a single correct answer to “which AI coding assistant should I use” if you’re a JetBrains developer. Junie closes the gap that used to force IntelliJ users into VS Code just for decent AI tooling, and it does it at roughly a third of Cursor’s entry price. For teams not tied to a specific IDE, the benchmark numbers currently favor Cursor’s Agent Loop, with Copilot trailing on published agent scores despite its unmatched reach.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is JetBrains Junie free?

Junie offers a free tier with 5 AI credits and no card required, described by JetBrains as enough for one real task. Paid tiers start at $8.33/month for 10 credits per 30 days, and BYOK mode lets you skip JetBrains’ credit system entirely by paying model vendors directly at provider-rate pricing.

Does GitHub Copilot work in JetBrains IDEs like IntelliJ or PyCharm?

Copilot is documented primarily for VS Code and Visual Studio. A JetBrains plugin exists through the JetBrains Marketplace in practice, but current GitHub documentation reviewed for this comparison doesn’t detail feature parity between that plugin and the VS Code extension, so JetBrains users should expect it to be a secondary rather than primary experience.

Can Cursor be used inside IntelliJ IDEA?

No. Cursor is a standalone editor built on a VS Code fork, not a plugin for JetBrains IDEs. Adopting Cursor means switching your primary editor, not adding an assistant panel to IntelliJ.

Which tool has the best benchmark score?

Cursor’s Agent Loop posted the highest self-published number (67.4% resolved on a SWE-bench Verified subset). Junie’s SWE-Rebench score (61.8% resolved) is independently hosted and more recently verified. Copilot’s most recent public agent-mode score (56% on SWE-bench Verified) dates to April 2025 and is likely stale given subsequent model upgrades.

What is BYOK and why does it matter for pricing?

Bring Your Own Key (BYOK) lets you connect your own API key from a model vendor like Anthropic or OpenAI instead of paying through the tool’s bundled credit system. Junie explicitly offers BYOK at “provider-rate pricing, zero markup,” which can be significantly cheaper for organizations that already have enterprise-negotiated token pricing with a model vendor.

Do any of these tools support MCP (Model Context Protocol)?

Cursor confirms MCP support (“MCPs/skills/hooks”) starting on its Pro tier. Public documentation reviewed for Junie and Copilot did not explicitly confirm or deny MCP support at the time of writing, so teams that rely on MCP-based tool connections should verify current status directly with JetBrains or GitHub before choosing.

Is there a way to migrate settings or chat history between these tools?

No. None of the three vendors currently publish an automated migration path for chat history, credits, or configuration between Junie, Copilot, and Cursor. Switching or running tools in parallel requires manually reconfiguring each product, as outlined in the migration guide above.

Can I use more than one of these tools at the same time?

Yes, and many mixed-editor teams do exactly that — licensing Junie for JetBrains-based developers and Copilot for VS Code-based developers, since there’s no exclusivity requirement in either product’s current pricing structure.

How much does a 10-person team pay for each tool per year?

Based on published per-seat pricing, a 10-developer team pays roughly $1,000/year on Junie’s entry tier, $2,280/year on Copilot Business, and anywhere from $4,800 to over $14,000/year on Cursor depending on the Teams tier chosen. Junie’s BYOK mode can push its effective cost even lower for teams with existing model vendor contracts.

Will Junie’s pricing or benchmark score change soon?

Likely yes. Junie only reached general availability in mid-2026, and all three vendors in this comparison ship updates on a monthly or faster cadence. Treat the benchmark and pricing figures in this piece as an August 2026 snapshot, and check each vendor’s pricing page directly before finalizing a procurement decision.

Related Coverage

Sofia Lindström

Sofia Lindström

Editor-in-Chief

Sofia Lindström is the Editor-in-Chief at Tech Insider, where she leads editorial strategy and oversees coverage across AI, cybersecurity, and enterprise technology. With over a decade in Swedish tech journalism, she previously served as technology editor at Dagens Industri and covered the Nordic startup ecosystem for Breakit. Sofia holds an MSc in Media Technology from KTH Royal Institute of Technology and is a frequent speaker at Web Summit and Slush. She is passionate about making complex technology accessible to business leaders.

View all articles